Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Royal Lahaina Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

2780 KeKaa Drive , Lahaina, HI 96761, United States of America

#34 of 61 hotels in Lahaina

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1048 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    The service is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aloha Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The menue in the restaurant does not have a good choice The prices in the restaurant are too high

    The service is good Location is good Beaches is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    6.3
    The location and the proximity to the beach was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff, particularly in the restaurant, were quite rude to us throughout our stay and we thought the service was very average.

    The location and the proximity to the beach was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    The hotel was slightly cheaper than some of the more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aloha Saver Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much, if we were being picky the air con was a little loud but had no trouble sleeping. Also the pools and breakfast aren’t as big and luxurious as the bigger hotels but if you want that you can pay the extra and go to them.

    The hotel was slightly cheaper than some of the more upmarket hotels but it had everything we needed. The staff were always friendly and very helpful. We loved the pool bar and the bar staff there were great. The location was perfect, the beach is much quieter than around the corner outside the large chain hotels and whalers village. It was only a comfortable walk or a free shuttle ride away when we did want to go there. We would definitely recommend staying here but getting the bus to Lahaina of an evening, there are more shops and restaurants and they’re cheaper than the main hotels and whalers village restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    GREAT VALUE, EXCEPTIONAL STAFF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms, pool.

    We were in the villas. They are currently remodeling the villas and the new ones look fantastic. The villa we were in was very old and the bathroom needed remodeling, but we didn't mind, the price and the location of the property were excellent. More over the staff, housekeeping and the waiters in the restaurant were outstanding. Food is WONDERFUL. The beach area is AMAZING. Pool needs major overhaul. Would stay again, as is.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    4.2
    Be careful what room you book. Extremely disappointing and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aloha Saver Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 'standard' room was actually an 'unrenovated cottage' - meaning it was very below standard. I would be embarrassed to offer this room if i were this hotel. The bathroom cupboards were mouldy, the shower dripped constantly and there were broken tiles on tbe shower floor. You need to be more clear on your website regarding the standard of rooms you are selling. Don't get me wrong - we didn't book a standard room expecting to have a suite when we arrived. We actually expected a srandard room but got something well below average. Very disappointing room. Overall the location was good so that was the only positive.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    The beaches were nice and secluded, not as busy like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aloha Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beaches were nice and secluded, not as busy like the other brand name hotels south of us. Drinks were good, food was good. Beds very comfy, rooms very nice for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous. A great place to unwind, relax and recharge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location. This hotel is right on the beach and with no other hotels around it, the beach feels almost private. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to Whalers Village (though there is a free shuttle bus if you don't want to walk) and a 5 minute walk to the local shops. The staff are fabulous - courteous and friendly- and this hotel has the best Happy Hour- 2-6 pm! Most suitable for couples and singles. There are more family friendly hotels nearby. I would definitely recommend this resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    Touristic Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aloha Saver Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the resort. Way too touristic for me. Didn't feel like Hawaii but more like a regular touristic area. We didn't know we had to pay for parking 15$ a night and the parking lot was full, we had a long walk to it.

    We got a really nice Cottage, the room was even nicer then the pictures we saw, it was new and modern. The bathroom is big and nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    A very relaxing short stay in paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Cottage with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wait until 4pm to check in after a long journey was not appreciated.

    Rooms were clean and spacious. The grounds, pools and location was excellent and could not be faulted. The restaurant and staff were terrific. Beach just awesome. Will come back here in a heart beat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.2
    It was a great experience in a well located, newly refreshed, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Airconditioning too cold. Internet access could be improved

    Location, value for money, freshness/cleanliness of revamped hotel, evening entertainment in bar/lobby area, pool, staff very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. Would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aloha Saver Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    cleaning could be improved a bit.

    All staff members were very helpful and polite. We had a garden room and liked it a lot. The garden is very nice ad well kept. We went for breakfast at the cafeteria - the choices there are good .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed, over priced for what we received
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wrong bed to what I booked, not cleaned correctly with fridge containing half eaten food from previous guests and toilet not wiped properly, noisy, fan broken, very limited toilet paper on arrival 1/4 roll only, no info re resort facilities given or left in room

    Shampoo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.1
    Beach worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aloha Saver Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the cottages and we could hear our neighbors like they were in our room. The bathroom needs a little updating and the shower did not drain. The parking is awful. Traffic was horrendous. We were in a traffic jam for 1 plus hour to go 15 miles to get back to hotel. Would have really loved this place of it would have had a kitchenette in it.

    CloseNess to beach, short walk to amazing beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful property with great beach access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower wouldn’t drain properly and ended up standing in nasty water. AC was garbage. Property needs to be renovated

    Beautiful property with great beach access

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and relaxing escape to lovely Maui
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room overlooked a roof...actually the balcony sat on the roof and it was horrible as the vents of that structure made noises all night so could not keep doors open, very bad rooms for any quests, but given our short stay we put up with it. No tea making, only coffee machine, we had to ask for a kettle which was provided. Unlike other hotels across the world, no milk provided but a store on site provided goods for sale and we bought milk. The 4pm check in is not reasonable, but we were lucky to get into the room at 3pm. Given that guests must check out by 11am, surely there needs to be either a later exit time or earlier access time. We paid for parking at $15 per day. Just little things, but given Maui is more isolated these things could be more easily accommodated and appreciated. Regardless of these small issues we enjoyed our time on Maui.

    Nice comfortable hotel, would not say a resort by todays standards, but still charming and good atmosphere with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    4.2
    I was disappointed in the quality of the room for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aloha Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in-room fridge smelled, large wooden blinds in the room were dusty, the ceiling vent was filthy, no Kleenex in the room and only one small sitting chair.

    renting beach chairs to go and sit near the ocean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aloha Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite booking a room with two beds several months ahead we were given a room with one bed and told that if we wanted two beds as booked we would have to upgrade and pay more.

    Excellent location and quite spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aloha Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, the rooms and facilities are rather dated.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. We liked the location of the hotel, which was close to Lahaina and not too far from the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.2
    Stunning locale, but stick to local restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was stunning. The restaurant food was overpriced and meh. Additionally, the early bird special for $9.99 until 7:30 am did NOT include coffee! The waitperson offered us coffee, which we assumed was included in the price. The coffee was meh, and it cost an extra $3 per cup. A classy, beautiful place like this should not nickle and dine people like that.

    The room was spectacular, the pool and beach pristine. I saw some people with dogs on the beach - locals? and it was so nice to see the dogs enjoying the water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.8
    Gorgeous beach and nice views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pools are small and get crowded. Furnishings a tad dated for the price. Beach cabanas were removed from beach before sunset, which was disappointing.

    Nice people and excellent location. Great beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay. Just feel that Maui is over rated compared to other paradise islands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Need a child's pool.

    The SPA was great. The 2 ladies, we called them the 2 L's for Lucy and Lui, were wonderful. Cottages are the way to go when staying.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    7.9
    I do not think I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dinner the first night was a disaster . Way over priced...and not very good Did not eat there again ... Lobby smelled like deep fried fish . Bathroom very motel ish and cramped . No micro wave

    The valet parking people were excellent . The outer area's are great . We loved our housekeeper .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    5.0
    Don’t stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Said our room was remodeled. Ha! Doors falling apart, tile in bathroom moldy and painted over. Had accidentally left some cream medicine in the room. I’d course they couldn’t find it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    Wonderful and Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aloha Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was smaller than expected, but was still great.

    Excellent breakfast. When we checked in for a ocean view room we got upgraded to a ocean front room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    4.2
    We could have stayed at the Sheraton down the road for the same price and we will return there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was DIRTY. When we checked in we were told we were upgraded to a renovated room (later management said 15-years ago) which was dirty and not the cottage we specifically made a reservation through booking.com. It was terrible and we had to go to management to fix. We don’t like doing this and we normally do not but this was horrible. We have been coming to Ka’anapali for over 20 years and this was the worst stay we have ever experienced.

    Location - This hotel has such an opportunity to be amazing. They should really do something about it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    8.8
    Beachfront cottage rocks! Whole family loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No dislikes!

    We lucked out and had a deluxe 2-bedroom cottage on the beach with an outdoor “kitchen” on the patio. This is as close to a cottage on the beach as you can get. Kids (7, 11, & 12) loved walking out the gate and being on the beach. We also took in the Royal Lahaina Luau which is very old school and very fun. These people have feeding 300 people down to a science. Great time at a Lahaina tradition.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location right on the beach and immaculate gardens...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price it would be good to have breakfast or airport transfers included-although i do find its standard in Hawaii/us not to include these. The resort area is an expensive ride from the airport and transport outside the resort area is limited so I would recommend getting a hire car as we were a bit limited without one(not the hotels issue but just some feedback for others)

    Beautiful location right on the beach and immaculate gardens, the garden cottage was great-felt nice and private. The only restaurant at the hotel had amazing food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, truly helpful welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cottages are spacious but looong overdue for a makeover. While the staff does a superb job of keeping everything clean, the interiors appear to have been done decades ago. There are too few outlets (the outlet behind our bed did not even have a faceplate), too little furniture (no headboard, one chair, no dresser). The shower needed (as do ALL showers) a grab bar, the toilet was one of the old-fashioned low ones, the tile and grout work definitely in need of a redo. The windows were the jalousied glass. The cottages themselves are lovely, roomy, and have a nice covered lanai.

    Very clean, truly helpful welcoming staff. Large room(in one of the cottages).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    4.6
    Horrible Value. Unprofessional check-in experience. Cottages need serious renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I understand that the hotel doesn't guarantee rooms until 4 p.m., but I felt arriving at 12, only staying for one night, and being the only couple in the lobby it seemed, we should have been accommodated within at least an hour, but it took 4 hours to get a room key. And not before being rudely treated by a hotel clerk who didn't understand customer service or professionalism. When within 2 minutes of kindly asking her when she thought a room might be available, she stated firmly that she didn't want to give me an estimate because I would be mad if I came back to ask for the room and it wasn't done. Implying that I had an attitude. Strange behaviour. At that moment I thought to ask for a manager, but didn't want to deal with the drama, so me and my girlfriend left the grounds for 2 hours and drove up to Kapalua. When I returned and asked bout the room, which still wasn't ready at 2:40, i decided to ask for the manager, at which time the rude hotel clerk quickly ran being behind the doors so she could cover her tracks for her unprofessional Behavior. Management came out, a woman was obviously stressed, she mentioned that it's not easy to turn over 500 properties, which I understand, but still I thought it was very reasonable to assume that I could have a room within an hour upon arrival. Secondly, knowing that I was only staying one night she should have went out of her way to accommodate us. My girlfriend is a flight attendant so we travel frequently, all over the world. it's not uncommon for a couple to check in early to a well-established Hotel chain and have our requests met. Now here's the bottom line on the rooms, we were stuck with a garden room, which is what I paid for, this is a cottage off to the left of the main Hotel. There is an odor, the hot water is not good, the room is are and in need of serious renovations.

    Location was great, close to Kapalua, close to Front Street. A nice place to be in Maui, though I stayed in Kihei a few days prior and actually felt that was a better location: it depends what your plans are

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    6.0
    Stay in tower or stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in a one bedroom cottage and it was in dire need of maintenance. Carpet in very bad shape, bathroom was not clean and rotting food was left under the bathroom sink so obviously they just wipe the counter and don’t clean well when people check out. A/C is a wall unit and very noisy. Nothing peaceful about the room. Parking is quite far from our unit. If you stay here you want to stay in the Main tower building which has been remodeled.

    It was okay. Waiters in bar and restaurant were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    5.8
    What a disappointment!! Horrid place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible bathrooms! Awful beds. No bathtubs... They had a big tiled thing that looked like a horse trough. The tiles was either super stained or dirty. The grout looked little Jen mold wax growing on it. Definitely not what I had expected!!! Would recommend to anybody.

    The staff is superb!! They were the best part of our stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    8.8
    Would Definitely do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar should open earlier, and the rooms could be updated. Porch light didn't work, only plug for coffee machine was RIGHT next to sink. Likely not up to code.

    Private beach access, all-inclusive experience. We stayed in a bungalow and it was awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    5.8
    while there were many OKAY aspects of the property there was nothing that was great! wont be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the room was not at all as advertised. it was very dated and although we selected two beds when reserving and called twice to confirm this they gave us only one king. we when brought this to their attention and asked to change we were told we couldn't and had to rent a pull out that barely fit in the room! we shared walls next to us and above us and the noise level was SO LOUD! we could hear entire conversations and when the folks above us came in for the night we all thought the sky was falling. definitely not the value I had hoped for the price. we also found that parking was NOT included in the reservation price as advertised and proved to be a bit of a pain. We were told check in was at 2:00 pm so planned the morning around this but arrived to be told it would be at least 2 hours wait but that the front desk would call when a room was ready (at the time every guests was being told this.) it was very inconvenient and something we could have easily planned for had we known ahead of time! after 2.5 hours I went back to the reservation desk because I hadn't received a call and had to ask again if we could please get into our room. when checking in and out the (same) customer service person could not explain to me what was being charged and when or why? I had been charged for the entire stay three times by the time we checked out and all she could tell me was "yeah, is okay."

    The location was prime if you are looking to stay on that part of the island. It's right on the trail that goes for miles in both directions and easy walking distance to shops/food and good beaches and snorkeling. housekeeping staff were very quick and thorough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful views, but noisy and not very private
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very noisy, I could hear the guy next door throwing up in his bathroom, it sounded like he was in my bathroom. Also it wasn't very private when you were sat on your patio.

    The room had lovely views of the sea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, lovely facility, lovely landscaping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The buffet breakfast was very overpriced and not all that great.

    The grounds were beautiful. The breakfast area had outdoor seating close to the pool and with a lovely view of the ocean and whales breaching.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    9.6
    Overall - a beautiful resort with wonderful staff in all departments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We stayed in one of the small cottages which we enjoyed, but we think some attention needs to be given to the air conditioning system which was quite old and makes too much noise at times.

    This resort has absolutely beautiful plantings and lawn. Additionally, a very nice beach and two swimming pools. Very relaxing atmosphere with a lovely restaurant and bar which looks out over the ocean. The staff is helpful and charming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    I was with my wife for my birthday vacation in Maui and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was with my wife for my birthday vacation in Maui and the beach and sea view from our hotel was amazing. The Royal Lahaina Resort was great! 10 to 15 minute drive from shops and restaurants. We will be coming back soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.9
    Maui is amazing and beautiful. The Royal Lahaina is very nice but not exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They had the wrong dates in their computer. They had us coming in April instead of February. I had called and confirmed the dates a month before. They blamed it in booking.com saying that they had put the wrong dates in the computer. We didn’t get the room we had originally booked. They were also not very apologetic for this problem.

    The beach was amazing !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    5.4
    Only stayed 3 night. Maui is a lovely paradise but dissapointed by the hotel and its 4* status.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel room very run down and requires updating. A/C and Fridge very noisy, shower falling apart and furniture heavily used. Best to rent a car for going out for dinner in the evenings. Guest self parking gets full at night so parked in the tennis parking area, which had plenty of spaces. Our room was on the 3rd floor above the conference rooms, which can get very noisy at night.

    Location and nice clean sandy beach. Crystal blue calm sea. Can easily spot whales from the hotel looking onto the ocean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Location is prime but make sure to upgrade accommodations beyond standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Standard room was disappointing. Small, hard beds and a really lumpy chair in the room (K8203). Price of room was too much for this type of accommodation.

    The location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    7.9
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a little tired and needing upkeep.

    We had a wonderful time. Right on beach with two pools. Our room had fabulous view and we watched whales every morning while having coffee on our balcony. Casual, casual, casual which is what we wanted. Restaurant was great, good food and friendly staff. Room a little tired. Figure we paid for convenience and view. Would go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    7.5
    Too many kids at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many kids at the hotel. My husband and I wanted to use the Jacuzzi but their were about 5 kids in it taking up all the space. They should make a rule.. no kids in the Jacuzzi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location with a great happy hour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to wait until an hour after check in to get into our room because they told us we were getting an “upgrade”. Then, when we never received a call that our room was ready after trying to check in at 4 and them telling us to wait, we were finally showed our garden cottage and it was in the back of the facilities and the bathroom portion wasn’t clean- the sink, mirror, and shower were not wiped down and you could see toothpaste spray from others. We wouldn’t have even really minded if we hadn’t had to wait longer to check in for this upgrade and then it not even really be cleaned well.

    Beautiful location with a great happy hour!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable-would love to return-beautiful beach and the best sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was terrible especially on a luau night-I would rather have a resort fee than pay for every extra.

    Stayed in a cottage-perfect for family or older couple-a lot of walking for handicapped-location was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    7.9
    The location and ambiance of this hotel is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aloha Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    It would have been nice to have somewhere to hang our towels other than the little towel rack right above the toilet and better lighting in the bathroom. I couldn't see properly to do my make up.

    The location and ambiance of this hotel is amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    7.9
    The room was adequate, like any hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The resort path is very winding and difficult to find the building we were looking for. The night we arrived we ate at the restaurant on site and they were very slow to get us seated even though there were many empty tables. When we were finally seated the tables continued to be empty. Also the air conditioner was noisy.

    The room was adequate, like any hotel room. The room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    7.1
    We had a good time, the food was good, staff was nice, view was amazing, bed was comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort could really use a facelift, the entire resort is very dated, the rooms are the same as they were when I visited here as a young girl!

    We loved the view from our room! We were pleased that all the things we requested when booking were met! We got a king bed on a quiet floor with a great view! Thanks, booking .yeah!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    9.2
    Too expensive for what it provides, but that beach and that view though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant was an overpriced atrocity. Who serves powdered scrambled eggs at an exclusive resort? We ate there once and it was by far the worst meal of the trip. Save your money and walk to Dukes, Hula Grill, or Monkeypod, or drive into Lahaina and eat at Fleetwoods, or vitually anywhere else. For the considerable cost of the hotel, having to rent beach chairs, umbrellas or cabanas seemed excessive. They should have been provided.

    The property was well maintained, perfectly situated with exquisite beach access. The view was splendid and dramatic (deluxe ocean view room.) The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were perfectly cleaned each day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.6
    An older property with friendly staff, and the best price you can find for Kaanapali beach front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud exhaust fan from the hotel near our room could have been annoying, but we spent very little time in our room. Cottage V overlooked the trash and delivery driveway of the hotel, so we kept one set of drapes closed so we did not have to look at it. Nice views from the other windows.

    Beautiful Kaanapali Beachfront location. Easy access to the Kaanapali boardwalk. Friendly, helpful staff. Our older cottage room was spacious, with a nice kitchen, and has been recently updated, and was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    7.9
    Nice holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cottage room is nice but hopefully the management can upgrade it soon. The bathroom and a/c especially. We find the lighting is dim, only two lamps for the whole room. There is an issue with roaches, so hopefully pest control can be initiated.

    The resort ground is beautiful and there is a great beach on site although you gotta be careful with the riptide and sudden drop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    9.6
    I would come back, but will not stay in a room overlooking the 2nd floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The pools were not the best, and our lanai looked out over the aircoditioner unit on the roof of the 2nd floor, so sitting out there was not great - couldn't hear the quiet of the area cause just heard the rumble of the machine.

    The beach, the views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.2
    Staying at The Royal Hawaiian Resort made you feel like you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staying at The Royal Hawaiian Resort made you feel like you were in Hawaii. The grounds are beautiful, you are so close to the sandy large beach, and you have room to move around and enjoy the sun.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    7.5
    Restaurant service an entertainment very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffee in room was terrible an bathroom facility was OK & needed update A/C unit definitely needed upgrade!

    Restaurant service an entertainment very nice... All the employees where extremely friendly.... The grounds where Beautiful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff, good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aloha rate room was a bit dated and not as clean as we hoped. We eventually overlooked these things after a day or two in paradise.

    Location, location, location. Pool, restaurant, music in the afternoons, Luau.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    10
    paradise on the beach Aloha !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Cottage
    • Stayed 21 nights

    Walls are thin can hear people in next room, would have liked a lei or welcome basket at check in as we were staying three weeks!

    I loved our cottage room! So close to the beach and hearing the waves and watching the whales was amazing from our lanai! Nice place to visit! Thank you for a lovely stay in paradise!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aloha Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The check-in was slow due to being understaffed when we arrive. Check-in staff wasn't as friendly as the rest of the hotel, but maybe an off night.

    Great location with beautiful views of the ocean. Perfect for casual whale watching right from the lounge. Easy access to Lahina. Room was excellent, clean, and very comfortable. Except for a less than average "check in", I highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed being in Maui and on the ocean, but the hotel needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Aloha Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The lighting in terrible in the bathroom, you can't even see in the mirror. The bed has a topper on it that doesn't fit very well so it wrinkles under you.

    The view was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    7.5
    Quite nice but let down by the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking spaces and yet charged USD15 per day, which wasn't advised until our arrival. In fairness, they did waive the charge after we complained.

    Free and easy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    5.8
    Maui was great. Cottage room was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cottage we stayed is was very outdated. Needs new plumbing, new windows, new flooring, new air conditioner, new mattresses. I did complain about our cottage and was told that they have re-modeled some of them, but ours has not been done yet. When I suggested that I shouldn't pay the same amount as the already remodeled units, I was told that I can possibly get a discount next time. Really? It's not like I go to Maui every year!

    The grounds were beautifully landscaped. Restaurant and bar were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect beach destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Aloha Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room had a weird bathroom setup and the carpet wasn't clean. Beach front hotels shouldn't have carpet if they don't plan to keep it clean.

    Amazing location, super comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    7.1
    Decent but not great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor quality doors, windows. Some Didn't close properly, some couldn't be opened. Lots of broken California Blinds.

    Great location, awesome view comfortable sureoundings

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    10
    Overall enjoyed this hotel and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aloha Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First we had no signal on the TV when we first retired for the evening requiring staff to come to the room. The TV navigation wasn’t intuitive. We learned you needed to turn to channel 4 to activate the TV. Then finally you couldn’t go through the guide and pick your desired channel instead you had to go through channel by channel to get to your desired show. Also the safe had to be fixed by security when we arrived as the steels bars had been deployed rendering it not usable for us. Security came quickly and corrected the problem. Every time we attempted to secure the safe door the remainder of our stay it would give an error signal with first attempt and then lock with the second despite doing it correctly every time. Not a problem just a nuisance.

    Lovely resort nicely located on the boardwalk. Our room in the tower had beautiful views of the mountains as well as a partial ocean view. Also The resort sits on large grounds so good privacy from the rest of the area, thus quiet. Staff were fantastic. There was plenty of parking at a reasonable cost.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    4.6
    Beach 5*, all the rest 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expect rooms, breakfast and overall service of a 3*** hotel. One restaurant with the unchanging menu on two pages, same all day. Waiting time to be seated for breakfast (!) may be 30-40 min. Rooms are cleaned the first 2 days then if you don't leave tips they skip you! Two pools so basic and sad looking we thought our community sports center had better facilities. Bad food everywhere in Lahaina area in hotels, whalers village... and extremely pricey. We tried many places, catch of the day dry, overcooked, plain..We love seafood and fish and travelled a lot around the globe - food was very disappointing here. Never thought we would do it in a 4*resort but we ended up buying food in a local grocery store (prices beat Gelsons) and cook in our cottage. Wow! Thats what vacation is for! Shabby building and basic cottages. Some renovated, some ghosts from the 70s. No chaiselongues or umbrellas on the beach. Umbrellas can be rented !!! The first resort on our lengthy list where guests are expected to pay for umbrellas! If you travel like we did during Xmas and new year be prepared that there's absolutely no entertainment offered at the hotel. We are used to gala dinners, shows and fireworks. Well, we were told these hotels (We asked in a number of hotels) are family hotels and no entertainment is offered. If you don't find this explanation satisfactory...go to the Seyshelles, Mauritius, Thailand, Makao, Maledives..you name it.

    Location is great, the beach is nice although rather steep falling into the water. Next to the golf course so very spacious and not squeezed in between the neighboring hotels as Sheraton or Westin.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.6
    Best beach and location in Maui, 0
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and helpful The grounds and gardens so beautiful The cottage room was clean, quiet and comfortable, great beds The pools, pool bar and daily musician and hula dancer The restaurant staff make eating there a wonderful experience

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    6.9
    Overall a good experience. I would stay here again although would ask to change rooms if toilet maf
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Aloha Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    My toilet didn't work for the first 4 days of my stay. Charged me an extra $100 for a late checkout, even though my room was not cleaned till 3:00pm each day.

    The location was great and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.2
    The accommodations were extremely clean and well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The accommodations were extremely clean and well kept. Anything we needed, like an extra blanket or towels, they had someone bring right over to our cottage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    5.8
    Not sure I would spend that kind of money again, but we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to park clear out past the tennis courts every night, yet still having to pay a $15 nightly fee. 😡 Also there were prime parking spaces that were always blocked off.

    The view, the beach, and the sound of the waves hitting the beach at night! The ease of being able to rent beach items (beach chairs, beach umbrellas, paddle boards, boogie boards) from the hotel less than 50 yards from the beach. Beach access was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aloha Saver Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    front office staff didn't seem to have received our request for two beds, so 1st night not as expected but they moved us and second room was great.

    restaurant is good for lunch (wonderful salad w/ fish dishes); breakfast and dinner a bit over-priced compared to local alternatives. beach area wonderful;I would definitely go there again just for that

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    7.1
    OK. Should have a shuttle of your own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No room service. Breakfast buffet limited. Breakfast hours shouldn't end at 10. Some people like to sleep in.

    Lighting was terrible in Bathroom, ceiling in bathroom peeling Needs to be upgraded for the price we paid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    10
    Perfect place for relaxing and spend time with your family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast Should serve little longer

    Everything. Location, free transportation between resorts, gym is nice, beach is perfect, hauses are beautiful. This resort should update the pictures on booking sites because these pictures are not so good quality as the reality and gives you not so perfect overviuw whats really waiting you here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    6.7
    Convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aloha Saver Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had ants. In our bathroom and our room. We couldn't leave any food out, or they would be swarming it by morning. We had a 4 person room but only 3 chairs available on our lanai. The beds are terribly uncomfortable and the pillows are even worse! Very basic room considering the price you pay.

    Convenience. Easy drive [with rental car] from resort to all attractions we wanted to see. Staff very friendly. Food at hotel restaurant very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pools were very cold, colder than the ocean. It would have been nice to swim in a warm pool especially since the ocean was to dangerous to swim in during our stay. The air conditioner in our cottage could have been stronger!

    It was beautiful and well tended! I appreciate how friendly most of the staff was. It was a good walking distance from most coffee shops, which I loved because I really earned my breakfast and coffee in the morning. I ate breakfast one morning at the resort restaurant, and it was amazing to see Molokai appear out of the darkness as the sun rose. It was definitely a quieter location, if you want to be more removed from the hustle and bustle of the other resorts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.9
    Overall great vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Aloha Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked a chair to sit in to watch TV with a little table to eat.

    Size of room was great. Shower was nice with good water pressure. Trolley and shuttle to shopping was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location, stunning beach with easy access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed not super comfy, left with a sore back even after a massage. Water very chlorinated, not able to drink straight from the tap due to the chlorine smell and taste. Check-in not until 4pm, this is a pretty inconvenient check-in time. Although they did hold bags and allow use of facilities while waiting. We requested a king bed room (for our honeymoon), but we were given a room with 2 doubles with no rooms available to change to.

    Beautiful location, stunning beach with easy access. 3 pools and 2 spas with plenty of space for everyone. Luau had a delicious buffet dinner and great entertainment, would recommend anyone who visits to go to the luau. Close to shops and other resorts/hotels, so even though the resort only had one restaurant there were plenty in close walk in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    7.1
    Just okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aloha Partial Ocean View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As soon as we got there We were hit with a $200 dlls cleaning service fee and a deposit of another $300 . my total bill when i arrived was $1200. Making it a bad start. I will not stay there again. To top it all off we were moved on our 4th day to another room but the maid service kept knocking our door for 3 mornings in a row saying we supposed to be out of that room . so i kept telling her to ask her manager. This made it very uncomfortable to be awaken esrly 3 days in a Row!!

    The nachos where super yummy . the korean bbq chicken wings were Heavenly!!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Royal Lahaina Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: