Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. San Francisco hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of San Francisco Proper Hotel

Reviews of San Francisco Proper Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1100 Market Street, Entrance at 45 McAllister, San Francisco, CA 94102, United States of America

#52 of 270 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    9.6
    Modern and Chic with great technology, a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The issue isn’t with the property it’s with the overwhelming homeless people and issue with crime, the Proper is fantastic and a sanctuary amongst a city that has changed so much

    Modern and Chic with great technology, a great hotel

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    9.6
    Great hotel and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved my room and bathroom but the room is small! Maybe for you europeans, you’re used to it but it’s def much much smaller than other hotel rooms I’ve been in in the US.

    While the hotel itself is old, the inside has been redo to a modern eclectic look. The staff and fantastic and were really attentive to the needs of the guests. I got a few text messages asking if I needed anything while I stayed there.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    6.3
    Really liked the decor in reception and the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was funky but a little cramped and dark. Would have been nice to have coffee facility in the rooms. I found the automated customer services text messages a bit much - but I am not a fan of automated customer service (prefer the personal approach). Considering the area the hotel is located, i think, on balance, that the hotel is a little pricey.

    Really liked the decor in reception and the hotel. The staff were very friendly at all times and great with room service (we requested water and tea). The room was really well designed and funky (we had the bunk bed rooms).

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    7.9
    Fabulous hotel, the roof top bar is a must - be wary of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Such a shame that this hotel is situated in an area that is very heavily populated with homeless. It did make the area seem a little aggressive at times, and we did feel slightly uncomfortable.

    Fabulous hotel, slightly quirky, brilliant staff and amazing roof top bar. Room was on the small side, but super comfortable and the shower great!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    6.7
    Good location, beautiful art and decor, small room and poor communication between staff members.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inconsistent or nonexistent service through the app which was advertised as a selling point for the hotel. Repeated poor or extremely slow service at hotel dining areas.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    10
    Exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent stay. The concierge team - especially Damarco and Aaron were incredible. Very knowledgeable. Their advice on restaurants was outstanding.Jason at the Villon Bar, made us the best cocktail we’ve had in a long time.We will definitely use this as a future base in San Francisco.Highly recommended. Thankyou.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    10
    Perfect & Proper
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was honestly nothing that we found fault with. We didn't make use of all the facilities, though, but we had everything that we required.

    We enjoyed our stay at The San Francisco Proper Hotel immensely. Not only did it have all the requirements we needed for our business trip, but it also allowed us to enjoy the personal time we had. Everything was fantastic and we honestly wanted for nothing. Nothing but good things to say about this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    8.8
    Interier and design of the hotel is amazing and great food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Market street in front od the hotel was full of homeless and strange people all the time. Not comfortable area in SF.

    Interier and design of the hotel is amazing and great food in a hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    8.3
    Amazing design in a bad location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is horrible. Streets of SF are not great for walking in general but the area around the hotel is particularly bad.

    This hotel is a gem when it comes to interior design. Both rooms and common areas are spectacular. Also, in house restaurants offer delicious food and quality drinks. It is worth giving them a go before venturing out.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    5.8
    Hotel was new.
    • Couple
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    SERIOUSLY SKETCHY AREA. Ok if you ONLY cab to and from the property. Do not walk around. Def will not stay there again. They should warn guests about it too.

    Hotel was new. Probably only way they can get people to stay there given the area.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    5.8
    Overpriced for what you get. Location should be a serious concern for many.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    I still have no idea what the total bill was. Staff didn't ask about my staff. Room doors are setup to slam hard and on the weekends its a party hotel, with constant coming and going through to 5am. The menu isn't appealing for long term travels. Not tea and coffee facilities in the hotel - you have to go to a cafe, explain you are a guest to get a free coffee (not tea). If you want it in your room in the morning thats 10 USD. Generally speaking the costs are also ridiculous, 7 USD for a Coke in the room. Basic robes are also something astronomical. The location is also insane - they really should mention this at checkin. Drug use, people throwing firecrackers. I have sympathy with the hotel staff, they manage to keep there block sane, but just across the road in any direction feels unwelcoming.

    The bed was comfy and the room cleaned well each day. I also really liked that the staff made up the bed, but didn't put the massive duvet back on, which I had removed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    9.2
    Nice design in lobby and throughout the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Area around the hotel is just okay, missed a few items in our breakfast order (though the staff brought it over quickly once we found the problem)

    Nice design in lobby and throughout the hotel. Really liked that they let you get onto the roof deck bar easily - that is a huge plus. The drinks up there are wonderful and great vibe. The room was small but good for a short stay, good design and nice products.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    3.8
    There is nothing PROPER about the Proper Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    4. If you are surprised about the 7.50 wake up call from housekeeping, their second attempt will be at 9.30. This time, they will not bother knocking but will just swing the door open and stare at you but naked saying im rorry i forgot to know, and after you yell get out (a logical response) will then carry on standing and staring at you, again butt naked, trying to explain that she thought you had left. 5. If you call the front desk about this they will respond with “i am sorry i will talk to housekeeping about it”, because that is exactly what you, as a person who feels violated think is a sufficient response. 6. After all that, do not attempt to grab a bite at their Villon restaurant. Because after entering a completely empty dining room and waiting for someone to appear for 15 minutes, they will, but it doesnt mean they will even say hello, but will just carry on with their day as if you were not there. After you stare at them the will aknowledge you in the end, and you will get an uninterested “hi”. It even prompted me to as if they were closed. Aparently they werent. You will amuse yourself with watching a server sigh and swear quaetly as he looks for a menu, bring you a dinner one and then disapper for 5 mins to get the rivht one. You will the wait 10 min for terrible cappucino and tea and be informed that they are only serving snacks for the next 15 min before lunch starts. And there is no way they can take an order from the lunch menu now (suggestion that they take the order now but start cooking once the kitchen is ready buffles them). So chose to not even attempt eating 7. And if you want to talk to a hotel manager about your issues - is is out and you will be given his card so YOU can contact him to discuss your wornerful stay. But at check out all they will offer is to comp you $10 coffee (though the night before they did tell you they were giving you $50 restaurant credit because of the situation with your stay).

    Kelly Wearstler’s design. Thats it. There is nothing else that is good at that hotel What i did not like? Well... 1. They misinformed me prior to my arrival that they would be able to charge my Tesla vehicle overnight. They could not, they apologized for misinforming me. I had to try and find a charger, which in the end was at Hilton which ended up not working properly so i was still faced with the issue of empty battery the next morning (thank god local tesla service was accomodating and charged it for me in the morning). Hotel did pay for my taxi to the parking lot. However this is a horrible neighbourhood with tons of homeless people so its a very unpleasant thkng to have to go to a parking lot at 10 at night. 2. Service at the Charmaine bar is relaxed to say the least. Dont try their Churros! They are horrificly salty. My and my friends mouth burned for a half hour. I think they the person making them literally mixed up the salt and pepper jars. But according to the manager, who, with a soft smile informed me that i just “didnt understand the taste” 3. If you like being woken up at 7.50 am by house-keeping knocking at your door - this is you hotel! Because that is what you get.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.6
    Room and hotel decor were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in room was poor.

    Room and hotel decor were amazing! Robes, sheets, etc were soft. Everything was so clean. The staff was super friendly! The food and drinks at the hotel bar and restaurant were excellent!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    10
    The location was near the shopping areas and the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You may have read about the area but don’t let that put you off. As long as you are open minded then you’ll be fine.

    The location was near the shopping areas and the hotel was beautifully decorated. The hotel has major bus & train lines at its door step. Do not be turned off by the colourful area as it was an eye opener and it was great to show my kids how others live. My teenage boys found it very interesting & funny at times. The staff were great!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    4.2
    Terrible. Couldn't wait to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (1) Terrible location. The worst in SF. Unsafe. (2) False advertising. Bait and switch. The photos made in look like it was located in North Beach, not the Tenderloin. (3) Incredibly overpriced.

    Not much.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    5.8
    Had to request a laundry bag and the staff failed to pick up...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to request a laundry bag and the staff failed to pick up the bag from the room. Front desk staff wasn’t especially helpful or apologetic and left me scrambling to have my clothes washed elsewhere.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    5.4
    Cool hotel but a dangerous area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is WAY too expensive for where its located. Its in the worst, most dangerous neighborhood in San Francisco. They charge $400+ a night and they dont even include parking. This place should be much cheaper until the area its in gets gentrified. Its such a sketchy area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.3
    A Holiday Staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could have been a lot friendlier. It seemed like when we were asking them anything they were inconvenienced. The same with calling to check on room service. We were happy to pay more for the design and the space but the service is deeply lacking.

    The design of the hotel is stunning. You really forget that you are deep in the heart of Civic Center, SF. Taking a drink in the lobby is beautiful, the hotel room was cozy, and the Aesop products smell great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    Out of this world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I do not like is the location near the tenderloin of San Francisco.

    The decor is amazing here. It’s a very Unique and special place. The restaurant here on site is great and the food was very memorable. I would definitely come back

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel appears bigger on the website, my room was very small. The surrounding area was very bad and we had to get a taxi too a lot of places especially at night. Very expensive food and drink.

    I thought the hotel looked fantastic, the bed was incredibly comfortable and I loved the aesop products in the shower! Coffee in the morning was exceptional and door staff were very helpful and inviting

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    10
    The eclectic decorations in the lobby were beautiful, it was...
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked the bunk bed room for 1 night before checking into our corporate apt stay. The bunk bed itself was an awesome concept and comfortable with 2 tvs, however the room itself felt cramped. Fine for 1 night though.

    The eclectic decorations in the lobby were beautiful, it was very relaxing knocking out some work there. The staff all across the board were lovely, especially Ron who gave us friendly recommendations and helped us into all of our uber rides. The rooftop bar was lovely with stunning views, highly recommend going up for just 1 drink if nothing else to check the skyline.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and cozy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is at the border of Tenderloin area and it’s a little sketchy area. The nearest BART in Civic Center is pretty sketchy, so I won’t suggest you to use that. But instead get a Lyft or Uber to take you somewhere.

    They have a heater and AC in the rooms. The bed was pretty comfortable and clean. The whole room was clean. The bathroom was clean and the shower was amazing. I loved the minibar which made it convenient for those middle of the night snacking. The TV was great because you can connect Netflix or Hulu via chrome cast and watch your fav shows. I ordered room service and the food was amazing. It was definitely a very nice, warm and comfortable hotel. I’d love to call this place my new home away from home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.9
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite rooms being awesome I felt, for the price they fell a bit flat. We had a jr suite, lots of empty space and no rug or carpeting so the room echoes. It would have been nice to have a desk or some other furniture to compliment the space. Over all, very minor negatives.

    Location is good. The rooms are pretty awesome. You can barely hear any street noise, which is impressive given what goes on down below. The roof top bar/ patio is worth the stay alone!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.9
    Prefect place for our wedding the hotel was close to city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Prefect place for our wedding the hotel was close to city and perfect token of congratulations then after. We even got to meet the mayor. Newly renovated place is supper comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel great too expensive considering the area it’s situated in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too small. The area the hotel was situated in wasn’t good due the stink of urine in the street from the homeless. Didn’t feel safe at night or wondering off Market St. San Francisco has changed since our last visit. Unless the state does something about the homeless then it will be a real turn off for tourists. We won’t be back to San Francisco. Donald Trump needs to contribute some of his personal billions into a social security system that is better suited to help the underprivileged in the US.

    Loved the overall feel of the hotel. Restaurant excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel ever
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only complaint is its location, in a not so desirable part of town, but would stay again

    Every facility that the property offered was done to a high standard, from the theme, to food, rooms & roof top bar. Restaurants normally are just a service that needs to be provided in a hotel, but the food here was sublime. Highly recommend the proper hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful boutique hotel in a dodgy neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The neighborhood was dodgy - a lot of homeless people around the hotel.

    Wonderful boutique hotel in a short walking distance from Union square. Everything was nice and clean. Loved the quirky design of the hotel and the room I stayed in. The room itself was comfortable and spacious, the bathroom small but very functional. Great rooftop bar!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    We LOVED our stay at the Proper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We LOVED our stay at the Proper. The hotel is meticulously designed down to every detail, and the staff are extremely helpful and courteous. The rooftop bar is spectacular and the lobby restaurant is lovely. This is a great hotel for younger travellers looking to have a luxurious but hip vacation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    5.8
    beautifully decorated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    i was expecting more. they have an app which purports to have electronic door key for the room but it isn't in use and the front desk doesn't know about it. the housekeeper left dirty glasses during one of the nights stay. i left my charger in the room and it wasn't recovered and frankly they were quite rude about it. they have a text method for concierge requests but it's faster to call the front desk. the staff is new, needs more training. the location is not at all safe.

    beautifully decorated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    8.8
    The rooftop is great - great view, great cocktails.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Immediate surroundings aren’t the best (but fairly standard in San Francisco).

    The rooftop is great - great view, great cocktails. Rooms are small but stylish. Bathroom amenities are fab (Aesop). Well located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.8
    Crazy, Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area the hotel is in is a bit dodgy, lots of homeless people, not a great place to walk at night, the hotel should probably tell the guests that.

    A stunning hotel, awesome bars and the beds felt like you're sleeping on clouds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    You gotta stay here ! It’s amazing ! We can’t wait to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hmm... the lifts are very dark?? No honestly wouldn’t change a thing

    The design of this place is stunning ! Staff is great! Ask for Albert in the downstairs restaurant! He’s great! Also they gave us loads of tips and places to see , even after we left! We came back the day after check out to have their great coffee ! Also the rooftop bar! Stunning!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.2
    Amazingly helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Area feels very unsafe. But hotel is like a little Oasis in that area. Feel very secure once inside.

    Amazingly helpful and friendly staff. Super clean. Amazing facilities.mjuat a five minute walk to a very nice area. CVS pharmacy two mins away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    8.8
    The brunch at the restaurant was delicious, and the deco...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were quite noisy, and the crowd at the rooftop terrace rather rude.

    The brunch at the restaurant was delicious, and the deco throughout the hotel inspirational.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    7.9
    great building with lovely decorated places, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only reason we would never again book there is the surrounding area, where it is full of drug addicted homeless people who are injecting drugs the whole day. We felt so scared, specially after one was running after us with his needle. Very sad and pitful how they have to live in such a beautiful city

    great building with lovely decorated places, friendly staff including a good restaurant & bar. The rooms are really nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel- inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location Not very safe to walk around Very crowded Saturday night. A lot of people staying on line around the hotel, to enter the roof bar

    The combination of colors The size of the suite The restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.6
    one of my favorite hotels in San Francisco - THE PROPER experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location since it is on the border of the tenderloin can be a little gritty but there are people around you at all times so I felt safe.

    The staff went above and beyond to make me feel welcome, their level of service and attention to detail exceeded my expectations. Explore the whole property, Charmaine’s (their rooftop bar) is stunning but so are the restaurants that encompass the entire hotel. I had a really great dinner and cocktail at La Bande. So be sure to explore :) Also do yourself a favor and do breakfast in bed, I can’t remember when I’ve had a more delicious start to the day. Very generous portions and an experience in itself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.3
    Stylish and pleasant but in a dirty neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator and hallways are ridiculously dark. The location is not a pleasant one, lots of crack addicts outside and not much interesting stuff (IMO) in the immediate surroundings.

    However dark, the interior is stylish. The staff are very nice and attentive. The place is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully appointed rooms, very clean and updated IT...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location a bit sketchy but in a turnaround neighborhood and within walking distance to Union Square and other centrally located places

    Beautifully appointed rooms, very clean and updated IT infrastructure, ie VOIP phones, etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.6
    Modern, beautiful and a delight to stay at the Proper Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is located in an area that is going through renewal but could be a little daunting to international travellers.

    Loved the hotel interior, our rooms were excellent and very soundproof, the lounge and dining area were gorgeous and the food was exceptional. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    loved the tablet in the room and the beautiful Aesop...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room was a little dark - good for atmosphere but also hard to see sometimes in the bathroom and for working purposes

    loved the tablet in the room and the beautiful Aesop products - great options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous place to rest after an awesome day in SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is sketchy but just be aware of your surroundings and you're good to go! Plus there are many ways around that: grabbing an Uber/Lyft/taxi, walking via Market St instead of small side streets, etc.

    Beautiful hotel, amazing room, super fun staff. Beds are super cozy and the bathroom and amenities provided were awesome! I love the eclectic decor and it was an easy spot to just jump into a car and head over to North Beach or SOMA.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    4.2
    the paid breakfast in the restaurant was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small....really small for two ppl. the design of glass door in bath place is terrible. there is no door could keep off the water spread out.

    the paid breakfast in the restaurant was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel I have stayed at in San Francisco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant downstairs was a little overpriced for not alot of options, but that is the only tiny complaint I have.

    This was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Check in was quick and easy. The staff were all super friendly and helpful. The room amenities were high quality, all for an affordable price! We also loved the rooftop bar! We live in Oakland so will definitely come back to this hotel whenever we stay over in SF!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.5
    My one night stay extension in San Francisco saved by this Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At night, there are many poor homeless sleep on the street near the hotel. But I understand that this is city's problem instead of hotel's.

    I like this hotel because it's worth value for money and it is located in center of city and near BART line.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    SF vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is fine, just not the same level as everything else.

    Very stylish space with great facilities, friendly staff, comfortable and thoughtful rooms and some small bonuses like wireless speaker.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    We glided in and out with ease. Enjoyed an afternoon/evening at nearby SFMOMA, dined nearby, fun!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs better elevator lighting and more room plugs.

    Great location by BART and near museums. Good food. Awesome decor and vibe. Supèr bar. Wonderful bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    Wonderful original decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The immediate area around the hotel.

    Loved the style of the interiors. Very well done. Staff were polite and very helpful. Impressed with Aesop toiletries... all in all a great hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.5
    Funky boutique hotel with comfy rooms, friendly staff, great restaurant and fabulous rooftop bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room not serviced properly throughout stay - e.g. Water bottles not replaced. My friend (in a different room) had better housekeeping service. When I mentioned this to someone on the front desk they joked that perhaps housekeeping 'liked my friend more'! Bad joke. Mixed service at front desk - but mostly good. Both managers during my stay were very good and one actually diffused tension on my last day resulting from the bad joke and some charge mix ups.

    Great design and managers and most staff were great - friendly and helpful. Plus the rooftop bar Charmaine's is fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    Killer service, great looking rooms, and the attention to detail is on point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful remodel of an old hotel into a boutique hotel. My wife loved it. The neighborhood is tough. That's not the hotel's fault, but you're not walking the streets around it. Rooftop bar and restaurant in lobby are great. Rooms are a little tight, but they made up for it with the decor and ambiance. Everything is brand new and high end quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    The decor is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is tricky to get to and in a rough area. The hotel seems to be new and could push customer service a little more with some of the staff. The floor of our room was a bit dirty around the beds.

    The decor is awesome! Our room was quiet, comfortable, and well appointed. The restaurant, Villon, serves great food and you can eat/drink in the lobby with full service. The valet allowed us to pay once with in/out priveledges which is great because it was not cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are quite good bluetooth speakers in the room. Few nights could hear other people's music – didn't really stop me falling aleep tho. Would be quite nice to be actually able to open the room windows form some fresh air.

    Very conviniently located new hotel. Staff is young, attentive and relaxed. Stayed here for business and really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    5.0
    Scary neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee in the room. Lots of hiccups at restaurant. Scary neighborhood. Expensive valet parking with long waiting times when you need your car, with no reasonable alternatives.

    View from the roof top bar. Friendly staff (but lack of follow through). The room was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely girls weekend at amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Such a beautiful hotel! Staff was so friendly, food at restaurant was delicious. Beds are soooo comfy. It’s slightly on the edge of a sketchy part of town, but hopefully this hotel helps change the neighborhood around and it’s close to union square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.9
    Shows great promise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk service mixed (aside from managers who were both v good) all nice but some not well informed of hotel practices and tourist tips. Mixed messages, some inaccurate info. Minor gripes about room - shampoo etc don't fit into shower recess so bizarrely hard to access. Comp water bottles not replaced daily - seriously!? And room not fully cleaned on last day. Yes I didn't leave it till about 1pm but neither did my friend- a male, while I'm a female. The European man in checked suit at front desk suggested that maybe "they (housekeeping) liked my (male) friend more" so looked after him better. Hmmm I'm confused!? Both about why they favoured him and why the Proper housekeeping staff are allowed to discriminate based on personal like/dislike. A very odd response from your front desk member on 24.4.18. I'm an Aussie so have a sense of humour but thought that was a weird joke given that I was clearly not happy about my treatment.

    Very chic hotel, friendly service, managers were very good, restaurant and rooftop bar top notch, comfy beds and well appointed with lux bathroom Aesop products and good mini bar. The main downer was the fact that front desk staff member were confused about a number of aspects of hotel policy including simple things like items on the bill, and mini bar charges. The situation was well handled by the manager on the morning of April 23 2018 but unnecessary stressful, time consuming. The people operating below manager level seemed unable to explain or resolve simple issues. A shame given the fact that other staff members are knowledgeable and good communicaters. I think the Proper is great overall- while the fact that about 70 percent of your staff are great - if you could get that up yo 80-90 percent you will definitely get more business, and be able to increase your rates, despite being in a pretty dodgy neighborhood:) good luck! You are on your way :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    5.8
    Nice design but needs to work on service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could have been more welcoming and engaging.

    The area really isn't that great so take care if arriving at night. The staff shared very little about the property on check in and it was actually someone I met on my trip who told me about their very popular rooftop bar. The room was more like a pod-hotel than a boutique hotel but nice enough. Super comfy bed and great bathroom amenities (Aesop).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    Very cool place to stay in San Francisco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great [just a 10 minute walk from Union Square] but the area the hotel is in still needs 'developing' ...

    The hotel is very cool and has a young/fresh feel to it. The staff is extra helpful. The roof top bar is amazing!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.5
    Unique boutique hotel with loads of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m really glad we checked this hotel out but it’s in a very seedy part of town. I’ve lived in multiple cities before so I’m comfortable in this environment when I need to be- that being said I’d prefer not to walk out of the hotel and be on guard all the time.

    The bed was awesome and the employees were all very nice. The gym was great. The rooms were definitely on the smaller side and complimentary coffee only is from 4-7am- which seems ridiculous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    5.0
    When we got there the staff took our bags and told us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we got there the staff took our bags and told us to come back at 3. By the time we got back, which was only an hour, we were told our room had been given away and there were no other rooms available. Booking.com had said it was pay on arrival but the hotel had tried to take money from the account before we had even checked in. The staff were going to leave us to go and find a new hotel on our own. After asking to speak to a manager they were able to give us a room - seems bizarre. After all that the rooms were tiny and for 3 sharing it was a squeeze. Hotel was nice but didn’t have a good experience with them at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.5
    European-sized, very quiet, very clean room in a very expensive hipster hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small and lacks adequate work space for a business traveler. I would call the size "European" sized, and definitely not American business hotel-sized. The price is a bit steep for what you get, but that might be because this is San Francisco. The restaurant is under-sized and extremely expensive (again, this might be because this is San Francisco). The atmosphere is a bit too "hipster" for a business traveler.

    New hotel in a nicely renovated older building. While the downstairs is VERY loud, the rooms are actually very quiet. Immaculately clean, too. The mattress on the bed leaned to one-side, but nevertheless was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.5
    they bit off more than they can chew and are unapologetic about it. won’t go back.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    extremely pretentious staff. a lot of miscommunications nobody knows what’s going on there. nobody takes responsibility or apologizes for anything. way too much attitude. EXTREMELY expensive food and drinks.

    beautiful decor. amazing food and drinks. great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Local area isn’t the prettiest, especially after dark. Hopefully SF has a plan in place to sort that out soon.

    Excellent facilities and very friendly staff. Little tablets to order room service or cleaning services are brilliant, aesop toiletries outstanding. Only remark is that in a room with 2 beds you don’t actually get 2 full size double beds, they are more of a 2x 1,5 single bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you can gather from the above

    Once you were checked-in there wasn't much attention paid to you. It was as if nobody in the hotel knew you were there. Also, the area the hotel is in, that corner and across the street, is junkie zombie land. Very scary. The hotel offers zero advice to guests on how to navigate the area. No advice at all. No tips. No recommendations. It's like they are in denial about where they are.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.2
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking too expensive. Limited access to rooftop for bringing a teenager up for the "view" (just 12p-3p which is after checkout time).very disappointing.

    Very clean.staff attentive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Prefect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inside was great. Neighborhood needs work. Many homeless, drug addicts, and drug sales in block. But a couple blocks walking will get you out of the neighborhood, but we chose to use Uber most of the time rather than walking.

    Quiet. New decor and nicely decorated. Helpful Staff. Great bed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was short and sweet! Beautiful and comfortable decor! Will definitely recommend to friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The loitering outside by the homeless and shady people. Walking back from Ross, like 2-3 blocks away, My boyfriend and I both felt vulnerable walking back to the hotel and I trained in martial arts for 3 yrs! Oh and I’m a super picky eater, we didn’t eat there for the simple reason that there wasn’t anything appealing to me.

    I loved the modern retro decor and feel of this hotel! The bedding felt like we were sleeping on clouds! It did cost more than we wanted to spend and if you are able to ignore the amount of homeless that approach you outside, then this place is worth every penny!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    9.6
    A cool hip option for an evening in SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls could use more sound proofing. I could hear a child crying in the morning pretty clearly.

    The Proper Hotel has a cool vibe and being close to City Hall, Hayes Valley and Union Square is a huge advantage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    5.0
    A beautiful refurbished building and chic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude front desk as she lost her patience when I had to ask her to enable my door card. It failed several times and imagine my disappointment when I arrived the door of the room to find out the card doesn't work. Stepped out of the room and wanted to quickly get in to grab something but oops the card no longer works. Happens 3 times over 24 hours period. Arrived the hotel at night to receive a surprise in the bathroom. There's a lingerie hanging on the bathroom door. I don't think it's a welcome gift. More likely it wasnt spotted when the room was being cleaned or someone decided to use the room before we got in.

    The design is chic and of course the amenities by Aesop.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful. Wish the location was better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighborhood is not great. Hopefully in the coming years this will improve.

    Loved the bed. The restaurant and lobby setting were perfect and the breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    San Francisco Reborn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the tenderloin is being reborn with new restaurants and bars, there is still a lot of street life that can be intimidating and scary at night.

    This is an amazing hotel. I live in the East Bay and wanted to spend a fun night in the city, and this hotel was beyond expectation. Every nook and cranny shows attention to detail and interest in restoring the elegance of the old bones of this building. The restaurants and amenities reinforce this same vibe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    7.1
    Staff great , cool vibe hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location Did not realize it was in Tenderloin Too many homeless

    Staff great , cool vibe hotel

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    7.5
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location. Very dodgy area

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    10
    Beds, Design, serviceorientation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sorrounding

    Beds, Design, serviceorientation

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    8.8
    Nicely decorated rooms, great facilities and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not included and quite expensive

    Nicely decorated rooms, great facilities and very nice staff. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!