Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Viva Wyndham Maya All Inclusive This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Avenida Paseo Xaman-Ha Lote Hotelero # 5, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#101 of 191 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    3.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    4.6
    Way too expensive for the quality of the service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coldest front desk welcoming ever on arrival. Leaking toilet and A/C Room sometime not done before 18.00 Loudest dining room ever Animation team more interested in flirting with girls than actually doing animations. And when doing animations they were making some guests wait to play because some people of the animation team wanted to play together.

    The beach was not too bad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Excelente agua!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit crowded es at first. The buffet meals were always the same. Sometimes the beach smelled fue to an algea that Washed Up a shore.

    Guest service was neat. Beaches were clean. Room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.3
    The water in the room ( shower and sink ) were salty, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water in the room ( shower and sink ) were salty, they tried to fix it few times but couldn’t fix it .. we had to brush our teeth and wash face with water bottle and take shower at friends other hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    5.8
    The Mexican restaurant was excellent, the buffet was not,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Mexican restaurant was excellent, the buffet was not, the property was beautiful, the beds were like concrete, no Mimi fridge, no room service, no coffee maker. Dance club didn’t have a bar or do, very odd.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel great if you like all inclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel advertises an Adults only pool with bar,. Great we thought, no children, it will be perfect and was one of the reasons that we booked this hotel. Only the bar was not being used. So if you wanted to use the adults only pool and wanted a drink you had to walk to the nearest bar, that was in reception about a 2 minute walk away. . There are only 2 bars within the hotel which considering the size of the hotel, is not enough as there were long queues at times. Toilets were also lacking. The toilets by the pool area were constantly full and was always running out of toilet paper. The other toilets in the reception/bar area were also lacking toilet paper most of the time. Food, ok so it is all inclusive, and you expect the same food to be served every day. The all inclusive restaurant kept running out of the same food every day, ie pasta, chips and chicken which resulted in long queues. The snack restaurant around the pool was the same and was constantly running out of pizza and chips, again resulting in queues of people waiting for the next batch which was instantly used up. Entertainment at night is your typical shows though the only thing worth watching was the trapeze acts, those guys were great, everything else was terrible

    I had high hopes about this hotel after staying at the Wyndham Dubai Marina in august but maybe All Inclusive holidays are not for me. The location for the hotel is great though but is in Playacar and NOT Playa del Carmen, and it is literally right on the beach and there is no shortage not sunbeds. . The staff are very friendly and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard complete with the usual towel art of elephants and swans. The overall appearance of the hotel is great. You can book into one of the 3 restaurants, which we did as the food got very boring and I can highly recommend the Portofino restaurant but you can only book in once during your stay though you can check on the day if there have been any cancellations. Bar staff were great as they got to know what you was drinking so you didn't even have to ask for your drink when you got to the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfriendly staff to check in, poor quality of food in the buffet, zero amenities in the room, room service / hotel map / restaurants info not available in the room. Mini bar empty, provided only 1 bottle of water for 2 adults staying 2 nights. Is this what you call “All inclusive” I was really disappointed with this hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    6.3
    Family oriented resort. Not walking distance from the center. Nice shows at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are outdated and old looking. Not enough lighting, towels were the cheap kind, specialty restaurant only open for dinner, so you only got the buffet for lunch. Buffet coffee tasted bad. No coffee maker in the room. My wife had food poisoning on our last night from the Mediterranean specialty restaurant. I feel like you can get better hotels and service for the price.

    They have alot of activities, shows, nice beach area, free kayaks and paddleboards, free parking, archery. Nice central court and coffee was on point. Beach area was my favorite thing of the resort. Buffet breakfast was good, however coffee tasted terrible.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    7.1
    Nice beach,pool, buffet was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a warning when our kids where playing tag. They were in a almost empty area. And 1 grouchy couple complained. Security came and asked the kids to stop when they had just got off the plane and needed to be kids☹️

    Nice beach,pool, buffet was good. Good shows. Good drinks

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    10
    Wonderful Resort - Beach and City Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The concierge was not available until after 8 am, so we did not get to book the restaurants as often as we wanted because our excursions left at 7:30. This is the only place to make dinner reservations, so it was inconvenient.

    This is a great place for couples and families. Right on the beach. Always plenty of food and just the right amount of adult beverages to make people happy with causing issues. There were service desks so you could book excursions. The specialty restaurant was incredible. Would book again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.8
    July 8 - Aug 5 2017: Great Location. Safe and Secure. Desperately needs UPDATES.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Visit: July 28, 2017 - Aug 5, 2017. The availability of restaurant reservations was difficult at best. Reservations were almost never available, even after standing in line (as recommended by staff) early in the morning. At other all inclusive resorts, I've had soft drinks, bottled water and local beer supplied in the room refrigerator. The refrigerator in our room most likely wouldn't have accommodated 3 bottles of anything. But that isn't the point. *We did notice other rooms with larger refrigerators. No, this wasn't advertised on the website to be included in our all inclusive rate, but simply offering creature comforts like bottled water would be a nice gesture. The beds were very uncomfortable. The shower leaked and the bathroom floor was always a safety hazard. This caused the entire room to become slippery as well. We asked several times, but couldn't get more than one floor towel even when we identified the leaking shower & due to the resort being fully booked, we were unable to relocate to a new room. The size of a double (4 person) room is too small for 4 people. For an 8 day stay, this room would best accommodate only 2 adults. Again, we asked to book an additional room, but there was no availability during our stay. The website photos are misleading. The rooms look spacious and furniture & bathrooms look updated. But that is not what you actually get. This resort has a lot of potential. With 21st century upgrades, this place could be amazing. The staff (all) seem to love their jobs and were always helpful. New beds, bedding & pillows could be a good start as far as comfort is concerned. Remodeled rooms & updated furniture & bathrooms would make me come back and recommend this place to friends.

    Visit: July 28, 2017 - Aug 5, 2017. The availability of buffet hours. The pool was spacious & the access to the beach was perfect. The quality / quantity of the adult beverage service was terrific. The staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    3.3
    Misleading Advertisements- ruined my anniversary trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room: wasn't what I booked. When this was pointed out all the staff said is that the option was based on availability. That was not stated on the website. The Shower was dirty and room wasn't properly cleaned. The Garbage was not taken out properly. Drinks were awful. I ordered almost all the Tequila drinks, which I like, and they were of poor quality. Front desk staff: were not helpful and directed me to a computer to submit a complaint. Another staff didn't know how to deal with my account and I had to wait around 1/2 hr for her manager to return so I could deal with my account. False advertisements overall. A lot of added charges, only 1 reservation was allowed for the "a la carte" restaurants even though it was "all inclusive" and there were 3 of them. These resevations were based on lenght of stay. This was very misleading on the website.

    The wait staff in the restaurants were very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    10
    The perfect place for relaxation and enjoyment alike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    The beaches and easy access to all amenities. The all inclusiveness with friendly staff everywhere willing to help. The many activities for children. The show including the children's show were awesome. The food was great in the main restaurant and in the formal restaurants. All of the bars offered excellent service. The pools were clean and very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2017

    9.2
    Location is great - on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed / mattress was not good - we heard other guests complaining too Very limited wifi - but wifi across the street at Starbucks was good Do not use transport / taxi company associated with hotel to get to / from airport --- awful, rude, overcharged is for a ride we didn't take and didn't fix the problem -- worst part of the vacation

    Location is great - on the beach Zumba and yoga classes Restaurants -- and they went above and beyond for a wonderful New Year's Eve celebration -- excellent!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2017

    9.2
    Adequate, though not amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi as commented by other travellers was pretty poor. Even after paying for Premium access. Lots of families were there so if you're looking for something more intimate try an adults only resort. Though it would be perfect for a family or friends trip. Rooms are dated though adequate. Could do with better cable or Netflix in the rooms. Staff in the lobby could be more welcoming or accomodating. Took a massage at the Renova Spa onsite, and the lady struggled to apply sufficient pressure so at best it was therapeutic although I had selected the deep tissue massage and really needed one too!

    Staff at the restaurants and bars were amazing. Resort Has all the necessities and a bit more. Great activities for kids throughout the day and good service around pool and beach areas. Close enough to 5th avenue but far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city and foot traffic. Also across the road from Plaza Playacar for smaller shopping and Starbucks

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2017

    9.2
    Great value, very clean and lots of fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'd like it more if they had servers working the pool and beach area so you don't have to leave your chair.

    The staff was constantly cleaning the grounds and takes pride in the appearance of the property. I like the entertainment options throughout the day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free wifi is really slow and horrible. The drinks at the bar are impossibly sweet.

    Helpful staff, great facilities at the hotel. Beach area was very nice. Wide selection of food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2016

    8.8
    Great stay for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buffet food could have been a little better.

    The hotel grounds was amazing. Safe gated resort with stores near by. The restaurants that you reserve were GREAT!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2016

    9.6
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No swim up bar and no waiters around the pool. Also the food in the buffet was not that great.

    The fact that the resort was all inclusive and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2016

    6.7
    Stay at Wyndham.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above info.

    Not many wash clothes. Buffet same every day. Saw some drinks being watered down at pool bar. Customer service did lend kind ear to our complaints. Wifi almost nonexistent on entire property.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    7.9
    Great, fun relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to get more information at the front desk upon check-in so that I know what all there is to do. No free WiFi in the rooms.

    Bartenders were the best. Pools were great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    8.8
    Great family vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great resort. Not too big. Not too small. Easy access to everything from rooms. Great for families. We had 17 ppl traveling together. 7 of them were children. They had a great time. Many activities that they can choose from. The food was good. We had some dietary restrictions within the group and everyone was always able to find a variety of food that they enjoyed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    5.0
    Food was blah.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was blah. The beds and pillows were super uncomfortable. The staff was not very nice and very inflexible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.1
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to provide amenities.

    Very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    10
    extra good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    the bar and restaurant and the staff was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.3
    The a la carte restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely poor WI FI

    The a la carte restaurants Beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    5.4
    too noisy, receptionnist very unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    too noisy, receptionnist very unfriendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    5.8
    Money not well spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food rooms animation.

    The beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    7.1
    FUN IN THE SUN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had to pay for a security box in the room. Free wi-fi not so good. payed was 35.00

    All inclusive good food and drink

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2016

    8.3
    Great place for holidays!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff on the reception are not very helpful.

    Loved the location to the beach

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2016

    9.2
    Overall the staff was very friendly and happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a bad week weather-wise, but that wasn't the resort's fault.

    Overall the staff was very friendly and happy. The nightly shows put on by the activities staff were very professionally done -- great music and lighting. In addition to the buffet, there were several restaurants offering different venues. We ate at the Mexican, Italian and Mediterranean. All were great. Lots of activities for young kids.

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2016

    6.7
    The restaurant staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar staff were bordering on being rude. The so called free wifi around the bar was almost non existent and the premium at $35 a week was no better, the only difference is you now pay for the poor service.

    The restaurant staff were great.

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    7.1
    The food, the beach, the location were all perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our AC was broken when we arrived. While lying in bed watching a movie and waiting for the repairman, a cockroach the size of my iPhone landed on my bare stomach. I lost it. My boyfriend killed it and then we went down to immediately request a new room. The man at the front desk didn't seem to care too much. Even going so far as to pretend he didn't know what a cockroach was. He asked, "Well what do you want me to do about it?" and I replied with our expectation of a new room. He refused. Said that wasn't happening. Said he could send someone to fumigate (yep. suggested spraying the room we were going to sleep in for four days with chemicals.). Then said "I don't know what to tell you." When we got home, the lovely people of Booking.com took up our case to get at least a night refunded. The property lied to them, saying that I never complained and because of that, they couldn't help. Booking.com was incredible. This property's lack of any modicum of customer service or empathy ruined their estimation for me.

    The food, the beach, the location were all perfect. If not for one major incident, I would've recommended this property to anyone.

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2016

    3.8
    This is a 4 star hotel and it should be a 2 start hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a 4 star hotel and it should be a 2 start hotel. The food is not good and there are only 4 restaurants to choose from. you have to make reservations for the restaurants and also it depends on how many nights are you staying at the hotel and that's how many times you could make reservations is not every night. For example 4 nights you're only allowed to eat at the restaurants 2 nights

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2015

    6.7
    The location is excellent, great beach and program for all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The check in service is horrible. They took 1 hour for the check, in claiming that the reservation did not mention my kid (it did). Subsequently they asked me to go to their internet lounge (paid) and print out a proof that it was the case. At the check out it took me another 20 min discussing whether I had paid the correct amount or not since someone updated charges twice in the system. Incredibly unprepared staff at reception. The free wifi basically does not work and the paid works very poorly (never in the room). I use the booking.com quite frequently and this is the first time I have such inconveniences with the booking. I sent messages twice asking for the shuttle service from the airport and they never replied. If you go to the hotel just hope that nothing goes wrong with the reservation as they are completely unprepared to solve any problem.

    The location is excellent, great beach and program for all ages.

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    6.7
    The location is great very near playa del carmen and a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price charged for internet in your room is too high and the free one in the common areas is slow and sometimes doesnt even connect they dont even give u a local call for free! The food gets like old at the end of the week

    The location is great very near playa del carmen and a few minutes on bike ride food is good but after a few days monotonous the rooms are attended early and complete

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2015

    5.4
    1. internet was AWFUL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. internet was AWFUL. Why advertise wifi as "Free" when it doesnt exist. I went ahead and paid for internet and it STILL did not work. Only intermittently. 2. i was forced to PAY $2 a day for a safebox. who does that??? It has always been included with the room. Ridiculous. Did they really think i would decline and have my passport and jewelry laying around?They try to make money wherever they can. 3. Room REEKED of cigarettes even though it was "non-smoking". They said it was because "sometimes people break the rules". Not a good answer. They should have cleaned the room extra thoroughly prior to our arrival.

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2015

    10
    Had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet wasn't included. Food wasn't great at buffets. The bedroom smelled a little funny. The drinks and cocktails are not the best the mix brands were not great. They were not clear on being able to only have two dinner reservations at the airport la carte restaurants.

    Had a great time! The animation team was amazing Beach is beautiful

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, activities, drinks, proximity to central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot main dining hall / buffet. Doesn't need to be AC, but more air movement would make it a more comfortable experience. Adjacent construction project was active at a reasonable time (8am-5pm) but would have appreciated notification of it.

    Friendly staff, activities, drinks, proximity to central Playa del Carmen, clean beach (though expect a lot of seaweed in July). Price and location doesn't make you feel obligated to do everything at the resort and can venture out into the city for shopping, or other drinking/dining options.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    10
    Everything was awesome
    • Couple

    A list of non motorized activities included when checking in the hotel

    Everything was awesome

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    10
    On site activities are awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was not too fresh.

    On site activities are awesome. There is always something to do.

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    8.3
    Bed a bit hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a bit hard. Pillows are way too small. Buffet food bland.

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2015

    10
    The hotel is very welcoming, the food is delicious, there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very welcoming, the food is delicious, there are lots of attractions and etc.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Viva Wyndham Maya All Inclusive Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: