Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Gauteng B&B and inn reviews
  4. Johannesburg B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Elizabeth Manor Guest House

Reviews of Elizabeth Manor Guest House

141 First Street Sandhurst, Sandton, Sandton, 2157 Johannesburg, South Africa

#83 of 236 B&Bs and inns in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 65 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Very nice staff!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff! We have been travelling with our two little daugther (2 and 4 yrs), and they were very welcoming, and uncomplicated. Nice fresh breakfast a la carte. Hotel was safe for kids - they have grandchildren on their own, so safety first.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed is not super comfy but okay. TV channels are very limited.

    Everything else is fine rally. The breakfast. The cleanliness. The staff is awesome. Very awesome. Everyone is helpful. They go the extra mile. I loved it.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi connectivity in my room was poor, we I parked my car and my room was not convenient, we need

    The bed was very comfy, the staff were excellent,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff - very welcoming -- easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff - very welcoming -- easy to get there - lovely garden setting - great breakfast - and a good size & v comfortable room - lovely bathroom - I had an enjoyable stay - thank you -

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.6
    A place of tranquility in the middle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have a service of transfer from the aeroport or some driver of confidence to sugest , because the taxi service is horrible in the city. But when you have Uber or a car, this is dispensable

    My room was absolutely awesome. the shower was very good, with a nice pressure water and the bed was very comfortable. Wi-fi was very worked quite well. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. I got amazing tips from them. The breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful stay and a home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV channels in the rooms were not working. Breakfast menus need an improvement.

    David was so friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. Thank you David.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is somewhat difficult to enter the suburb at night due to "boom gates" fencing and security.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very tidy and the linen was very fresh and clean. I have had a very short but pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    Friendly staff and excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't enjoy the fact that there was no phone that you could dial reception in my room.

    I enjoyed being so near to a shopping mall in terms of Location. Tjey jad very friendly staff and were willing to help with anything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    Home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My Johannesburg home away from home, Elizabeth Manor keep on delivering, it is easy accessible, close to all the Sandton business centers with an amazing staff and great facilities. Hot showers and comfortable beds, all rooms en suite with air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    8.3
    David - the superstar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my accommodation of choice when visiting our Johannesburg office. The motivating factor is the duty manager, David - this guy is just amazing. He is super friendly, very helpful and dedicated to this property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    4.2
    Dissapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon entering the guesthouse the staff were arguing and yelling on each other. As I walked through the doorway there was a young female and toddler blocking my entry. I assumed the older female would move the young toddler but instead I got cold looks and had to wait for the girl to move herself so me and a guest behind me can finally get inside (it's freezing cold outside). Rooms don't have coffee and tea inside the room so you have to walk out to the lobby in order to make a cup of anything. Rooms have no heaters. The staff were loud and always busy moving around which made sleeping or having guests over a bit difficult. Also,the water in the shower runs cold after a bit and that causes one to freeze even more considering you have no heater. The staff including the managaress and manager were somewhat unorganised and had no particular order. At times there was NO ONE managing the reception area. So you had to wait a few minutes whenever requesting something.

    Loved the bed and softness of the pillows. Loved the couch in my room and positioning of the vanity table with the mirror. Loved all the antiques they had put up all over the guesthouse. The breakfast was delightful and very filling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    10
    A special gem in Jo'burg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all perfect, nothing negative to register.

    Elizabeth Manor House was a wonderful surprise in my trip - the team is very welcoming and happy, the room was better than the picture, all taken care of, in the minimum details, which make the best choice of my entire trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    10
    Super & Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's really a so nice place, which location is perfect just nearby Mandela Square, the security is guaranteed, the room is very clean , all the staffs here are well trained, particularly David was so helpful and thoughtful who was always waiting there for helping his guests. Definitely will come back again... , I believe it's the best valued guest house in Johannesburg...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    7.9
    A home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shampoos and shower gels should have been replaced daily but they were not.

    The Lady Manager, Tanya, is very friendly and ever willing to go out of her way to help. Her staff are friendly and were eager to assist in making my stay comfortable. I liked the quiet environment and the feeling of peace and quiet in the place. The place has a very homey feel to it. I loved that there was a whole library! I wish I stayed longer for some of the lovely titles.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    6.3
    Great location, clean room, breakfast terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rest of the staff were below average; listening to the manageress and her husband fight and shout at their child was awkward to say the least... Breakfast was horiffic. Not at sll comparable to other 4 star properties

    Very clean and David was great! Location very good and would stay there again just for that.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    10
    Very kind and supportive host and staff.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very kind and supportive host and staff. Good location - safe and quiet area. Great interier desing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.8
    Delightful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedding very comfy. I especially liked the well stocked library. Good books for bookworms. Very good taximan to take one around.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    My stay was great despite what I mentioned above. The location is great and very safe.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv was not playing some important channels and also controlled from the reception.

    Food was generally good. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    I warmly recommend to anyone who's looking for a nice place with a caring and so nice staff as Tanya
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rain on Friday but this has nothing to do with the excellent stay at The Elisabeth Manor Guest house...

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bit out of the way.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Firm but comfy beds and pillows. Lovely common room. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Its just extra neat and Comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.8
    Home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv's were very small

    Rooms were warm and welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very warm and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.8
    Staff nice and kind, they are always ready to help with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff nice and kind, they are always ready to help with anything you need

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Comfy and lovely place to stay for a few days in Sandton
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing to report here - I liked everything about the hotel

    A quick and efficient staff. Breakfast was fresh and served in a jiffy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.9
    lovely people but a vehicle is required to get about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    needs a bit more cleaning

    Comfy bed with friendly owner and staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    9.6
    A perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is nested in a very quiet and safe area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.8
    Not clean, TV was limited and not clear.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not clean, TV was limited and not clear.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.2
    Good for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location, great welcome by on site manager and breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    5.0
    Perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many closed gates on road

    Closeness to sandton city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    Everything was fantatastic
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fantatastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    Comfy stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were too light, head went straight through.

    Everything was nicely done, Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    8.3
    Cofy and convenient.
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no dstv.

    The breakfast was divine, service on point, location very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    9.6
    Comfy and secure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfy and secure

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    2.5
    The quiet,serene environment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The quiet,serene environment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    10
    Excellent facilties
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv signal was grainy

    Everything was first class

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    7.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the tv had one working station

    The room was comfortable, smelt great and the lounge was inviting.

    Stayed in March 2017

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!