Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. Georgia hotel reviews
  4. Savannah hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The DeSoto

Reviews of The DeSoto This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

15 East Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401, United States of America

#39 of 117 hotels in Savannah

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 614 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2019

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old, the plumbing ancient. Running the shower was extremely loud, could hear noise coming from the pipes. It was also loud hearing upstairs neighbors running their shower due to old pipes. No big deal, but a detail that stood out.

    The location is amazing. The rooms are modern, clean and overall hotel amenities are great.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    7.9
    Everything at a walking distance of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool lounge area is small, and there is not enough chairs on a hot afternoon for everyone. Parking is expensive, valet only and the snack area in the main entrance has very few options if you want to just grab a quick breakfast to go.

    In the center of everything, walking distance to the river, the park, the cemetery, tours, restaurants, etc. The hotel location is just perfect. The breakfast is good, but also very expensive. Overall a nice place to stay in Savannah.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    6.7
    First time savannah
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking appeared free but was not. I expect enough towels in the room without asking. Noisy pipes. Shower faucet needs repair. Seems for the price I paid, I expected better

    Comfort and location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    6.3
    Location is premium but I will not book another stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom door was filthy, room service took over an hour, no towels at the pool when it opened, no fridge in the room that was supposed to and they did not open the pool bar due to “possible rain”.

    The staff at Provisions, front desk & housekeeping were very friendly. The location was perfect and within walking distance of most places we wanted to see and the pool was nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    8.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The frig didn't work....they were quick to bring another one to replace it. Price seemed just a bit high.

    Location was great.Hotel was clean. Everyone very helpful and KIND!!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    5.8
    Very clean and excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A/C in our room would never go down we were hot both nights of our stay. Also, we were charged $70.00 for two nights of valet. We didn’t move our car once we arrived.

    Very clean and excellent staff!!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    9.6
    Everything (except the outside noise at night/morning).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Liberty street side rooms are a little noisy- with late night reveler noise and early morning commute traffic on the busy street.

    Everything (except the outside noise at night/morning). Great location in the middle of the action. Easy walking distance to all major tourist sights. Great restaurants / bars nearby. Room was spacious, update and clean. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    10
    This hotel is right in the heart of the old historic district and you can walk everywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the location the most! We also enjoyed having happy hour in the evening on the open patio, which we didn't figure out until our second night of the three night stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    5.4
    Underwhelming, a little outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty shower, tiny beds, empty body wash/conditioner bottles upon checking in. Wasn’t within very close walking distance of river street, and underwhelming for the $260 something we spent for the one night we stayed. No mini fridge in rooms. And, the air temp was set to not go lower than 71! We like it 68 at night, so it wasn’t very comfortable.

    Pool area on terrace

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    6.7
    Great property! Don't accept an adjoining room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Accessible
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were assigned a room with an adjloining room. There was no sound insulation and every word spoken in the adjacent room was noise to me. That is the first time that I had this experience, having had adjoining rooms at other properties the past. I was in room 518.

    Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    5.4
    The view was nice and the staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty, even though they “cleaned” it. The balcony door was disgusting, you could barely see through it because it was so dirty. The floors left your feet black if you walked barefoot. The balcony door was very difficult to open, you had to pry it open. We had thought the location was closer to River St. given the room said it was a “river view” room.

    The view was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was nice. It was close to a few restaurants so you were able to walk a good bit.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    7.9
    Hot Honeymoon
    • Couple
    • Standard King Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband and I selected this hotel specifically for our brief honeymoon in Savannah as we were getting married in Lafayette Square. The square is only a block away from the hotel. Our complaints include being able to hear word for word, the conversations that the guests in the room beside us were having. We visiting during a heat wave 5/28-5/30/2019. Our room stayed at 74' regardless of having maintenance person examine our system to troubleshoot the issue. He mentioned that the hotel does have a secondary air conditioning system, but they haven't "switched it on yet." We had to keep the heavy drapes closed all day in our room, just to retain a 74' temp which was uncomfortably warm. Speaking with other guests, they expressed the same complaints.

    Beautiful hotel. Absolutely perfect location. Immaculate and clean. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk staff need to be a bit more warm, and welcoming.

    The valet was always outside and great about bring our car. The location is perfect, and at Walking distance from everything. Will come back to De soto for sure!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    6.3
    If it wasn't for Jonathan helping me out I wouldn't have enjoyed my stay there at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a room with a balcony, I was afraid to go out there. While I was there a piece of the building collapsed. The tiny slab of concrete called a balcony looked unstable, it was too small to enjoy anyway.. TV was terrible, no signal half the time. Pool was way to small for a large hotel

    Overall the hotel was very nice but the room/bathroom was small. Jonathan was a great help.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    10
    This is the only place we stay when we come!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We love this place when we come to savannah! It’s centrally locates, we love the balconies. Pool is awesome, restaurant is fantastic. Rooms are modern and immaculate.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    10
    Everything we hoped it would be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything about this hotel. My children are still talking about it. It was their favorite part of our trip. We plan to stag longer next time.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    8.8
    Rooms are beautiful and great location. Bathrooms need some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had a very distinctive sewer smell that never seemed to go away despite our best efforts to febreeze and negate the smell. The shower pipes also make a loud groaning sound whenever you use the shower/bathtub. Pool is a lot smaller than it appears in photos.

    Hotel was beautiful and in a great location! Super walkable to just about everything we wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioner is awful, after being in 100+ degree temperatures all day you come into a HOT room that will not cool less than 74 degrees. We moved rooms, thinking it was that air conditioner but, NO, still the same!! 😫

    Very friendly and helpful staff! The rooms are gorgeous with pretty views of Savannah skyline ! Gave us an Anniversary bottle of Champagne, which we were not expecting, such a nice treat!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    7.9
    Over all good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in process, didn’t care for the $150 for incidentals. Only having one option for parking & being charged $34 a night. The pool too small for such a large hotel

    Breakfast good over priced. After changing rooms upon arrival the second room was better

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    7.5
    We have had better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was adjacent to the elevator, so we could hear all the foot traffic. We were surprised at the valet parking fee of $34 a day, not mentioned to me in advance. TV reception was terrible, missing some channels. I mentioned it to the front desk soon after checking in, and it was never resolved during our 3 day stay.

    Nice location in the historic district. Many good eateries within walking distance. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    3.8
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we checked in Friday evening there was a very loud crashing sound that sounded like a bomb went off or gun fire. The staff were not very concerned about the noise and did nothing to reassure guests that the noise was being checked out and everything was ok.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    9.6
    Savannah should be added to everyones list of places to visit in the US.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Skyline
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No refrigerator in the room. Seems like a basic need that was missing.

    Location is excellent, also enjoyed the Bourbon selection and service in the dedicated Bourbon Room

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been nice to have an exhaust fan in the bathroom.

    The location was great. Very easy to walk everywhere. The room was very nice. The staff was very courteous and helpful,

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    10
    The area,food and hotel was beyond what we hoped for and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had dinner in the Hotel and it was fabulous. Our waitress Rachel was outstanding the Chef came to our table and checked on our experience in the restaurant. With as many fine dinning restaurants we visited the Hotels restaurant, The 1540 Room was just as fabulous. The young man at the front desk Jamel gave us great suggestions on things to do as well as the new service The Downtowner which so helpful getting around. The Hotels location was perfect and the area was beautiful. We will be back

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    7.5
    Over all good, pleasant and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wanted to to feel like the room was really cleaned. Found coffee cup in the waste basket which created doubts.

    Good location. Over all good look and clean

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    9.6
    Quick stay...very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee in the room would have been nice. Ordered a pot from room service for the morning (which was on time and welcome)The shower was a bit wonky... hot then cold then a big loud sound of old plumbing.

    We enjoyed the downtown location. Typically we stay on the riverfront but this was very nice in the heart of the squares and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    7.5
    Other than the bathroom issue everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pipes made a lot of noise and my water stopped running during my shower the first day. The second day the pipes just made noise but the water did not turn off. The shampoo, conditioner and body soap containers were empty and did not get refilled during our stay.

    Location was great. Staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    5.0
    Amazing atmosphere the lobby is colder than the room.
    • Couple
    • King Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We hated the fact that we slept in almost 80 degree weather because our A/C broke and there was nothing they could do because they were sold out.

    We loved the view and the location of our room

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    5.8
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The maintenance and cleanliness was not as one would expect from a hotel of this ranking. There were items that needed repaired/replaced and the marble floors were dirty and had dirt built up in the corners. We also booked a room with a balcony with a city view, that did not offer seating to enjoy the view.

    The location was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    5.0
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was not engaged or attentive. Doormen stand around, don’t offer help up the stairs or ask if we needed any information about the area. Staff moves large trash bins in the guest elevators, at all high traffic times of day. Rooms do not have refrigerators, robes or good TV. They offer HBO but it’s analog, not digital. This means the channels are so static filled you cannot see the picture. Very disappointed.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    10
    Everything was great - lobby is beautiful, rooms are new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Skyline
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ONLY thing that wasn’t perfect was the TV. Not that we traveled to Savannah to watch TV but this one was very small & the picture was really bad; like really bad!

    Everything was great - lobby is beautiful, rooms are new & contemporary. Bed was great.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    10
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room Skyline
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly helpful staff. They fixed something we found broken in the room immediately. They allowed us to change our restaurant reservations at the restaurant without a problem. And allowed us to store our luggage for a couple hours after check out. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    4.6
    Lovely interesting city - but very disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apart from one assistant manager the staff were poor - from moment we arrived. A the scowling valet parking attendant greeted us and was not amused when we refused valet parking. The hotel has definitely seen better days. The bedding was not that clean and the sliding door out to the balcony hadn’t been cleaned in months. Was expecting much much more for the price

    Nice location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    6.3
    We live the area and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Skyline
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to pay for parking . We were unaware until we got there. Had we known we would have choose another location. So our total stay change from 538 to 606 which is a lot since we were staying in your hotel.

    We live the area and location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    5.0
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff weren’t very helpful. They charged a $200 fee without being aware and added taxes as well. When we would call down for room service, no one would answer. When we left at 430am - there was no one to be found. Worried me considering their clientele is much older. The food was pricey and the bayou was never open. The pool was nice but the bar was closed - missed opportunity. The cleanliness was OK - I’ve travelled the world and I would give this hotel a 3 star - the only good thing was its very well located with great restaurants surrounding.

    It was well located and the beds were comfy

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the coffee bar in the lobby were as bitter as their coffee.

    The beds were heavenly! The location is a little walk from the noisier part of historical which is quite busy.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    8.3
    We loved Savannah, but were a bit disappointed by the beds and the service in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had family room with to 'queen' beds, which were definitely smaller than normal queen format. The beds were too small for 2 persons to sleep in. We had breakfast every morning, but one morning there was a la cart only. Although it was very quiet (5 or 6 tables occupied) it took forever to get the breakfast. The staffing planning could have been better, we believe 1 person in the kitchen and 4 servants in the restaurant. When the food (which was good) finally arrived, staff did not adequately react to incomplete servings. For instance toast arriving 15 minutes late, after we decided to eat our eggs stone cold. A hotel pretending higher quality should do much better than this.

    Great location, nice swimming pool, great atmosphere, nice design.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Got stuck in elevator, doors wouldn’t open Only 1/2 roll of toilet paper in bath Temp control was not working Had only 2 bath towels in room. We were booked for 3 people Coffee pot couldn’t be found until we called. Lobby cold atmosphere. Coffee bar starck and uninviting when compared to nearby coffee houses.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a communication error between kitchen and staff. I really wanted cheesecake, which they first brought key lime pie (too tart for my tastes), and then found out they were out. So, I went for the chocolate mousse cake...which they were apparently out of as well. Other than that, food was delicious.

    Great location! Walking distance to almost everything in Historic Savannah.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    8.3
    The dinner we enjoyed one night at the hotel's 1540 Room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Valet parking was expensive at $34 a day. Public parking was not near by.

    The dinner we enjoyed one night at the hotel's 1540 Room was excellent. My flounder imperial was perfectly cooked and filled with plenty of Maryland crab. My wife's duck was succulent and tender. The chef stopped by personally to make sure all was to our liking.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    8.3
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Skyline
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was not ready upon arrival. We were told we would receive a phone call when the room was ready. We never received that phone call.

    The location!!! Excellent. It was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    5.6
    The DeSoto did not live up to my expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room Skyline
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room offered was very dirty; it also needed renovation (cracked mirror, water damage visible on window sill). I was offered another room that was okay, but not great.

    The hotel is in a great location and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    9.2
    I absolutely loved it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issue I had while staying a week was with housekeeping not replacing towels when cleaning room

    I absolutely loved it here! Will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    6.3
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was Closed all day Monday with no notification , when I asked if it would be open Tuesday during the day I was told it would be so we planned our day around getting back to enjoy it . After a 1/4 of mile walk back in the 87 degree sun it was not open still.

    Very clean

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    5.8
    Fabulous location in Savannah.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel lobby floor had chipped and missing tile. Bottom sheet was pilled and scratchy. Had to request new one. Only had one bath towel for 2 people after house cleaning came the second day. Light bulb missing from lamp. Had to ask for a replacement. Front desk was not that kind about the request. Room was not sparkling clean.

    Pillows and bed super comfortable. Location fabulous. Kollin at concierge desk was helpful and professional. The best part of our entire stay. Room was quiet. I liked that we could open windows.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    5.4
    DeSoto not so good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom wasn’t as clean as I would of liked it to be. The restaurant was sub par. Service was slow and not very accommodating. The ladies at the desk were just ok.

    I thought the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    9.2
    I LOVED HOW THE LOBBY LOOKED.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE ROOMS BATHROOM WAS EXTREMELY SMALL. THE SHOWER WAS A BIT AWKWARD. THERE WAS NOT DOOR TO TURN ON THE WATER, YOU HAD TO REACH INTO THE SHOWER TO TURN IT ON WHICH GOT YOU WET WITH COLD WATER. THE HOT WATER GOES OUT AFTER ABOUT 8-10 MINUTES.

    I LOVED HOW THE LOBBY LOOKED. THE PATIO BAR AND RESTAURANT LOOKED FABULOUS. I DID NOT EAT BUT PURCHASED A FEW DRINKS AT NIGHT AT THE PATIO BAR. I LIKED HOW THE PATIO STAYED OPENED LATE.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    5.4
    Do not stay in room 514
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alyssa barely made eye contact upon checking in. Assisted the gentlemen (who skipped us in line) first. I wish the staff at check-in was more aware of their surroundings. Checking out was fast an easy, but they didn't care to ask how my stay was.. so here I go There apparently aren't mini-refrigerators in every room. I consider that a basic necessity in 2019. The shower was LOUD for no apparent reason. It kind of sounded like water backing up. The water then shut off twice during a shower probably after 5 minutes of running. There also appeared to be recent repairs to the ceiling in the bathroom, but it just looked dirty. I'm not looking for anything from writing a negative review. The stay was just okay. Overpriced to say the least. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends I care about

    Good proximity to downtown Savannah. Cute Lobby

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    6.3
    Great location, disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The glass doors leading out to the balcony looked as though they hadn't been cleaned in months. There is no seating on the balcony. The faucet in the shower was loose, and the water pressure would drop dramatically and often during a shower. The thermostat stuck on 65°. The traffic noise at night was as bad as the hallway noise that carries under the wide gap under the door. There is no fridge, so don't plan on keeping drinks in your room unless you bring a cooler. With exception of valet, the staff only seemed to care about the business crowd and not much for vacationers. On checkout day, we waited 30 minutes for a luggage cart, only to end up carrying all of our stuff down ourselves.

    Upon arrival, the valet was wonderful. He helped with our bags, showed us to our room after checking in (which was smooth) and filled our ice bucket. He also offered several recommendations for things to do and places to eat.  The location is great for tourists. It is centrally located within walking distance to almost anywhere in historic Savannah. The lobby is beautiful. The views from the balcony are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    7.9
    Na
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Na.

    Don't know, I thought I paid for a room a week in advance , but when I got there the hotel hostess said it was paid for . So I didn't stay over all I think it was , n is a fine hotel..

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    8.3
    Nice place overall, at $230 a night we expected more. Location was fantastic though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Skyline
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds where.. Let's say.. FIRM. And there where a few hairs in the bath tub from I'm assuming the guest prior. The room had a strange old man smell to it.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    3.8
    You couldn't melt me & pour me back into this hotel EVER AGAIN IN LIFE!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    FB won't let me give a star rating so I'll just tell you that I give them a negative 1STAR. My tub wasn't clean, the man they sent to clean it was mean & rude so I ended up getting the cleaning supplies & scrubbing the tub out myself. The next day I wanted to talk the manager about it but he was no where to be found. I waited 20 min just to be told the manager was busy with something 'important'. So I was NEVER allowed to speak with the manager. Day 2 we had our room serviced and yet again the tub was not cleaned. I had to clean it myself. Then I ran my bath and turned on my music. The Sheriff came to our room & said the music was to loud. after quite a bit of banter back & forth I asked her to tell me what an acceptable level was....she did so after turning down the music to her satisfaction we thought tbat was the end of the story but they came back again and told us to cut it off (I guess because we couldn't turn it down anymore, it was already so low). I refused to turn it off completely (I sleep yo music or tv) but then the woman from next door came out cursing us. We were told by the hotel staff (she's just mad) but heck, I was mad too. Where was my consideration? I wanted to face my accuser but of course they would not let me. She can curse us but we can't play our music ON LOW per the sheriff's direction. So long story longer we were asked to leave in the middle of the night & so we did. Just to make sure they called two additional police. I have NEVER in my life had an experience this bad at any hotel, motel or hole in the wall. Savannah was superb but the lodging ruined the entire trip.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    9.2
    The overall facility was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Missing a mini fridge in room & parking.

    The overall facility was very comfortable. Our room was the best. The one thing missing that I think is a must have-is a mini fridge in the room. The many things that were great includes location, comfortable rooms, Wi-Fi, & the helpful staff. Also, another miss is valet parking only because it is just inconvenient & costly.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    7.9
    Great location, nice hotel but at price point their service could up their game
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the front desk was cold and complacent. The sun shade wouldn’t work properly and the TV reception was poor.

    The location of the hotel is outstanding! The rooms are comfortable and the pool area is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    8.8
    I WAS IN ROOM 1205 WHICH HAD AN ADJOINING ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I WAS IN ROOM 1205 WHICH HAD AN ADJOINING ROOM. YOU CAN HEAR EVERYTHING GOING ON IN THE ADJOINING ROOM. YOU CAN EVEN HEAR ICE CUBS BEING DROPPED IN A GLASS. THE GUESTS IN THE ADJOINING ROOM WERE A COUPLE WHO FOUGHT CONTINUOUSLY USING VULGAR LANGUAGE. WHEN IT HAPPENED THE FIRST N IGHT FOR A SECOND TIME, WE CALLED SECURITY. SECURITY CAME UP AND CALLED THE ROOM. THEY ALSO HAD THEIR WALKIES GOING. THIS ALERTED THESE GUESTS AND THEY QUIETED DOWN. THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN THE NEXT NIGHT AND WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK AT BETWEEN 10 AND 10:30 P.M. AND WHEN WE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE FIGHTING AND NOISE, THEY ASKED IF WE WANTED TO CHANGE ROOMS. WHY WOULD THEY ASK THAT AT THAT TIME OF NIGHT. I ASKED ABOUT SECURITY AND I DON'T THINK THEY EVER CAME. TO ASK US TO PACK UP AT THA TIME OF NIGHT JUST DID NOT MAKE SENSE. THEY COULD HAVE HANDLED IT DIFFERENTLY. I HAVE STAYED AT THE DE SOTO ON THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS AND LIKE IT VERY MUCH. THIS KIND OF LEFT ME COLD.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    10
    The hotel is clean and Chick,but the best is the location,it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Is lacking of asmall refrigerator,to put drinks there.

    The hotel is clean and Chick,but the best is the location,it is in downtown historic district,very close to the most important locations.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We called ahead of time to be sure the pool was heated. I am a diabetic and swim daily to control my A1C and explained this to the hotel employees. Two employees told us it was heated and I would be able to swim so we booked our stay at the Desoto. When we arrived pool was freezing and no one was swimming in the pool. Hotel said they only heat the pool when it’s warm out. No effort was made to compensate us for their employees not knowing about their amenities. We felt they just wanted us to book with them and didn’t care about customer needs.

    The style of the hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    8.8
    Beautiful Savannah lovely hotel a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Accessible
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in was quite late at 4pm. We had arrived on an overnight train. They did let us in at 12.

    The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. The room was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    10
    Great location between the historic area and river walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location between the historic area and river walk. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby! We had a great view of the pool which looked amazing but it was too cold to enjoy during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    7.1
    Employees were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    balcony and breakfast area windows could have been cleaned. Also the TV should have made set to be move to be able see out of bed and one extra relaxing chair.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    9.6
    There is a $50 a day charge in advance for incidentals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a $50 a day charge in advance for incidentals...also a $34 per day for valet charge even though we chose this hotel due to its ease of walking distance

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was in room 217 which is a split room right next to meeting rooms and elevator. I could hear people in the next room and housekeeping/guests in the meeting rooms. I personally feel there should not be any guest rooms next to or on the same floor as a meeting room. In addition, there was a dead cockroach by the elevator. We told 3 housekeepers in a span of 3 hrs before it was removed. Although overall the hotel was nice, I was terribly disappointed because this is not what one should expect from a hotel in this price range.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    5.0
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s overpriced! It’s and old hotel and they renovated the main hall and decorated the rooms a little bit but it doesn’t look as nice as showered in the pictures.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    4.6
    Will never ever come back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendliness of staff. You do not feel welcomed. Had too check in twice. Took one hour. Second time 30 minutes. This could be avoided. Room was not cleaned on second day. On sunday they started working at 08.00 with high pressure hose and cleaning materials on the outside of the building. Lots of noise and disturbance. could not sleep anymore

    Nothing particular

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    10
    We paid extra for a balcony which had no chairs to sit on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid extra for a balcony which had no chairs to sit on. The pool area over a weekend was not straighten up. (Our view) Towels and chairs all over the place. They still have customers that smoke and they had no place to smoke but the sidewalk. The restaurant 1540 was excellent. We gave it 5 stars. Everyone was very friendly. Valet service gets 5 stars. Parking costs extra. Would would book there again.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    7.5
    Great location with comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only minor issues The room was old and the shower facility was old and not working properly as extremely hot and we had to get hotel to rectify...which they were prompt in doing so Lifts very slow so we took the stairs as we were only on 2nd floor

    Comfortable clean room Loved our stay Location fabulous to the historic area Would definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    5.8
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Accessible
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lacking towels, soap, and shower gel. They forgot to come back to clean our room after we left for the day in the late morning. Bottom sheet was pilled and scratchy. Not the experience I would expect from this type of hotel.

    The location was fantastic. The coffee served in their shop was delicious. Nice pool view.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Desoto. We would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Refrigerator in the room would have been nice.

    The Desoto is the perfect location in Savannah. The central location makes it easy to walk about anywhere in the city. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    5.8
    Nice but Over-rated. I probably won’t stay there again and I travel to Savannah a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While there was a coffee shop in lobby, there was no coffee in the room and not even a cup for water to take a Tylenol. The day of our check-in it was nearly impossible to get anyone on the phone also IF there’s a late checkout is available it costs 1/2 the room price for two hours and the full room price after that. Parking was $35 and then of course you have to tip every time you get your car or leave it. I’m sorry but that’s too much.

    The location was good and the view from the 4th floor was pretty.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevators didn’t work no hot water in showers water pressure was lacking to the extreme and my balcony sliding glass door came off the track ever time I opened it

    The location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    5.6
    I was charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room Skyline
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was charged. 34 dollars for Valet. Parking that was not told to me. Only thing was explained to me that I would pay 50. Dollar deposit for anything that might be messed it. But would be returned upon check out.. Also, when I arrived my reservation did not even show up for booking. SoI PAID. BEFORE I EVEM CHECKED OUT.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    7.1
    Over all a good stay at the Desoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevators weren't working properly most of our stay, I couldn't get the wi-fi to work either. That could've possibly been my phone..we paid over $900 to stay 2 nights, which is ridiculously high, but every place to stay was very expensive due to it being St. Patrick's Day weekend. Had we realized that when we bought tickets on-line about 3 months ago, we wouldn't have even considered buying them! If crowds and waiting in line are your thing, you should definitely go!

    We liked the location of the Desoto. We were in town to attend a concert at the Johnny Mercer theater, so it was just a short walk up the street..the valet parking attendants were very efficient and courteous!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    6.7
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Skyline with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet breakfast overpriced. Room overpriced. Broken elevators during the weekend And at checkout no elevators working except freight elevator

    Location,staff

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    6.7
    I have stayed here two times. Location is perfect but it didn’t live up this time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Accessible
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lost my reservation. No counter in bathroom, safe didn’t work, only one wash cloth, one bank of elevators out of order the whole time

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would love to book a balcony next time!

    The location was PERFECT, the rooms were huge (by NYC standard at least), the bed was incredibly comfortable and the staff was amazing! We will absolutely come back! We ate breakfast at 1540 and it was amazing too!

    Stayed in March 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The DeSoto Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: