Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Base Taupo This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

7 Tuwharetoa Street, 3330 Taupo, New Zealand

#68 of 71 hotels in Taupo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 415 hostel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. They’re perfect

    We got the same room as last time we stayed by coincidence which was super cool, like it was meant to be. The bedroom and private bathroom were perfect and just what we needed. Wifi in our room for only $4, was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Base Taupo was perfect for one night accomodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Base Taupo was perfect for one night accomodation! We stayed in the private room and facilities were perfect and staff were super friendly. Make sure you check out the Thai food while you’re there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    4.2
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no action taken when we advised that' its not the room we requested. Not even the next day to say we checked if another room available or refund or anything

    We booked in for a double bed room. And received 2 single beds instead. We advised staff at the start about this but there was no other room available. This was unfair as I already had pre booked .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Its was really awesome night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its was really awesome night. We was awesome and was soo clean. Very good location and staff was so helpful and friendly. Me and my parner liked it very much. Thanks, Mandeep Kaur n Bikramjeet Singh

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.6
    Nightmare! not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a big party in the bar on the first floor. Since the walls are paper thin (we could hear the pillow talk of the couple next door) it seemed the party was inside our room! It was impossible to sleep before 4 am, when the noise ended. I really believe they should tell you there will be a big event, so you can choose if you are in party mood or go somewhere else you can sleep! And after a big day doing the Alpine crossing and having to drive the next morning we were in no conditions of just joining the "fun". Nightmare experience!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.6
    I booked an ensuite for 2 nights and I was really impressed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked an ensuite for 2 nights and I was really impressed by how tidy and comfortable the room was. The heater was perfect for the cold winter and the bathroom was very clean. Thank you so much for the incredible staff who were so lovely and made the stay comforting. I got exactly what I needed for the price. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money with an epic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The other residents were extremely noisy in the middle of the night with running down hallways and someone even tried multiple times to use their card to get into our room in the middle of the night.

    Great value for money with an epic view. Would definitely stay there and again and recommend to others. Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy at night as a result of the location but it didn’t bother us.

    Right in the center, perfect location. We had a double room with private bathroom and thought it was really nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.5
    24 hour front desk.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not exactly the luxury double room I booked. 3 flights of stairs, but the view was almost worth it.

    24 hour front desk. Price and location. Quick, cheap breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great value and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all, well maybe a lift would have been nice since we were on the 3rd floor.

    The location was fantastic with heaps of eateries right on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    My partner and I shared a double room, for only a margin dearer than the cost of 2 dorm beds. The room was fantastic! Even though Base is a hostel, it surpassed hotels we've stayed in. Kettle, coffee, tea, a TV (with channels that work!) a gorgeous ensuite with free soap, shower gel etc. Absolutely fantastic. Exceeded all expectations. Will be staying back here on our return to Taupo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a great location, woke up to a view of the lake. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was clean, the beds were SO comfortable and the shower was hot. Also loved that they offered taco Tuesdays!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    6.7
    Hit and Miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was really small and stuffy, you’re not supposed to open the windows because of insects and there is no AC. The WiFi only works 7am - 7pm and only downstairs in the lobby. The hostel is full of young backpackers and there is a nightclub downstairs so it gets quite loud. No free car parking available.

    The location was excellent, next street up from the lake. The staff were all fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.8
    The room was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were not comfortable. The communal kitchen could have been cleaner. The benches, floor and stoves were not clean.

    The room was very good. large clean bathroom. Coffee and tea making facilities provided in the room were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Up 3 flights of stairs for room Kitchen needed a good clean

    Location and staff were great, room and ensuite good value, bed was really comfortable , great view of lake from room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely room and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reason for giving a low comfort score on my room is that it was near an aircon unit for a bar/restaurant nearby which operated continuously so as a light sleeper it did affect my sleep.

    Lovely room and great location. No alcohol allowed in roms etc. but lots of bars nearby with one being connected, meant the noise was kept down late on which was good compared to other places I’d stayed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the noise which went on till the early hours of the morning meaning I could not sleep. I believe I had a room close to the bar/club next door. There was earplugs in the room but I don't want to have to use them nor did I want to sleep in them. It was too loud to even watch the tv!

    I like the room is was clean and the bathroom was very nice and modern it looked like it had been refurbished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    5.0
    Stay only for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very small, the window are covered with dust, bathroom door unable to close and room full with lake flies. Btw, I find it strange that the notices said no alcohol within the premise yet there are also promotion about beers.

    Location, right by lake taupo with many shops and cafes around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    5.4
    Next to the hotel they run a bar with a VERY NOISY...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Next to the hotel they run a bar with a VERY NOISY AIRCOSYSTEM Which keep you awake all night on the warerfront side! They didn't do anything to stop the noise. Ironicly they provide Ear plugs in the room!! They have to choose between running a hotelnor a bar I guess!! TO AVOID!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    3.8
    A youth backpackers with very little luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As described by there website as a luxury backpackers I felt it was far from this..the bar music was loud and you could feel the "base" all the way to the top floor. We had very little sleep ..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    6.7
    Way too Noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way too noisy the young guests have no respect. Knocking on our door and trying to enter the wrong room at 2.00am.

    Location was excellent. Room was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.1
    Close to town and venues
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff wernt that helpful, waited for ages to check in, asked about parking was told there was plenty only to find we had to move early in the morning to avoid tickets. Had information put down about business and gst receipt required had to ask specifically for this.

    Close to town and venues

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.5
    room nice and value for money but wouldn't stay again because of noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realise the bar on the ground floor was going to be so noisy. hot night didn't want to close window. difficult to sleep with "bass" noise coming through the floor!

    room a little small. bathroom good. Ear plugs supplied - needed. Convenient for Cobb & Co dinner opposite us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    9.2
    perfect for backpackers for one or multiple nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    central position in party area, so not so quiet but ear plugs help a lot to get over it ;)

    great flexibility from awesome staff, good location, lake view, terrace, possibility to book for any fun programs thru them :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    6.7
    Good location can easily walk around Taupo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could use a coat of paint and the blond could be washed (dead bugs all over when you let the blind down) hair in our sheets and sheets overall not too tidy. Very noisy til around 3 am due to being amongst the Taupo nightlife area so don’t choose if you are looking for quiet!

    Good location can easily walk around Taupo

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    3.8
    Great for young people but if your over twenty run the other way !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is perfect but if your not a young backpacker don’t go there - it’s so noisy until about 230 am you won’t get any sleep - corridors are smelly and kitchen pretty unclean. Most restaurants are closed by 9 pm. The first night was so bad we wanted to leave and forfeit our money as we paid for three nights - persevered with two. Staff are pretty unhelpful and as we we’re older travelers we felt pretty unwelcome.

    Location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    2.9
    This place is for slumming backpackers - not couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    3 flights of stairs in a weird and useless configuration was the first problem. The second was the fleas in the room. Now I have been told the room will be closed for 10 days and fully cleaned/fumigated, but we still had to deal with it. The change to another room was quickly done and that was painless. But we won't be going back. The price for the room is more than better - cleaner - more accessible backpackers in Turangi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    7.9
    Room was small but well furnished and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too noisy at night

    Room was small but well furnished and clean. Location was very good but it was very noisy because of the bar attached to the hostel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.2
    Room was very nice and clean, the bed was so comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very nice and clean, the bed was so comfortable and linen feels so fresh! Centrally located, easy to get around. We had a really nice stay here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were a bit dirty.
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room - Sanctuary
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit dirty. Also I think it is kind of odd that you aren't aloud alcohol at a backpackers. other than that it was average service(reception) was probably the best part.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    5.4
    It was so noisy at night because the window is not...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was so noisy at night because the window is not soundproof and we are only meters away from those bars. We heard the music all night long and we couldn’t go to sleep until 3a.m. It was a horrible night for us to stay in that backpacker. I would not go there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    6.3
    Sleepless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Base Taupo was listed as family friendly. But the base music pulsed from the pub below until 4am. And it was only Monday night.the ear plugs provided helped a little.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    6.7
    All good except the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have stayed in alot of budget acommodation, this one really is a "you get what you pay for" type of place. From our room there was some loud type of machinary noise going on from the neighbouring buildings (restaurants & bars) at all hours which was a slight buzz kill, I guess thats why there was a set of ear plugs left in the room lol. We just closed the windows at night which seemed to block out some of the noise. Also note that there is no on site parking and you will have to find street parking which was sometimes difficult or park further down close the the lake front. There was also a problem with our door, as we came back one time to find the room was unlocked. One of the staff had to help us with it (she was very nice), so we got the hang of locking it after fidling with it everytime we left to go out. We stayed on the 3rd floor which was quite a walk if your lazy like me and just finished eating a big dinner (there is no lift). Other than the noise, this place wasnt too bad for a cheap place to lay your head.

    We could see the lake from our room, the sunset and sunrise every day was stunning. This place was very close to restaurants/bars/shops and the lake front, you just walk outside and there is a variety of places to eat and things to do. The place is buzzing with activity, young people floating around the place (which is not a bad thing) we are in our 30s but it was nice to have a chat with the younger ones on the stairs while walking to & from our room, the people were friendly and the staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.3
    Mistaken of room arrangement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not lift so we need to move our luggage from ground floor to third floor.Too tired!The staff do the mistakes about room arrangements. We are check in first but after a few hours, other couples use their room card to open our room door. We are stay in the room for that time.The couples tell us 'this is their room'.We tell them maybe is mistake from the receptionist!I think this is a 'big' mistaken for the room arrangement because other person can used their room card to open your room.

    Location.Room is quite clean with the good seaview

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    7.5
    Not suitable for kids. But nice for backpackers for its low price. Convenient to lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is so small. King sized bed is not so king.. Bathroom is even same size with the main room.

    Ralatively cheaper. Lake view, and locates in the city centre, resturants, playground, etc. Big bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    10
    Good stay here for two nights in a private room for two .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen could have been better equipped never any tea towels had to ask two or three times. And extra basics ie , cooking oil etc...better nonstick pans too.

    Comfy rooms , helpful friendly staff , good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    7.5
    Satisfying for a Night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free wifi can be used for limited hours even at the lobby. ($4 option can cover all day and in a room) No alcohol here!

    Beach, bus station, bars & restaurants within a few minutes walk. Room equipped everything to spend a night comfortablely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    3.8
    The worst!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near the pubs, and the rooms without sound proof. Only manage to sleep after the music stopped at 3:00 am. Staff does not equip with all the information such as the parking fees.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    6.3
    the price is ok and the place is easy to find, a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed is just two single beds put together, and the room is too small. There is just street parking, which is difficult to find a parking place.

    the price is ok and the place is easy to find, a lot of restaurants around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    Taupo 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was on street or public area 100metres away.

    Just off the waters edge. Close to centre. Lively younger people staying. Though older, still felt ok staying there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    6.7
    Value for money, fairly standard backpacker quality. Could be cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room - Sanctuary
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hand soap in toilet dispensers, bathrooms weren’t given much attention at all over the course of the morning so were v dirty.

    Bed was comfortable in girls dorm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    4.6
    Close to food places, town, lake front amd parks
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't aware on how nosey it was. Was noisey both Saturday and Sunday night till about 3-3.30 am. Said free wifi as one of the facilities, but at the bottom of the page it was only free wifi in some areas around the street, didnt realise that till we arrived. Was a bit misleading. Felt the stuff could've been more inviting and friendly. We were never told were the shared kitchen was, went to reception to ask and nobody came and helped us, so we left and never got to use the kitchen ( we should've gone and asked again )

    Close to food places, town, lake front amd parks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.2
    I booked one night at the female sanctuary room which was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room - Sanctuary
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen area was not very clean; wifi only free at reception area between 7am and 7pm. To get wifi in your room and during other hours, 4 NZD has to be paid per 24H.

    I booked one night at the female sanctuary room which was a good value deal: has en-suite bathroom, shower gel and shampoo provided, hair dryer in the room, and the room rate came with a voucher for free drink in the attached bar. Bed was comfortable, attached bar has promotions almost every night. It was a Wednesday I stayed and there were chicken wings sold at 0.5 NZD each. I also appreciate that they open reception desk 24/7 as my bus only reached Taupo at 3 am.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    7.1
    Shame it was over the road from downtown all night bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noisy bars over the road. Didn't shut down till 3am. Music from bands from two different bars made sleeping impossible. Couldn't even hear the tv in my room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    5.0
    Room was clean and shower had excellent pressure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was extremely noisy. Couldn't sleep till 3am Friday and Saturday night because of music and people noise. Was horrible.

    Room was clean and shower had excellent pressure. View from room was nice too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    7.5
    Comfy room with nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying in a deluxe room, which should be provided with lake view as shown at the description while I book the room. While I checked in, the staff put me into a room with city view and no bathroom. So I went down to the reception and asked for changing the room. In the beginning the staff said that all rooms were full, and I explained to her that I paid and booked for the deluxe private room just because of the lake view, and she immediately said there was one room left. So I was thinking if I didn't ask for changing the room, I would be get a room which its price is cheaper than I paid.

    The room was clean with a nice view. Bathroom was clean and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    5.4
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We checked in a bit late at the property and found out that the room that we booked (double bedroom with private toilet) all booked and instead the staff told us that the only thing that they can do is to give us dormitory room (bunk beds) all for ourself or if we want a refund we need to wait for the manager. Just because its already late and we are super tired after long drive we have to say yes but feel so dissapointed with the property. This shouldn't happen to anyone especially when we already booked the room. Definitely not gonna come back to this property in the future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    9.6
    One of the best Base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen was quite small and at night you could hear all the noise from the bar next door.

    Clean room with private bathroom (I was in a shared room and we had our own bathroom) comfortable bed good heating system and nice blankets (went during the winter).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't any parking area for cars.

    Location is very good. Best for travellers using public transport. Bus stop is next to the facility. It's also closer to the lake and dining places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    7.1
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to central location, quite noisy at night. Laundry had only one working washing machine, the other two were broken.

    Very central location.Cheap drinks in the hostel bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Ideal location if you are going to Taupo for the night life :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heater in the room seemed a bit ancient and some of the buttons didn't work so couldn't follow the wall instructions to have it running efficiently

    The bathroom in our room was really nice! Spacious and modern. Had a mirror in the room and in the bathroom which is handy for two women who needed to get ready at the same time. Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    4.6
    No Sleep, Thumping Pub and Cold Shower
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I checked in I asked the staff member about the pub across the road and how invasive the noise was. She down played the effect that the pubs noise. I wish she had been honest, I would of appreciated it. There was noway anybody could sleep while the pub rocked on until 3am! I got 3 hours sleep and to top it off there was no hot water so I had a cold shower!

    When I checked out the two staff that were working were nice and receptive to my disappointing stay. They also helped me get the thick ice off my car windows.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    7.1
    Good basic central accommodation option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing, which is a bit beyond your control (short of extra sound-proofing the rooms) was the nighttime noise from Element Bar and the pubs across the road - the complimentary ear plugs helped!

    Great central location and good basic set-up and facilities. Nice kitchen deck area on a sunny day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    5.4
    not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    so so so noisy at night. people kept on shouting and running at the hallways until 2:30 am. the sound in the bar below is so high until after midnigh. you cannot sleep well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    7.9
    En suite with initial room, rooms clean, kitchen was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room - Sanctuary
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not convinced duvet was clean, kitchen could do with some new utensils, had to light hob with match, no soap/towel in shared bathroom, no TV room

    En suite with initial room, rooms clean, kitchen was spacious, great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    9.2
    I'd stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lazy people who couldn't wipe a bench or clean a sink out. The thoughtless people who were loud and turned load music on in the wee small hours

    Comfortable beds. Fantastic shower. View of the lake (3rd floor). Exercise walking up 3 flights of stairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows did not seal 100% and the walls did not have sound insulation which on a Friday night meant it was quit noisy. The bed and mattress was falling apart amd needs replacing.

    The room and bathroom was nice, there was towels and soaps in the rooms along with information about the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    8.3
    Good for money / great value - excellent location - organises great trips - bar next door has specials on every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a double room with 2 single beds. One of the beds in the room was totally dead, springs poking out all over the place.

    Staff are amazing!!! One beautiful soul helped us jump start our car in the rain just after she'd finished work - LEGEND!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    7.9
    we had a double room - very clean and beautiful modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    our room was directly over the hostel bar and on friday it was very loud sound until 2-3am

    we had a double room - very clean and beautiful modern bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    9.2
    Satisfaction with Taupo accommodation
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the third floor and had to walk up and down the stairs quite a few times which proved a bit of a challenge.

    Base Taupo was perfectly located close to lake, restaurants, shopping. Our room had a bathroom for our sole use which was perfect for middle-aged guests.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    8.8
    It is a Base Taupo@ Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps have ventilation for the rooms ie a small standing fan will be good during warmer days

    Good place for backpackers and travelers. I went with my 75 years old mother in law and she finds it good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2017

    8.3
    Taupo, as you find it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the car unsupervised car parking is quite some distance from motel, across 2 roads, beside the lake. While ear plugs are provided they do not cut out the sound of drums from the Base's own bar or the one across the road.Sleep before 3.00am is unlikely. Understand this is something management is in discussion about. Room was very hot, fan only. no air conditioning. To open window only allows more sound in.

    Staff assistance to get our bags up 3 flights of stairs. very efficient manager _Molly Politeness of all the staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    6.7
    Base Taupo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise coming from the pubs across the road. Also booking through booking.com and nothing on the website to indicate that it was a backpackers hostel. Only founds that out when we got the confirmation email.

    The shower was excellent, facilities were clean. Provided us with ear plugs, which was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    6.3
    Room was clean, shower was hot.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great if vent fan outside had turned off before 6am. This side of hotel quieter than other side though.

    Room was clean, shower was hot. TV and tea/coffee making in room was good. Only slept there so cant comment on anything else

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    6.3
    Great view from our room, great location, had tea making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy late at night and no hot water in the morning, no wifi in our room

    Great view from our room, great location, had tea making facilities, towels and toiletries

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    5.0
    BED BUGS. Need I say more?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room with no luggage rack ---> You need to place your luggage on the floor ---> risk for spreading BED BUGS. Which is exactly what we got. Thanks a lot. Messy kitchen. Free wifi offered only 7AM-7PM and not available in the whole hostel. Bar downstairs, and bar across the street, blasting music that vibrates through the building until 3AM. Oh, and the bar downstairs had "Stag Night" with wet T-shirt contest, announced with flyers on every door of the hostel. Seriously? It's 2017. I knew you'd be surprised...

    The bathroom - about the only thing here that was classy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2017

    5.0
    A challenging adventure for the over50's .
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think maybe a wee welcome note could have been on the bed warning us that Friday and Sat nights can be noisey .we had a room opposite a band club . 2.30 am band stopped 3pm kids noise went guessing they went to bed . 6am iron man started . Also the welcome note could state that the earplugs are ..... We never found them till we left Also didn't register the fan so we baked all night too . The loud speaker out side our room playing Miceal Jackson didn't have to be so loud . Lol Overall a wee cracker adventure Room suits purpose . We are just 20yrs to late to experience back packers lol thankyou

    All we wanted was a bed to break the trip to the full destination . So room was tiny . Bed adequate. But perfectly suited the purpose. Didn't realise I had booked a backpacker in the car on the way down lol grand parentswe are .Young vibrant ones at that but not young back packers lol

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We knew there would be street noise due to the location and that there is a bar directly underneath but was a little noisier than what we thought

    Comfortable bed, location was great, friendly helpful staff, clean tidy rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    6.7
    Average place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That you didn't get free wifi upstairs and was no lift to the top two floors which was hard with bags

    Was a good place as close to restaurants and bars

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    8.8
    Apart from all food smells coming from restaurant vents into...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift as I was in 3rd floor and have bad legs

    Apart from all food smells coming from restaurant vents into the bedroom and no fridge or lift everything else was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2017

    6.7
    Not too bad but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Strict alcohol ban in the whole hostel including private rooms. I do not understand why I am not allowed to enjoy a glass of wine in my bed after a whole day of hiking - not in a shared room but in a double room, so noone would be affected.. you do not always feel like going to a busy pub, so this rule sounds stupid and too harsh to normal grown up people who know how to consume alcohol without making mess or distirbing someone. I would understand the rule for all public areas including shared rooms.

    Location and view from our room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2017

    3.8
    Don't book a "Deluxe” room!! It's a nightmare!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Booked a double bed room. Got a 2 single bed room. -WIFI (which we had to pay extra for) was terrible. -The so called “Deluxe” room of $100,- was really warm. Opening the window was not an option as the noisy and smelly chimney of the kitchen was right below the window. -The sound and bass of the local bars wend straight though the walls until 2.30 am. Around 6.00 am the first supply trucks back up in the street. Did not get any sleep. -TV did not work

    Room was clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    2.5
    Just Don't
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We drove down from Auckland to stay in base which we booked months ago for one night. When we got there the girl could not find the booking, then asked a colleague who kindly advised us that our room was gone. She said that it was booking.coms fault for not advising us but booking.com said base cancelled the room. She offered to put us in an 8 bed dorm but considering I booked a private room this did not appeal. No sort of empathy shown whatsoever so I used the wifi and booking a private room for a fraction of the cost of base down the road in Bradshaws travel lodge, I can't recommend it enough and to not stay here unless you want a headache.

    Only being there for 5 minutes

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    4.2
    Ok if nothing else available or affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds are old, uncomfortable and not double as requested. Noted staff 'arguing' or 'disagreeing' with each other in public area, unprofessional and unnecessary. Asked about internet issues was met with ambivalence. Very basic accommodation though basically what one can expect in a NZ backpacker. Good for overnight stay in high season if nothing else available or reasonable cost i.e. like first week of January.

    Minor effort to provide a few extra amenities in double room i.e. Kettle. Room was clean. Appreciate the ear plugs!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2017

    5.0
    Not for me
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fittings falling off walls, especially bathroom, no hot Water after 1030pm, bus sat idling outside room (woke me up) from 620-645am for Tongoriro crossing, told woman clerk about lack of hot water, yeah that happens when we are full! Would not stay there again.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: