Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Foot of Robinson Pass, On R328, Between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (60km) , 6500 Ruiterbos, South Africa

#1 of 2 hotels in Ruiterbos

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 78 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.5
    Facilities were great - horse riding, bowls, tennis etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't really find the rooms very fantastic, but overall pleasant enough. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Facilities were great - horse riding, bowls, tennis etc.... things we are not used to but absolutely loved... We were given an upgrade, but strange thing is there was only one other couple at the hotel and they put us next door to them - and they had a small baby. Strange we weren't put elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    7.5
    A lovely stop over half way between Mossel and Oudtshoorn. Spend a little extra and have a log cabin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Afternoon complimentary tea not very good and the complimentary bit is just the tea or coffee not the cake.

    Lovely view from log cabin. Dining room, bar and staff very pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.2
    Great family stay with young children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great family stay with young children. Hotel offers horse rides and cart rides. Great sport facilities - pool, tennis courts, bowling green. Food excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hospitality and a place to unwind and relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bungalow was situated very close to the road and so was noisy from the passing traffic and trucks. Overhead and bedside lighting in the room was too dim for reading by.

    Excellent variety and options for breakfast. Great friendly service from all the staff. Wonderful first time horse riding experience with a caring and understanding groom. Clean and refreshing swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.1
    Nothing wrong but not for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been nice to have a fridge in the room to chill drinks. The dining experience was poor - the food was average at best, the dining room was hot. Given they had a dress code and a seating time, you’d expect much more. Nothing wrong but just not great.

    Room was spotless, nice views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    6.7
    Have stayed many times as enjoy the setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed many times as enjoy the setting They have upgraded beds and basics in rooms but it feels very dated Reception is really dark - would be nice if you walked into a bright fresh interior when booking in and out. The pool is not well situated and is not pretty - would be great to have a rim flow pool somewhere away from accommodation that you can lie and order drinks or snacks Menu can be modernised - I understand that the current clientele have been going there for YEARS and are probably very happy but poached eggs that are done in metal cups are not the real thing and went out in the 80's. No low carb options on menus . Its such a lovely setting would be great to make it more of a food destination. Kids play area and equipment is VERY tired and there are broken items that have stayed broken for over a year. Not sure it is 4 star .Has tons of potential

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    a delightful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    they have taken away the tap craft beer

    lovely location , beautiful gardens , lovely food in restaurant , nice swimming pool area intimate fine dining in restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    7.9
    Lots of character and history.
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the accommodation near to the main road is noisy as lorries drive past all night. Plumbing is dated.

    Lots of character and history. Friendly staff. Good food. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.6
    This was our fourth time staying at Eight Bells and it never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet is quite slow.

    This was our fourth time staying at Eight Bells and it never disappoints. The views are stunning. The rooms and staff amazing and I would highly recommend having the ostrich with the pepper sauce.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    9.6
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fod on our second night was very bland, including the "Malay Curry"

    Bathroom very smart - had everything - only we had dificulty telling hot tap from cold. Bed very comfortable and large. Scenery fab.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    9.6
    We really enjoyed the quietness of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was A1

    We really enjoyed the quietness of the location. We also enjoyed the comfort of our room. The meals and service were also excellent !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    10
    Relaxing hotel in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Takes some time for the hot water to reach the room and water temperature in shower can be temperamental but this is because of the location/water supply so not much can be done about it - its easy to plan around it - i.e. Turn shower on in good time etc

    Very relaxing hotel with good free facilities/activities in a beautiful location. Very friendly staff and great food cooked to order at very reasonable cost. Very comfortable bed. This was my second visit and highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Family vibe with suberb scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall friendliness and family feeling is wonderful. Beautiful surroundings and the grounds and facilities were in excellent condition. The room was great and the food excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful Setting, Classic Inn, But Out of Date
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet service is in convenient and out of date. Max 200mb per day per room, and slow. Lunch menu very plain, although dinner was better.

    Friendly & helpful staff, mountain views, nature setting, gardens

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, good restaurant and accommodation - highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One problem we had was in the restaurant. We asked for a number of specific drinks etc and told by one member of staff it was not available only to find later it was. Possibly a misunderstanding? The restaurant was of a very good standard and food was good quality but strangely spoilt by for example oven chips.

    Great location, pleasant staff, beautiful gardens, very colonial.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2017

    9.6
    Old fashioned paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property has an old world charm set in a fabulous location. Caters for sports, tennis , bowling, horse ridding, trekking, swimming and even a billiards room. Restaurant food is a little old fashioned but I had a great meal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    8.3
    Tea time on the Garden Terrace ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner was casual-formal ... there was no mention anywhere on the booking.com site about packing long pants. Please mention it.

    Very accommodating, and helpful staff! Very comfy beds. Beautiful gardens. Loved the bell for Tea time on the Garden Terrace!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    10
    Eight Bells - on my way for second stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a beatiful setting. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The food was always very good. There is a swimming pool, tennis courts, squash court and bowls green. This is over and above magnificent scenery and beautiful walks and mountain biking trails. There is also horseriding and donkeycart rides for the kids.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    10
    Great old fashioned hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in a rondavel. The lighting both overhead and by the bed should somehow be brighter.

    Really friendly, helpful staff both in reception and the dining room. Good old fashioned servic that you don't get in many place these days.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    Beautiful staff, location and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing.

    Beautiful staff, location and atmosphere. Thank you for an exceptional weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.2
    beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditioning could have been better

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Far from the madding crowd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some meats overcooked.

    WiFi. Breakfast. Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    The best hotel in our whole trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best hotel in our whole trip. Quite and nice room, friendly staff. Really enjoy the stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    8.3
    A nice place to spend some night. Good food and near nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet in our rooms were a bit filthy and should be removed or cleaned properly.

    Near nature, nice staff, very good restaurant!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    5.4
    Nice locus and quirky rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The traffic noise was horrendous. Was meant to be there 3 nights but checked out after only one.

    Nice locus and quirky rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing wrong

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    10
    The facilities were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower over the bath.

    The facilities were excellent. T shower over the bath was a bit flimsy but for the rest excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    8.3
    Food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor water pressure for showering & bathing. Pub could have opened earlier. Fire in lounge could have been lit earlier.

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel in foothills
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed some modernising

    Friendly staff and nice location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the location old world charm pity about the evening resturant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The quality of meal in the evening

    Peace and tranquillity,old world charm

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stop between Mossel bY and oudtshoorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Underfloor heating was hot

    The most amazing location with lots to please all including table tennis, pool,snooker,lawn bowls,horse riding and walks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    7.9
    great one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    bugs in the room

    nice area, old hotel, but helpful staff and clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    9.6
    Totaly relaxing, super staff and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    10
    Should have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi allowance was meager

    The setting and facilities are wonderful, Eight Bells is so much more the just an Inn, its mini resort!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    4.2
    Only if you have to stay in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness of room. Quality of bed and mattress.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2017

    7.5
    no complaints we had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints we had a good time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    10
    Eight Bells tradition with family values
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beer on draught unavailable otherwise very good value.

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2017

    10
    Dinner was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was excellent. Staff are always ready with a smile, and a greeting. They make you feel so welcomed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful setting and friendly staff - I will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    10
    WONDERFULL BREAKAWAY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    AN ELECTRIC BLANKET WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE. NO UNDERFLOOR HEATING IN THE BATHROOM.

    LOVELY ROOMS AND TASTEFULL BREAKFAST.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The food was delicious and well presented. We went for walks and the scenery is beautiful. I wish we had out bicycles as there are many trails to ride. We played tennis, rode horses, played bowls and there is a squash court as well. You can be as lazy or active as you like. The hotel caters for both. I highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2016

    10
    Everything is to perfection couldn't have spent a more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is to perfection couldn't have spent a more relaxable time in this magnificent place surrounded by the most extraordinary scenery. The staff were very very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2016

    8.8
    The location is superb, staff were particularly friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Feel the food could have been better, too much on the plate and nothing very exciting coming out of the kitchen.

    The location is superb, staff were particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2016

    8.3
    The setting, views and grounds are lovely - the buildings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were a little 'disinterested' in their surroundings and position - hence not very informative, though they were friendly enough. Not all items on the menu were available, despite the inn not being full, and the restaurant not particularly busy.

    The setting, views and grounds are lovely - the buildings and rooms are characterful, comfortable, and appropriate to the history, and the current use, of the property. The location is convenient to the N2, even if you are not continuing on over the Robinson Pass.

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2016

    7.1
    I love the laid back feeling at eight bells .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Palm court was an utter disappointment !! it smells "old" ( like my Grannies house ) and the view was terrible. Although it is no fault of 8bells the children in the dining area , every time were so misbehaved that it made our eating experience unbearable each time. this is more a family hotel now. I don't think we'll be back and we've going to 8bells since 1978 ( honeymoon) so it's very sad for us.

    I love the laid back feeling at eight bells . The staff are wonderful and the food is good. It feels like a home away from home. We have been going to 8bells since 1987.

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    7.1
    The location suited us on our journey eastwards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed that unlike all other bookings on this, our third trip to the area from the UK , this Inn had not moved with the times. The decor is very dated and old fashioned. The wi-fi offering is poor. Some - not all - restaurant staff were now elderly and slow and some seemed to give a sense that they were doing you a favour rather than being customer centric. The breakfast buffet was poor by today's standards. We would rate it 3 star rather than 4 but recognise that as a family venue its facilities may have more appeal to those with young kids.

    The location suited us on our journey eastwards. It was clean and generally had well-intentioned staff.

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful surrounds and setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not a bad experience, but we were the only guests there, so the place lacked atmosphere.

    Beautiful surrounds and setting. Room was very comfortable as well.

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2015

    8.8
    The comfort of lounge with warm fire and soothing background...
    • Couple

    The comfort of lounge with warm fire and soothing background music .Supper served according set menu, food warm and delicious .Warm bedroom, under floor heating. Breakfast being served , variety of food, polite and friendly staff. Experience the special moments of families with small children

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2015

    9.6
    Very hospitable, attention paid to details, everything in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No problems at all.

    Very hospitable, attention paid to details, everything in working order & fresh. Lovely setting & safe place for our motorcycles. Very good value.

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2015

    10
    You really do feel like you've stepped back in time but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    You really do feel like you've stepped back in time but in a good way. The staff are friendly and there is a really sweet atmosphere around the place. We only stayed one night so did not get a chance to use all the facilities. The log cabins are great and have an amazing view.

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2015

    9.2
    Great staff and cool mountain location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meal could have been a bit better but breakfasts excellent. In this day and age a small fridge in the room should be standard.

    Great staff and cool mountain location. Old-fashioned hospitality.

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2015

    10
    Very pretty setting and lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    'RULES'. dress code for the dining room. No mobile phones, IPADS, kindles in the dining room. Unusual nowadays, This was more a vacation hotel where it felt unnecessary in the surroundings.

    Very pretty setting and lovely room.

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2015

    9.6
    The excellent way in which we were
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perhaps DSTV? We missed KYKNET

    The excellent way in which we were treated Mr and Mrs Bonger thank you for caring I do not think in this world anybody would work the xtra mile with their guests like you did We just love your staff

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very friendly staff. Delicious food.

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2016

    7.9
    very helpful support staff making our stay very lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dining service could improve

    very helpful support staff making our stay very lovely

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2016

    10
    Beautiful location with excellent staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Beautiful location with excellent staff and good food.

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2016

    7.5
    The facility is well maintained with attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The decor could be less fussy

    The facility is well maintained with attention to detail

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2015

    9.2
    We wanted tranquillity for Christmas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wanted tranquillity for Christmas. In all our expectations were met.

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    10
    All good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Children/babies in main dining room after 7 pm.....

    All good....

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2015

    9.2
    Splendid view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The menu in the restaurant is about average, while the food is pretty good.

    Splendid view and location.

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2015

    8.3
    The WiFi doesn't work as claimed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi doesn't work as claimed.

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2015

    8.8
    Staff were exceptional in their attitude and speed of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were exceptional in their attitude and speed of response. Winter fires and preparation for load shedding was top notch.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2015

    9.2
    Setting and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool needs attention

    Setting and location

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2015

    9.6
    The staff are willing to assist and the location is brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staying too close to the road, scary in early morning with large trucks

    The staff are willing to assist and the location is brilliant

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2015

    9.6
    staff food staff were always cheerful and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit far away from places to visit

    staff food staff were always cheerful and helpful

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2015

    8.3
    Good food, well prepared.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rondavel affected by road noise.

    Good food, well prepared. Wine list well priced.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Eight Bells Mountain Inn Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: