Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Empire Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

44 West 63rd Street, Upper West Side, New York City, NY 10023, United States of America

#365 of 415 hotels in New York City

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3376 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    7.9
    Good value by New York standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are typical New York - small. Nowhere to put your bags and the bathroom are hard to manovere - esp as a couple. Having said that, they are lovely and modern. Very clean. No free WiFi in the rooms - only lobby and pool area. Air Conditioners in the room need an upgrade. We weren't very comfortable at night. We slept without a blanket.

    Sophie on the front desk. She was particularly helpful and kind. Located close to Central Park and the subway. About a 10-15 minute walk to Times Square. Lobby is beautiful and plenty of space to sit and relax. Upstairs bar and pool were gorgeous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.3
    Nicer than many. Grate location and vibe, but in need of a good vacuum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an overall grittiness to the hotel. Carpets were not vacuumed in the halls or in the elevator. Many fixtures in the room were cracked and broken, though most were still functional. It just needed a little better upkeep.

    The hotel had an upscale feel with a beautiful rooftop view. The shades in the rooms were excellent at blocking light, and the whole hotel had a dark color scape that made sleeping in a bit easier (I tend to wake up with the sun).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great location , clean accommodations and friendly helpful staff all made for an amazing trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing bad to say...

    Large king suite. Comfy bed and great view of Lincoln Centre! Rooftop bar was amazing and the staff were all professional and friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, good location, fab staff, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view from the room, looked out onto aircon units & the wall of the other side of the building. This let very little light into the room & so it was always a bit dark.

    Staff couldn't have been more pleasant & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    6.3
    Appearance and location is superb but underneath the hotel needs work with their service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of air con- very poor air conditioning unit which barely blew any air out and when it did it was warm Rooms were small for price 4.00 for Fiji water- at price of room would expect atleast a free bottle of water More attentive staff in restaurant/bar area upstairs- no acknowledgement off then or help

    Location, price for area was good, roof top area is beautiful for views- door men very helpful friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.7
    Great location with moderate comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Low 3 stars. Given we paid a reasonable price, but beds, washroom, air conditioning were 15 ish years old. We stayed in summer and AC could bring temperatures down maybe 5 degrees if even...

    The hotel is in an amazing prime location, but our room was not great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.9
    Good location, some rooms shouldn't be for rental
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First night we had the room on firts floor with the ciew to Air condition . It was loud and we hardl sleep. No mini bar avaliable, no hair dryer... like aomebody forgot abot this room

    The staff find us better room for next nights. So we spent another nights in nice room with the street view. Nice top roof bar, pool is small (not foe swimmimg). Excellent location in good neighbourhood

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    The staff was friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was practically non-existent. The bathroom was small with no counter space.

    The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and presentable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    hotel with one star less
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) very loud - single windows from street side (on 7th floor), you hear cars and air-co ventilators from street whole night 2) out-of-order air-co in allocated room - we asked for repair and get another room with working air-co 3) room a bit too small, 4) bathroom with small sink useful only for tooth cleaning, shower covered with half-size glass did not block the water from sprinkling around, no space in fridge - it was filled fully with a lot of drinks and beverages (very expensive) 5) swimming pool on top floor was not what we expected, good for just 2 persons, size ca. 3x5m

    good location, close to Central Park, metro, opera and cinemas

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Photos of pool were very deceptive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Photos of pool were very deceptive The pool is tiny Barley large enough to actually swim in Not only that but it is fully shaded thus the water was absolutely freezing despite very high air temperature

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    throughly enjoyable excellent hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    great hotel, the air con broke twice but once we reported it it was fixed straight away. The roof top bar is amazing although the pool was not very big. I would definitely go back again and would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    Was close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the property it’s self but we had a room facing the elevators which proved to be quite noisey at times.

    Was close to everything! Staff were friendly would probably stay again based on location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    3.8
    Location BUT was not worth it considering all the issues we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Room not ready upon check in, no one could tell us how long we would have to wait (ended up being able to check in one hour later) - Room was DIRTY when we checked in. There was a NEW and WET coffee stain on the floor. We tried to call down to have this clean but after five tries we gave up as no one would answer - Bathroom is tiny, can barely fit in there. - Draws in the room will not stay closed - TV constantly gets “no signal” - People are the front desk are SO SLOW with any kind of request - Key card constantly stopped working - Wifi did NOT work our entire stay. We were told by front desk staff that “some rooms are just black holes” and we were just “unlucky”. This is NOT good enough as we paid the same as everyone else but we’re able to have any access to wifi. We tried calling the tech support number they gave us. Spent nearly an hour on the phone to be told the wifi just won’t work in our room. On check out they tried to CHARGE US for this call even though we were trying to fix THEIR mistake. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! There are hostels better than this place. I have never had so many issues at a hotel and would NEVER even considering staying here again.

    Location BUT was not worth it considering all the issues we had. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.4
    View from room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was terrible. Pool was tiny. Check in took too long. We weren't notified when our room was ready.

    View from room was nice. Room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, few hiccups
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in process was long (slow systems), firstly got a room with no working A/C during heatwave. Offered an upgrade to a suite the following day but was moved to another room that was slightly larger but had awful view, was extremely dark and dodgy door lock. Advised it was not acceptable as it was worse than original room and had been offered a suite. After 30 mins of messing around the suite was organized for us. Happy with suite but it’s dosappointing that i needed to wrestle with staff to get something that was actually offered to me. Staff friendly and apologetic. The hotel seems disorganized as a whole sadly.

    The location, the style of the lobby, the shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.4
    Great location right by Lincoln Center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was loud and dark, the sheets were stained and the shower drain was clogged. A vacuum cleaner was left outside our door for the duration of our stay.

    Great location right by Lincoln Center. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.9
    Location, and the nice rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In my room the cold water faucet was really slow and we needed cold water because New York in summer is really hot. The a/c was not cold enough and I hated that.

    I loved the rooftop with the beautiful view. Location is great, just steps to Central Park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.0
    Out dated. Terrible pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool is wayy to small and drinks are about double the price they should be. They close the pool way to early as well. Rooms are tiny. Bathrooms are tiny. Sink couldn’t even fit my had under without touching the faucet or the bottom of the sink. Booked because the pool wasn’t able to use nor did I want to because it was a foot bath that was always packed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.0
    Close to Lincoln Center
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom shower head had black mold clogging the spouts and their was no hot water. Furthermore the grout in the tub had black mold built growth embedded into the caulking around the tub. The couches in our room had white stains on them which had the appearance of human body fluid. There was dust certain areas of the room and the hotel that also made me feel as though it was unkept.

    Close to Lincoln Center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location and good last minute price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some stuff were rude and they hardly wanted to accept cash when my card did not work but it was all settled finally after a lot of discussions.

    The location and the facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Great location! Fun hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no room service, when we needed plates for a birthday cake, they didn't have any. (seemed odd) There was no ice machine, and my sink was too small to fill my little bitty water bottle. I was also concerned about the bathroom, there was no door on the shower and water got everywhere, it was ruining the door, and the floor in the bathroom.

    This was my second stay at the Empire, I really enjoyed the location. It was perfect! We were taking a class at Columbia, we were able to walk there in the AM and take the train straight back in the PM. For the most part the staff was very helpful, housekeeping, doorman, front desk, the service at the pool was very attentive all for but one visit. I will for sure stay here again! The little pool was perfect to cool off on super hot days. The bar on the level below the pool deck had fun drinks I really liked the Paloma! Views from both the bar and the pool deck were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    The vanishing of an Empire
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Run-down place that needs urgently a face-lift. Room was okay, but seemed filthy. Sad, it would be a great hotel if the owner would invest a couple of millions.

    The bar at the entrace looks great. Location is superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    Great time in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no room service.

    The location was PERFECT!!! We were able to walk everywhere. Subway was right across the street, park super close, shopping, entertainment, all within walking distance. We enjoyed the itty bitty pool when it got too hot in the city to walk around. The bed was comfortable and housekeeping did a great job of getting us everything we needed and kept the room super clean really quick turn around time. I would totally stay here again when coming to NYC with friends or family!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    My choice for NYC stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More on property food & beverage choices would be nice - but then again lots of options literally across the street.

    The Empire Hotel is a great choice for an NYC visit. Across from Lincoln Centre, a short walk to Time Warner Centre and Broadway, a couple of blocks from Central Park - hard to find a better location. Staff are friendly and helpful, great pool deck 11 floors above Broadway, cozy rooms, a definite winner!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    2.5
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Terrible hotel. Would not recommend staying here at all cost. Misinformed me regarding room and stuck me in small room that was dark dirty and had a view similar to what you’d expect in a jail cell.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    5.4
    I like that i had to stay only for 1 day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was not patient its the first place on nyc that the people doesnt try to speak to me in spanish, not that they should but they didnt seem to care. The rooftop was closed for a private party and shut us down.. i really dont like to ve treated like that in a hotel i have a reservation for. Ive stayed 1 night, the price was 157 usd and they charged me another 150 usd for occassional damage to the property..In the new hotel im now its just 20usd per night and it makes more sense even though its more expensive

    I like that i had to stay only for 1 day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.3
    Really great location for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temperature was hard to control. Room was very small, although comfortable enough for one person.

    Stylish decor both in lobby and rooms. Fantastic location on the upper west side, right across for Lincoln Center. Nice coffee machines in the room. The other amenities in the room were nice as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    5.8
    I stay there for the proximity to lincoln center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you can't control the room temp, AC was freezing. we asked for a blanket and they gave us a comforter and handed us the wrinkled duvet cover to do ourselves. there was no in room safe, mini bar, there was a coffee machine but no coffee or cups. there was a beat up old fridge in the middle of the floor.

    only the location, sheets were clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room itself lacked lighting - only 2 lamps and a hallway and closet light which made it extremely difficult to get ready in. Patio closes at a certain time. It would have been nice to be able to stay up there and spend some more time on the rooftop. Pool is deceivingly small.

    Love the aesthetic of the hotel. Excellent location - 15 minute walk from Times Square and located right next to Central Park. Nearby access to subway (Columbus Circle) which can get you around NYC quickly. Excellent and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    Location to Lincoln Center & shopping was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I , a woman of color, asked about checkout. If I needed to stand in line b/c they had my email address. I was told yes b/c there might be incidentals. Then another employee told the white male in front of me that he didn’t need to stand in line b/c he could review the final bill via email. It made me wonder.

    Location to Lincoln Center & shopping was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.4
    better security a surveillance needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we stayed a total of 5 nights, the first 3 nights there was a overwhelming smell of marijuana (weed, pot) on our floor and neighbors were really loud. pay $200+ a night for this is unacceptable. this was suppose to be a upper class hotel and did not meet my standards at all.

    Nice central location, near many public transportation stops, 2 blocks away from central park. the manager was great and well as the rest of the front desk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.8
    Very active fun spot to stay with excellent access to good Restaraunts & Lincoln Center & Columbus
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lobby carpet could be cleaned. Bathrooms could be updated I was in 1031

    Amanda at check in was excellent. She guaranteed my late checkout request which was super helpful as I arrived late to the hotel. Mackenzie on checkout was friendly and thorough and helped me with a billing issue. Housekeeping Lily was friendly and attentive to detail. I liked 2 comfortable double beds. Loved the rooftop and lobby bar and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Great place, experince and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to complain about.

    The room was great, very clean and linens were changed without asking. Great location, next to Lincoln Center and Columbus Circle, very close to Subway and Central Park. Great staff, were able to check us early on the day of arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    I'd recommend and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view of the room was of the view of another room, basically a building. Also the rooftop bar staff were extremely rude and not accommodating. We visited three separate occasions thinking that maybe it was one bad apple but we had the same experience every time. The pool bar however exceeded expectations and were extremely nice and helpful.

    The rooftop bar and staff were great, location was amazing and the room size was awesome (junior suite doubles).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.1
    Would stay again because of location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bathrooms. Never refilled our coffee pods in our room, nor our shampoos. Odd that hotel doesn’t offer flat sheet over the fitted. Sheets and duvets were stained.

    Location was exceptional and we found that waking to and from the subway was easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Next time I will choose the Empire, doesn’t make sense to waist time to look for another place.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were living right next to the roof access door, too many people going back and force. All the rest was great!

    We are staying at Empire Hotel every time when we in NY. No reasons to look for the other one. Quick check in and check out, clean and comfy room, nice breakfast, roof restaurant and lounge. Great and quiet location! Yulia, San Diego.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    Good for a short getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you can, get a room above the 4th floor. Upper floors have better amenities, like coffee and water in the room. The rooms are comfortable but small. The bathroom is also small. The standard rooms have no view.

    This place is good for a weekend stay, but you wouldn't have room for your stuff if you are staying more than 3 nights. The roof top restaurant and pool have excellent views. The common spaces are very nice, and the location is outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    Staff was super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows were not soundproof and you could hear the tractor trailer trucks on Columbus Ave constantly all night long. Bring ear plugs!

    Staff was super friendly and helpful. Great location. Starbucks right around the corner. Lincoln center one block away, Central park one block away other direction. 20 blocks from Times Square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 113: outside the window was large generator type piping, and the humming from the machinery was not pleasant at night. Due to the interior location of the room there was almost no daylight so I couldn't tell if it was sunny or cloudy out unless I was in the lobby. Desk area was cramped with TV screen right above and not much desktop space due to hotels items on it.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was decent size - due to my business in NYC I did not spend much time in the room other at night. Pasquale (front desk) was very helpful in contacting me about the person called to return my wallet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    We'll be back for sure !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast in the rooftop restaurant was indifferent...no decent coffee, sad buffet. However, there are a variety of restaurants in the locality (the nearby Pain Quotodien is great for breakfast).

    We've stayed at the hotel a couple of times in the past few months. It is clean and comfortable, the staff always pleasant. Convenient location, comfort and cleanliness. What else do you need?!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    6.3
    Air conditioner needs to be replaced. Drawers need to be held back with something!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ended up with some mosquito bites. The air conditioner was old so it didn't get cool enough. The building is not level so the drawers on the end table kept sliding out. The hotel clerk said he'll have an engineer look at it.

    We had a nice view of the street and other nearby buildings from our window. The Smith Restaurant across the street served a delicious breakfast. The hotel was within walking distance to the studio where we watched the "Live with Kelly & Ryan" TV show!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    4.2
    Old and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was falling a part, stincky, wooden covers are spilled. The bed was awfull, even the coffe machine in the room was overpriced.

    Staff, location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out staff did not ask how my stay was and the water in the bathroom would not get hot for 3 of the 4 of us.

    GREAT location, comfortable rooms, nice décor, nice views from the rooftop, mostly friendly staff, close to attractions and close to public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    8.3
    Great location for Lincoln Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Half size ironing board. All other hotels have full size. Called down and got one but my only problem

    Accommodation staff. Gave us an extra umbrella at the front desk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    6.3
    Location was great, and the fact it was in gossip girl!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a bit run down, needs a lot of TLC!! Quite disappointed and unfortunately won’t stay again.

    Location was great, and the fact it was in gossip girl! Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.9
    Great with one flaw.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our couch was broken. We kept sinking into it and it was essentially unusable.

    There was so much space in our room and we loved the upgrade since we had gotten married that day. The shower was my favorite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    All in all - pleased; planning on a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was lovely, it's just that there was a problem with the air in our room, so it was warmer than was comfortable. The staff did try to fix it, but I think it requires vacating that room and really working on it.

    Fantastic location; friendly and competent staff; Very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    8.8
    1st visit to NYC, not the last
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the pool was closed for 'winter season' we were there in mid May and the temperature was in the 80s most days, the rooftop bar, however, was always open! Our view was of other peoples rooms, so had our blind down even during daytime if we were in. wouldn't stop me returning to this hotel though

    great hotel in a reasonably quiet area ( for New York anyway) friendly helpful staff. 2 minute walk to subway, 10 minute stroll to Hells Kitchen which has lots of choice of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    6.3
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and bathroom are tiny even for New York standards. Too much money for a bathroom with a door that doesn’t open or close fully.

    Location is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, excellent service, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Second time we have stayed here and cannot fault it. The best location, clean, good size rooms, great shower. Pool and sun deck an extra bonus when very hot. Will be staying here again the next time we visit NY.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.3
    This was our first time in NYC and we absolutely loved it❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints. It served the purpose!

    The location is EVERYTHING..We spent very little time in the room so the experience was very nice. I had to get use to not having a door to close on the shower but overall the experience was great. The housekeeping staff was friendly and very accommodating. Kudos to Empire!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel on great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room A/C was noisy so we had it off. But there was significant external noise which could be heard through closed window, probably from building A/C. But we were too tired after whole day of sightseeing, so it wasn't much of a problem.

    Great location (really great), room nice as on pictures, free WiFi (although it is not listed as such on Booking.com), clean room and toilet, very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    5.4
    A good intro to our first stay, but would proberbly try another hotel on next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    here were minor little things. No plug in the bathroom wash hand basin, which made wet shaving a problem and was explained as a design fault, and was not rectified despite several requests. Four coffee pods but only two milks, which were free. but subsequently $3 each. We were told the nearest hop on hop off bus stop was across the road, waited an hour, went to a different location and were told the stop had closed a year ago.AS I say minor things which started to add up.

    Although a small room, the air conditioner was good, and the room clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    Excellent location and rooftop bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only qualm I had was the parking, we stayed in the icon parking recommended by the hotel because there is a discount offered for hotel guests. For 1 day and 1 hour the parking was $100 which is a lot. If I had known before I parked it was going to be this much I would've worked something else out.

    I was greeted so nicely by the concierge and checked in very quickly even though I arrived early. The room was one of the nicest I have stayed in in NYC although on the small side that is very typical of the city. The location was unbelievable, right beside Central Park and lots of amazing restaurants. There is a rooftop pool and restaurant! The staff are so welcoming and polite. All in all a wonderful stay!! thank you Empire.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    6.3
    Descent place on 66 St
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very dark and the room just had one light; There are no drinking water fountains and need to pay 5.5 USD for 500 mL of water! The check-in process is very slow;

    The place is very close to a metro station, with descent rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, close to Central Park & subway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower temperature was lukewarm at best. Would have preferred a mini fridge that wasn't pre-stocked with overpriced goods. The lighting in hotel room was dark.

    Good location, close to Central Park & subway. Columbus circle within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.3
    very happy and satisfied with our stay at Empire Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The considered the breakfast served on the rooftop a little bit expensive because we did not have many food choices. This is not a problem, because this breakfast is not included and you have plenty of options nearby the hotel , so you are not obliged to go yo yhe rooftop. We prefered to have breakfast outside,

    The location is excellent ! Very near to Lincoln Center, excellent restaurants, outlet and also high level shops very near ( bloomingsdale´s outlet, century 21 and at Columbus Circle expensive and brand shops). The rooms are small, but we had everything we needed and the staff allways very kind. Our room was on a high floor , so we had a nice view and it was silent ( no noise). We certainly will return to Empire Hotel on our next trip to NYC !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.9
    I had a great time and would probably re-book at The Empire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints.

    I LOVED the location! Everything else met my expectation- fair value for money. There was nothing, aside from the location, that really stood out to me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.5
    Location worked for us, would hesitate to book again due to bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super tiny bath had mild & mildew, no vent fan & rotted out door. AC not working well

    room small but very nice & very clean. Location excellent & staff friendly. Nice lobby. Beds very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.3
    Great location for the performing arts, and that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above. Also the fact that the rooftop bar was closed at 5pm on the days I was there. What's the point?

    We booked the Empire because it's very close to Lincoln Center and as such a great location. Unless you're prepared to pay $$$$$, you don't expect much in the way of space and comfort in a typical NYC hotel room, but what annoyed me was the generally grungy appearance and the dust on the shelves. You shouldn't have to clean the shelves of your closet and bathroom before you put your things down for over $300.00 a night. New York has really gotten out of hand lately price-wise. Very little value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, small rooms, nice rooftop bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool hadn’t opened and the air conditioning was so noisy that it was quieter to turn it off and sleep with the window open and the outside noise.

    Good location with a nice rooftop bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.8
    This hotel was reasonably priced, but cramped rooms with views of Lincoln center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's definitely cramped and the bathrooms are not meant for clumsy people. Even my less clumsy husband struggled with the shower because it only has a half door. The beds are uncomfortable. My back was upset after the first night and we ended up getting massages after 4 nights here. We had breakfast at the restaurant the first morning and then drinks one night. The best part of the restaurant is the large windows and the view. The food and drinks were meh. The breakfast was a step above Super 8. The restaurant is separately owned from the hotel so you can't charge anything to your room. You also have to go all the way downstairs, over to the entryway elevators and then up to the restaurant if the door to the pooldeck is locked (it was the first morning). The walls are a little thin but not unreasonable for NYC. The first room that we were in had a sad, barely working AC. After 3 days, my BFF went home and we moved from a room with 2 doubles to a room with a single king bed. That room had much better AC. Fortunately, the windows open a couple inches on days when you are lucky enough to get a breeze in NYC.

    The views from the hotel are great. It's definitely one of the few hotels in the city with rooms and a bar/restaurant overlooking the city. Especially consideringthe price of the hotel, I do feel like we got a decent deal. It's right next to Lincoln Center with the ballet and the New York Philharmonic. There are a few good restaurants in the area but I prefer the upper East side and Hell's Kitchen for food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    The hotel was amazing, excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was amazing, excellent service. Extremely accommodating and friendly. Room was clean and spacious, beautiful view. I was able to enjoy rooftop deck with my children and relax. Due to dietary needs, Whole Foods was 5 min walk away. Accessible to my daily needs, Starbucks was on the corner. Room service wasn’t available due to restaurant renovations but it didn’t even matter because of the area being walker friendly. They did brunch available that next morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    The room was larger than most in NY and a good size for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very small, but had a great shower

    The room was larger than most in NY and a good size for an overnight girls trip. The location was perfect and the rooftop restaurant was fabulous!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    Bedrooms/shower rooms could be cleaner but overall a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing that let it down was the bedrooms. The lobby and public areas of the hotel were lovely but the bedrooms needed a revamp. Our room wasn't particularly clean (it was quite dusty and edges of room didn't appear to be hoovered properly. The shower could do with a proper scrub and the door was all chipped away. The window was also dirty but I understand that washing windows so high up would be very difficult. Having said that, I probably would stay there again.

    The hotel was generally really nice. The rooftop bar and pool were a great addition and the location was fantastic! Only a 5 min walk from Central Park and two subway stations very close by (Lincoln Center and Columbus Circle).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Size of junior suite, price, location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems were - roof ws closed for private party an we didn't know - roof shouldn't be closed all night for guests - room had coffee maker but no sugar or creamer, had no shampoo (2 bottles of gel instead)

    Size of junior suite, price, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we checked in the guy that checked us in while he was taking our id and information...was scratching his crotch. Then at night we are trying to close the blinds and the blinds fell off from the ceiling and was about to hit my head because I was at the desk , but instead hit my boyfriend hand. The shower door was missing and then the next day when they came and fixed the blinds a huge stain was on the blinds and was looking disgusting.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Bad rooms and bad attitude
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst located room was given though booked well in advance. This hotel charged me nearly $ 400 for receiving packages because I was not in the hotel for three days. Though a good location, i am not satisfied with their approach to service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Other than closeness to Lincoln Center, pretty ordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower leaked cold water dripping from ceiling fixture (apparently turned off) and from flexible wand. Friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom really small.

    Close to Lincoln Center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    5.8
    Clean hotel, horrible check-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Empire e-mailed asking when we were checking in (I stated between 1-2pm), When we checked one of the rooms still wasn't ready. This was after waiting ~10-15 minutes in the lobby to check-in. We were told the room would be ready in ~30-40 minutes and they would call us. We said we would wait our other room. 1 hour later we didn't receive a call. I called the lobby and they offered 2 drink tickets for our party of 6 for the inconvenience. ~5-10 minutes later we finally received a call informing us our second room was ready. We were on the 2nd floor, and there was no accessible stairway. The only staircase led down to the maintenance basement. The elevators were often full so we had to wait for another elevator on multiple occasions. One of our rooms had quite a bit of warped paint/damage (see photos). Not quite what you would expect for a 4-star hotel.

    This hotel has a beautiful lobby and is ideally located near Lincoln Center. The rooms were clean. About a 30 minute walk to Times Square. One block away from Central Park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    Optimal location for a decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning in the rooms is quite old and therefore noisy. If you can live with that, there's no problem. Additionally, for light sleepers the street noise may be disturbing, as the windows do not really isolate much, and as it is New York, there is always traffic and noise. The breakfast is rather expensive ($20) for what you get. However, the steel cut oatmeal was above expectations. You can also have breakfast at the Starbucks which is in the hotel building.

    The location of the hotel by the Lincoln Center (the Met, Ballet, as well as other performance venues) is simply great. They refurbish the rooms and they are in good shape. I have stayed in this hotel several times, and keep coming back. This time the room was cleaned meticulously, and we were very happy with the level of service. The hotel's breakfast is now in the rooftop bar, which has pros and cons. It is not optimal for eating (tables are meant for drinks only, i.e. small), but the views are great. In addition, making Wifi free is a tremendous improvement to previous stays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    The location for the Empire is great, especially if you like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location for the Empire is great, especially if you like Lincoln Center theaters. The staff is terrific and responsive. The hotel is very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect, great location and very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been better if the pool was open, also if guests had access to all parts or the rooftop bar and not just the inside part.

    Perfect, great location and very helpful and friendly staff. Clean and great location...would have been great if the pool was open because the weather was great for it but otherwise we had a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is conveniently located for participation in a Lincoln Center event.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV was too big and took up too much room on the table leaving almost no space for one's own items. Outlets were few but that seems to be a problem with most hotels I have encountered. Rooms are best for visitors who are over 5 foot 6.

    The hotel is very close to Lincoln Center and Central Park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    4.2
    I'm back and forth on this one. I loved the location but the AC and housekeeping issues bother me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC didn't work well. Other guests agreed when I brought it to the Front Desk's attention. Room didn't get cleaned on second day and Front Desk responded with they were working with a minimum staff for the Memorial Day holiday. No apology, Really?

    Location is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Empire Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: