Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Centro Region hotel reviews
  4. Coimbra hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Sapientia Boutique Hotel

Reviews of Sapientia Boutique Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua José Falcão nº4, 3000-062 Coimbra, Portugal

#1 of 33 hotels in Coimbra

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1061 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    10
    The rooftop for happy hour and late night drink for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better parking, but was not that big a deal as we found good parking within a two minute walk.

    The rooftop for happy hour and late night drink for the spectacular views.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    10
    There is no other place in Coimbra to stay but The Sapientia Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    On Facebook, I rated this boutique hotel 15 out of 10!!! It is excellent in every way. Our room was wonderful, spacious, clean and quiet even though one window over looked the wall of the university. The staff our amazing, so friendly, respectful and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    10
    The perfect place to stay in a most beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is perfectly located. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. The wine exceptional. and the rooms were delightful. If you stay in Coimbra, STAY HERE!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    7.5
    Hard to find in University neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking spaces were taken, so I parked in a public garage down the hill. This was inconvenient. The area is very congested with the cars of university students and faculty.

    Proximity to Coimbra University. Modern decor. Spacious outdoor patio for dining.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    6.7
    Second time I stay at the hotel. The first time was great, this time the food ruined everything.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food: the change in the menu took the quality of the meals from 10 to 2. I was REALLY disappointed because that was my second time at the hotel I was expecting the same level of service that I had last time. So, in a sum: eat elsewhere.

    Most of the Staff, the location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet was poor. Our first room it didn’t work so we were moved to another room. Room was very small. Suggestions in reviews we read that there were good views of the river are completely misleading.

    Staff were excellent. We liked the location. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel, rather pricey, but again could have been due to graduation weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was tough, but possibly due to university graduation weekend -- we were not advised of this (nor was it mentioned anywhere online research about the city). I wish the hotel would have warned us of this event -- we would have rescheduled our visit there to a few days later and then could have toured the campus and library, etc.

    The boutique hotel is beautiful, cozy and funky and comfortable. Lovely outdoor sitting areas. Our room was very Large and loved the interesting decor (took pictures for ideas for my house). The breakfast was very good . The staff was pleasant and hard working -- the place was packed due to the university graduation taking place the weekend we were there. The hotel is ideally located next to the university and also a short, but very steep, walk to the town center with restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    9.2
    nice and fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice hotel and the investment in the hotel is noticeable and very fine - the all area is in renovation but the hotel team really helped us to find parking and get hour check in and out as easy as possible.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    9.5
    I would highly recommend- I wish there was a sauna, or a bathtub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Read above- suggestion a bell man to assist front desk

    It was an awesome A+ location, very comfortable and we enjoyed the views from the 6 th floor apartment Long wait for check in and the following day for check out. The staff was overly taxed.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    10
    Sapientia Boutique is a perfect location when in Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything that needed improved.

    Sapientia Boutique Hotel is just lovely - from the moment you walk thru the patio. There was major construction on the road that the property is on and at the main entrance, but the staff was over the top in making sure your inconvenience was minimal. The rooftop terrace was excellent for viewing the sunset. Loved being right at the college and lots of good restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    10
    The staff, the courtyard, the rooms, the breakfast - all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner which was rather overambitious and not as good as we had expected.

    The staff, the courtyard, the rooms, the breakfast - all were luxurious and really elegant and new.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    8.8
    Beautiful, design led hotel with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The local building work had a detrimental impact on our stay, would recommend not booking till work is completed. Very steep uneven walk into town which made exploring the city a bit off-putting.

    This is a lovely hotel, very design led but very comfortable. At the moment there is a lot of construction work around the hotel that makes access very difficult. The staff did their best to compensate and we were upgraded to a lovely suite. Wait until the construction work is finished!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    7.5
    Potential for the future is phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Physical access to the hotel (due to long-term infrastructure improvements-performed by the city) precludes the possibility of calling this a hotel fit for purpose.

    Potential for the future is phenomenal.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    10
    Five star staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exceptional staff, we had wonderful service from beginning to end. The boys in the restaurant made our stay perfect, great attention to detail, very genuine care taken to ensure my husband had a great birthday dinner. We ate at the hotel both nights and the atmosphere, service and food all excellent. At breakfast there was lots of choice, all appealingly displayed and kept us full all day. The opportunity to enjoy a glass of wine at 6pm is a great idea too. The outdoor space is very inviting too. Our studio was super comfy, crisp linens and fluffy towels. Amazing views across the river and the university. We slept so well, super quiet. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel and the wonderful staff who really go the extra mile.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    Perfect in all ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything perfect. Location right on the water, easy walking distance to sights and restaurants. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Breakfast fresh and plentiful with special order eggs. Bed was comfy with crisp linens.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    10
    Old building that has been sensitively updated into a modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old building that has been sensitively updated into a modern minimalist style. Good location near the university and a walk down to the restaurant area.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    Nice boss & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No

    Location is great, very near Coimbra university. Boss & Staff is really really really nice and help us a lot. I regret to only stay one night. Hope to stay longer next time.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    10
    The Sapienta Hotel was very welcoming by the staff, the well-appointed rooms and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was construction going on which did not impact sleeping, only made it less convenient to access the hotel's front entrance.

    The breakfast that was offered felt very "homemade," using fresh, local ingredients. The staff made me feel very welcome and were attentive without being overbearing.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    10
    Amazing Hospitality in Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to note.

    We loved how accomodating both the concierge and the chef were to us. We arrived late and were starving, and the chef, Joel, offered us drinks, Portugeuse tarts, and fired up the stove again to whip up a delicious meal. He also went the extra mile in making us feel welcome, tell a few jokes and give us information. Very well-located hotel with great interior decoration! We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    9.2
    the room, facilities, very nice design and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if you don't mind lots of stairs and uphills walking, the location is perfect! right next to the university

    the room, facilities, very nice design and atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    9.6
    Room above expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found the restaurant staff a bit rude over diner.

    Room above expectations! Extremely cute. Spacious, clean and looked like brand new. The hotel was a delight. We stayed only one night but loved it. Highly recommend! We travelled with our 2 sons.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Fantastic place in the very heart!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic place in the very heart! Great atmocphere and nice restuarnt right there. Wine and tuna tartar are fantastic. Rooms are very interesting and combine old flavour and modern comfort! Definitely great option, everything is possible with a walk.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was difficult but otherwise nothing.

    Everything!! The atmosphere, decorations, the rooms, bathrooms, and large balcony overlooking a beautiful courtyard with a wonderful view of the city. A huge thank you to Marta for going above and beyond for me. Muito obrigada!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    It was a quite enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had quite a pleasant atmosphere starting from when we walked in. It was very cosy and rustic and the rooms followed this same theme. Food was also tasty at both breakfast and lunch. The location-very close to the univerity-was also a plus. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in and found out it would be difficult for us to carry all luggage. All staff from trainee Beatrize (probably incorrect spelling) to chef Maya, plus reception boys and girls, were all very warmhearted. We would definitely return to this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    Complimentary breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Complimentary breakfast was great! Check in process was smooth and easy, loved the welcome drink. Rooftop was exceptional, incredible views. Room was very stylish and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    3.8
    Not that great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incredibly noisy because sound of walking on wood floor pounded from room above. Supposedly clean towel and sheets had hair on them. Some staff pleasant others unhelpful. Buffet breakfast mediocre.

    Location next to university was good. Restaurant for dinner was pleasant and server was nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    7.5
    Great hotel and quiet at top floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lofts were in the basement of the hotel, rather humid and smelly. We complained and got upgraded to the appartment in the top floor. Would definitely advise to go for higher floors to avoid humid and smelly basement floor.

    The quietness and views of the top floors are amazing. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Literally everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms on the first and third floors might get some noise from the bar

    Literally everything. The staff are wonderful, the beds comfy, the rooms enormous. Best hotel I have stayed in

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wifi in our end of the building never worked in our room so we had to come down to the bar area in order to get it.

    the staff were very friendly and the food at the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great choice for Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are not much in the way facilities but that has to be expected for this a centrally located historic building.

    Great location just below Coimbra University and easy walking distance to Coimbra railway station and Portagem bus stops for those planning day trips. Easy access to all the major sights and restaurants in the city centre. There are pleasant seating areas on the roof top and in a courtyard below. The roof top has great views of the historic square of the University (including the Joanina library) and over the river to the Convent of Santa Clara. The 6/F rooms in the B section have large balconies with views to the west. The rooms are bright and clean. The hotel has good restaurant with a bar and outside seating. The breakfast, although standard for Portugal, was of better quality than most other hotels. The atmosphere is informal and relaxed, and the staff are personable and attentive.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    10
    Good location and people were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some local roadworks but that was not a major problem.

    Good location and people were very friendly and helpful. Loved the old university environment and surrounding gardens.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location. Close to university. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful large rooms. Very comfortable. Staff was great. Extremely helpful. Can’t say anything negative about this place.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    A superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A safety bar would be welcomed in the shower. However, a non-slippery floor almost made up for it.

    The hotel is beautiful. Every detail shows taste and rustic elegance. Location is quite close, really adjacent to the university and that explains the type of guests we met. Elegant, older professorial types, Younger, casual, less advanced teachers. A few wise travelers. We stayed in various hotels during this trip, some quite ritzy, but without ant doubts, Sapientia was the best.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    Unique boutique hotel located right next to the University.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique boutique hotel located right next to the University. Great restaurant, friendly and very helpful staff and loved being able to watch the sunset from the rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    A lovely surprise. Great value. And well named.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully renovated building with lots of great details. And great, helpful staff. And close to the amazing University--within sight of the famous library.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Great room, great position, great food....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Up in the old city right next to the university, a great position providing you don't mind the steep climb! We enjoyed our stay very much, helped by a free upgrade to a Junior Suite. Breakfast was good as was dinner the night we stayed in. Staff gave good restaurant recommendations and booked tables for us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful design, room was unique and spacious, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was very difficult, but the staff were helpful once I called to help out.

    Beautiful design, room was unique and spacious, great location in university area of Coimbra. Nice breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice experience, tasteful and nicely refurbished building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice staff and tasteful. Liked the outside areas and the large balcony of my room. The building was nicely and tastefully refurbished. The location is good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful staff, location, and breakfast. Don't accept a garden level room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The basement/garden level room was quiet disappointing to us. The woman who checked us in was very apologetic, and it is true I upgraded from a double to a studio in the last weeks, but if I had any idea! I would not accept a lower level room in this hotel; the elevator doesn't even go down there. The two windows open on the street, which has some noise. The curtains must be kept down for privacy at all times, so there is a claustrophobic feeling of a basement. We felt exposed. I had asked for an upper level room, but no response came thru booking.com. I wouldn't go thru booking.com again, as it insulated us from the service this hotel obviously offers. Overpriced for us.

    Staff was wonderful, breakfast phenomenal. Rooftop view was lovely. Interesting design in all aspects of the place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    4.6
    The hotel itself fine but the service was mixed - lack of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel itself fine but the service was mixed - lack of information about road closures which nearly wrecked my onward travel and generally staff attitude was that they were doing you a favour waiting on you - very odd approach !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Luxurious, modern hotel - a relaxing space from which to explore this historic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s located in the old town, so can be a bit tricky to get to by car.

    The attention to detail in the design of the hotel, and the lovingly restored villa is absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was outstanding, amazing coffee/cake selection in the afternoon, rooftop patio from which to take in the sunset. This hotel was the best part of our two week trip to Portugal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel and wonderful staff but room lacked comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While the room was attractive and very roomy, it was not particularly comfortable. The only choices for seating were very deep window seats and backless stools at the table....not ideal for readers. The bedroom and bathroom were upstairs, which was a surprise to me. The stairs going up to it had a bannister on only 2/3 of the stairs. For us older folks, that was an issue.

    Delicious breakfast, great staff, nice kitchenette, good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    I was only here for one night - if I go back to Coimbra this is where I would stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, very spacious, excellent facilities including wonderful breakfast and very helpful staff. The outside terrace is lovely. Location is perfect, just behind the university.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is located very close to the University (in a former...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is located very close to the University (in a former university building). Nice area to walk around and explore. Close to nice restaurants and bars. The actual hotel is well designed with very modern and stylish decor. Welcome drink was nice. Rooftop bar has a fantastic view over the city

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    The view from the room was lovely, the staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from the room was lovely, the staff was very welcoming and funny, the restaurant was excellent! The location was great, just steps away from the University and many attractions. We wished we had stayed longer and would definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great modern hotel in a super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lighting in the bathroom could have been better and, although there was a coffee machine in the room, a kettle for tea making would have been preferred. We found the atmosphere a little clinical, but the staff made up for that.

    The hotel is in a great location, near to the University and the Castro Museum which is superb. The staff are lovely, friendly and efficient. It's a very modern and somewhat minimalist hotel, but the studio room we had was comfortable and had a fantastic view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.2
    Really good stay and just short of great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room did not have a coffee/tea maker. When I inquired about it at the teception desk, I was told a coffee/tea maker is not included in the double rooms. I travel often and found this to be a ridiculous response. We had a small balcony off of our room but could not make a cup of coffee or tea early in the morning and sit out on the balcony with our hot beverage and watch the world come awake. Not good. Smaller items such as hair conditioner and tissues would have been appreciated as well.

    The decor of the hotel was very well done - plenty of trendy personality in an understated way. The common areas were really fantastic and included a small rooftop bar with a magnificent view. The staff was friendly and helpful in arranging for tours and taxis. The breakfast had a variety offerings and the food was tasty. The location could not be beat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay near famous University of Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking situation is a bit tricky and you shouldn’t rely on Google Maps as it might direct you through super narrow and tricky streets that only locals can handle without scratching their cars

    The design of the rooms and the bed + the breakfast and patio area (and the rooftop terrace!)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    9.2
    If I’m ever back in Coimbra, would definitely return to Sapientia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    you can only access the hotel through a couple of stairs, and getting the luggage back to the car was not the most comfortable experience (nobody offered to help us)

    we had the apartment, which is very spacious, beautifully furnished, high ceilings, big white curtains, liked it a lot. We had dinner on the cosy outdoor patio, service was excellent and the really enjoyed the Sapientia board, which is a meal on its own. Check-in was very welcoming, with a drink and a snack

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Nice and clean apartment. Nice patio (were breakfast and diner was served). Friendly staff. Parking nearby. Nice rooftop terrace with view on the university of Coimbra and the river Mondego.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    10
    everything was perfect, nice room, nice staff, nice food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative thing was, how to find the hotel. The hotel is only 50m far away from the library. When your navigations stops, then you have to go right. After 100m you have the hotel on the left side with the parking places on the right. When you leave the hotel, go back to the University and not follow the navigation, because you will have a very narrow place downhill between 2 houses, with a bigger car you will not be able to go through.

    everything was perfect, nice room, nice staff, nice food, wellcome drink. If you have booked a room on the 5th or 6th flour you have a very good view over the university and the city/river. Terrace on the last flour and a lounge in the yard. good architect he was able to design a hotel in an old building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was friendly but average, our food order was forgotten and we didn‘t receive our wine that we ordered. The service staff in the restaurant consists of students that have not been trained in hospitality.

    Beautiful property. Our room was lovely and the hotel is located close to the famous library, very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Wonderful boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When our stay was over and we had to leave.

    We had the most lovely stay here! Excellent staff, fantastic food and hotel design. Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed, large modern bathroom and kitchenette. The color palette used in the hotel blends warm, earthy wood tones with soft, cool grays and whites. The main bar/dining area of the hotel has many large windows with views to the courtyard so you feel connected to nature. The staff was kind and helped us learn more about Coimbra and Portugal’s history. We arrived at the hotel exhausted and left renewed and restored!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay😊
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel; clean and stylish room with really kitchen and comfy bed...,excellent breakfast... Loved the view from the roof terace and their cheese cake. Great location if you are visiting University.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Wonderful accomodations on a hot spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not get access to the street from my room. Door was locked.

    Excellent location in Coimbra. Would highly recommend it. There comfortable, clean and spacious. Excellent air-condicioning and wifi works well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful but some working points
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible Wi-Fi. Only in some parts of the room (not in the bedroom part) and very slow. The bathroom is a wooden cabine inside the room with no decent lock on the door and no air ventilation. Beautiful location, but not easily accessible by car. The hotel is in a part of Coimbra with super narrow streets.

    We booked a simple apartment for 1 night and they gave us the superior apartment. Very spacious room and the whole hotel has a very beautiful interior.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.4
    There is also a low doorway going up to the roof. I hit my head badly on that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a large steel beam in room 502 between the bed and the bathroom. It is low and 3 members of our family banged our heads on it, one suffering a mild concussion. The hotel should not let this room. It is unsafe and I don’t want to see more people injured. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful small hotel with a great room and excellent location, along with a very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The city revolves around the university, but almost all the restaurants are 10-15 minutes away when walking. Coimbra is a very hilly city, so those walks are rather strenuous on the way back.

    Our room was fantastic - split level, with a fully functional kitchenette and seating areas on the ground floor with the bed and bath facilities in the loft area. Location is very good. The university is a couple minute walk from the hotel. Staff were all very kind and helpful, and everyone spoke fluent English but would also take the time to work with you in Portuguese. Very good breakfast. Also had an excellent lunch there one afternoon. Great outside lounging and eating areas, as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.3
    Warm place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit of a concern. If you are on your 60s as I am and have to carry you luggage it might be a problem since you have several steps to get to the hotel. But as I said, staff is very helpful

    Staff was tireless, very polite and always helpful. We had dinner inside the hotel. Very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel to stay. You must be fit as it’s at the top of a very hilly town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a fan of those light bulbs. As a senior, find the lights hard on my eyes. I’d recommend putting shades on those to diffuse the lighting.

    Liked the balcony. Very modern hotel. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay when visiting the university and if you want some great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room could have been a little bigger and the shower was somewhat slippery when wet.

    Extremely nice and helpfull staff, nice bar, good breakfast and in a very quiet part of town. Located right next to Coimbra University, a must see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic accommodation right in the town center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel does not have many parking spaces but in the adjacent street is free to park.

    The hotel is spectacular, the staff helpful and attentive, the food excellent and the rooms all have a different theme. The view from the top floor over the city is wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great modern design, fantastic location for the historic centre.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous design. Great location - destined for great things! Staff look like they're still figuring out how things work and the wait for dinner was excruciating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant, modern and comfotable hotel with an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disapointed to notice that my bedroom had no view. The view from the rooms, that was advertised, was my main reason to select this hotel. Water pressure in the shower needs to be improved.

    The room - vey spacious. Excellent location. Wonderful breakfasts. Staff very kind and efficient. Very modern decoration.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    Luxurious, relaxing and comfortable in an privileged location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A comfy seat in the double bedroom would be nice. Unfortunate about the delivery van at the front of the building and the noise at 7am every morning, but we are early risers so it didn't bother us.

    Simple but delicious breakfast. Gorgeous renovation and interior design. Lovely light bedroom and divine sheets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    8.8
    Really well located and a cool historic property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was clear that most of the staff was new and still being trained. They were all friendly but not the best able to handle even simple questions. Give them a few more months and I am sure they will excel here as well.

    Really well located and a cool historic property. That being said, it was completely updated and everything was clean, new and modern. Also, breakfast was included, which we weren’t expecting!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    Great choice for Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Missing parking...but, if you come after six, you’ll easily find parking on the street in front of hotel (free of charge and limitation).

    Friendly staff, great location next to university (most likely the only interesting thing in Coimbra), great breakfast and even restaurant in the evening, rooftop terrace (although shall be better in summer)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Definitely the one hotel you want to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay was too short.. :-)

    Where should I start... everything about the place was good - amazing location, right next to the university, great spacious room with all the comforts you might need, furnished with a lot of taste. We didn’t get to use the courtyard garden or rooftop terrace as the weather wasn’t that good but the lounge and restaurant area were very nice. Meals are delicious and well worth it. Great wine selection too. You are welcomed with a complimentary drink and pastel de nata..!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    A dream hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet location in the heart of Coumbra’s Old Town.Do not miss to have a drink on the rooftop and try the cheesecake in the restaurant!Great food at breakfast and dinner, personalized service, clean and originally designed rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water coming out during the shower...

    Staff are super nice. The first night is not very pleasant, there's no water coming out during a shower, but the staff are quite helpful, solve the problem, and offer compensation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager insisted on charging me twice for my two nights stay. Thanks to booking.com interface and to my bank who froze the payments otherwise the manager would rip me off. I tried to meet him but always was away. I lost the exchange rate which is not little and even he didn't apologise for his actions.

    The staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel spoilt by arrogant and unfriendly atmosphere created by above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m not sure who they were. Either owners or managers, but they treated the public space in the bar as though it was their home. They seemed to be entertaining friends or perhaps investors. It made being there as a guest feel intrusive. It felt rude and inappropriate. If it wasn’t bad enough that they were there in the evening, they were back taking up all the space in the morning for breakfast.

    Loved the clever touches by the architect. For example the little window in the bathroom framing the bridge over the river.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints about the hotel, but there isn't a great choice of places to eat and drink nearby. For that you have to go down the hill to the riverside, and that's a good, steep climb back up for those who don't walk so well. Or a taxi ride. The hotel bar is relatively expensive compared to other bars and cafes in Coimbra.

    An elegantly decorated design hotel, prefect for visiting the university part of town. The rooms are large and very tastefully done. Bright in the daytime and, with the heavy curtains, dark until you want to wake up. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The outside terrace is great for drinks in the late-afternoon sun, then you can go to the rooftop terrace to see the sun set over the city. Very clean throughout, and good wifi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.6
    Very stylish and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was georgeous - small, but great choice. We can also highly recommend the restaurant for dinner. As the weather was really bad during our stay, we were really happy to have a spacious and comfortable room for us and our baby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Everything absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything absolutely perfect! Perfect location, quiet place in the city center (taxi from trainstation 6-7euro), beautiful design, great breakfast...

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Sapientia Boutique Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery