Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Cheshire hotel reviews
  4. Chester hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mill Hotel & Spa Destination

Reviews of Mill Hotel & Spa Destination This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Milton Street, Chester, CH1 3NF, United Kingdom

#9 of 28 hotels in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 5324 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    9.6
    Good quality hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was comfortable, but the shower over the bath was really poor, with a small fixed head. Our daughter had a much larger room and a separate shower cubicle which I used. When I mentioned this on checkout, the receptionist told me that we had received an upgrade (no mention of this when we checked in), and that the room had recently been refurbished. Why not install a decent shower if that was the case. I found this hard to believe, as our daughter's room was obviously of a higher standard.

    Excellent location, for access to the train and bus stations, and Chester City centre. Good leisure facilities, and good choice at breakfast. Inadvertently left a pair of glasses in the room, which were returned to me, but only after I had to negotiate for them to be returned free of charge, rather than the £7.50, first quoted, in lieu of promised future "freebies", to compensate for the shower problem (see below)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    7.5
    our recent stay at the Mill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    out dates bathroom. very slow flow of hot water. small tea cups in room for tea and coffee. should have mugs. wardrobe difficult to use. staff in the bar were very disinterested ..

    great location. very good bedroom and bed. great wifi. very friendly staff in reception and restaurant .. great gymn very well equipped and verh good spa.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    10
    Perfect spot, and soooo relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms needed more then 2 sachets of coffee. We both drink coffee, and 1 cup each isn't enough after a long days travel. Other then that absolutley no prolems. Though the place was great.

    pool we felt was a little cold but on the whole that improved the experience of the jacuzi which was so warm. so we both loved that. we had to keep swimming to stay warm then we could kick back and relax in the hot pool - amazing feeling. Room was perfect for what we needed. The staff that checked us in was great, and the gentleman at breakfast was amazing, so cheerful and genuine.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    10
    Best place to stay in Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception forgot to inform the Restaurant of our evening meal booking so the Maitre d' was a bit surly!

    Great location. Lovely room and use of pool. Fabulous meal and disco.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    4.2
    Good location within walking distance of town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked two room for 50th birthday break and was really disappointed. The rooms were tired and need updating, Spa far too small for busy hotel especially when 2/3rds is roped off for lessons and lane swimming. Steam room stank. Most staff unfriendly and gave the impression they didn’t want to be there. No soundproofing of window I bedroom wind and traffic noise meant no sleep poor all round and not recommended. Told staff of issues at checkout and they gave me e mail address of manager, still waiting for acknowledgment of e mail.

    Good location within walking distance of town centre. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    9.6
    Location, pool and the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, nothing negative just observations, I’d go back.

    Location, pool and the staff. Good secure car park, nice bar and cosy Resturant. Breakfast was good as was their evening meal, limited choice but good. Stayed before on business and will do,again. Room was a tad small as was our bathroom. I’m 6’3” and not the smallest, a bit of a squeeze!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.3
    Very good and enjoyable trip to Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold.had to get help with heating as it was turned on from reception??. No late bar for residents. No view from room due to small window above bed as there is a walkway directly below the room we were in which joins both parts of hotel together.

    Breakfast very good. plenty of choice.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.8
    Even though the bedrooms needs updating we would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom is in need of some major TLC The bathroom was like stepping back into the 80's (showing our age now !

    the location was great for Chester shopping and bars the breakfast was a little cold but it did the job the staff were spot on

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.8
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had as view of the road, which I didn't mind but the sound proofing could have been better, could hear the traffic quite clearly and people passing the room.

    Location was great, really good value for money and the bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    6.3
    Enjoyed our weekend break but would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying for parking, a lift next to our room which kept my mother awake, a very dated room if fact quite grottey. Radiators that don't work, and getting a electric shock from a wall socket

    Breakfast good, staff lovely, amenities good, location good

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.5
    Everything was perfect , staff were Excellent and the chef...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room Absolutely stunk .At 1st we thought it was because we were next to the linen room but figured out some1 had obviously let there shower water run all over the carpet and it’s certainly not been cleaned , put us off staying again which is ashame as it’s probably 1 of the best/nicest hotels we have stayed in but couldn’t sleep because of the vile stench , There was also a pair of men’s boxer shorts in the toilets downstairs and I noticed them About 7:30pm , we came back to the hotel around 12:30am and they were still there, it’s the things like that which spoil a good place

    Everything was perfect , staff were Excellent and the chef is amazing ,everything cooked to perfection

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    7.9
    Great hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The plates at breakfast were taken before I could finish my mouthful! Beds not made as well as they could have been. Few hairs in the bath.

    Friendly and helpful Staff on reception at the gym/pool.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    6.3
    Handy for the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being charged for parking on a piece of wasteland on a backstreet & finding that parking would have been free but booking through Booking.com is penalised, I was surprised to find that I had to pay the entire bill in advance. Disappointed to find ourselves in a Family Room having paid extra for a Club Double, it was a very long walk to the room and always a long wait for the lift. Pool & changing rooms all looking a bit tired.

    Handy for the town centre

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Room very well set out with lovely superking bed, view over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very well set out with lovely superking bed, view over the canal towards Chester city. Excellent breakfast and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    4.6
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower , service And room Size

    The shower didnt work properly the room was very small and right at the back of the hotel . Reception tried to charge me twice for Parking

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay in a centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was rather tired and furniture needed updating especially the wardrobe and light fittings.

    Brilliant location and excellent customer service especially from the reception staff. Enjoyed using the pool and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.2
    Quiet, clean- we’d go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting poor in room. Shower flooded bathroom

    Canal side location, short walk into city centre (5mins),large room, good value with breakfast included. Helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    5.0
    Very disappointed with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were dated and not overly clean, windows let draught and noise in. Very basic rooms for the price paid. We got a free upgrade as the original room we stayed in which was a standard double was smaller than a prison cell! Although the upgrade was bigger the standard of decor and cleanliness wasn’t great.

    Staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    6.3
    ok dinner food was good and arrived promptly with room service and nice helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the first room and old fashion environment - breakfast was not great no real healthy options

    First room i was given was pokey, dark and small - however i was quickly changed to another room - which was better although the environment is rather tired and old fashion - but bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    10
    Perfect in every way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot fault this hotel whatsoever...

    Absolutely beautiful hotel, excellent spa facilities, spotlessly clean and the staff cannot do enough for you.. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and our room was absolutely gorgeous... Fabulous location. Loved the dinner cruise. I would most certainly highly recommend this hotel to family and friends visiting Chester and we will definitely be returning to this hotel. Thank you for a lovely stay..

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    9.6
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stopped in room 532 ,the mattress was a bit tired,and the music after dinner could have been more varied as the clientele were of varying ages ,but the DJ was reluctant to play any sixty or seventies music.

    the staff ,facilites and food were very good

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    9.2
    Fab leisure basic room..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very very uncomfortable the mattress was solid. Room 306. The room itself was rather dated. New headboards wardrobes and desk would make a massive difference. Also there is no mirror on the desk so have to do make up in the bathroom or hallway.. but no plug sockets near the mirror to do my hair.. bit annoying. No iron in room

    Leisure facilities are great. Staff are very friendly. Fab breakfast :)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    8.8
    Very nice indeed - lovely room in the rooftop of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Club Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at check in told us we shouldn’t use booking.com as we get free parking if we book direct . We weren’t aware of parking charges in advance (I appreciate I may not have read it properly )

    Very nice indeed - lovely room in the rooftop of the property . Great breakfast . Lovely staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    7.5
    The room was a little to warm but I expect this was due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little to warm but I expect this was due to the cold outside just couldn’t work out how to turn the heat down in our room so we used a fan

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    5.4
    Rooms was too small, shower didn’t have much pressure so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to all amenities

    Rooms was too small, shower didn’t have much pressure so took longer to shower, maid kept turning our heating off. After a long day sight seeing we kept coming back to a cold room.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    7.5
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can hear everything around you. Our room must of been next to an air conditioning machine, so you could hear it all night. You can hear noise from pipes? Whenever someone flushed a loo you could hear the pipes, sounded like a ferry going out.

    Lovely rooms. Lovely location. Nice bar downstairs and it’s right on the canal.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.6
    Ups and downs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wasn't aware I would have to pay for the car parking. In the room was a small green light in the ceiling near the door. It was on all night. Really annoying Room was very hot and didn't seem to have a way of turning heating down.

    Very clean and shiny. Great bed. Very comfortable. The gym and swimming pool were superb. Lovely location near the canal and short walk to Chester City centre. Large television. Lovely breakfast. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    7.9
    Location, clean nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was average at best, service was poor. Poor selection of breakfast items. We were told on the second day that we could order extra add ons but the waitress only offered mushrooms as an extra.

    Location, clean nice room.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    5.4
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is underwhelming. The breakfast is copious but ordinary, not very tasty. The room is a bit deperessong. I asked for a nice room because I was celebrating and anniversary and I don’t know if they did that or not but the room was just mediocre. For the money it was not worth it. And I will not visit again next time I am in Chester.

    It’s a pretty basic hotel which looks much nicer than it it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    A lovely hotel in a great position for going into Chester, wouldn’t hesitate to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was satisfied with everything. The only downside comment was that the hot water was scalding hot which made it impossible to wash your hands.

    Really good breakfast and dinner in the evening outstanding. Staff really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    10
    Pleasant, helpful and friendly staff. Booking in and out took seconds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told the restaurant was open from 7pm until 10pm. I turned up at 9:25 pm to be told it was closing at 9:30. I missed out on my only meal I was able to take for the day.

    I was given a free upgrade to a deluxe room :)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    9.6
    The hotel was very close to the train station but was in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Side Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very close to the train station but was in a very quiet location The room was very acceptable and the breakfasts were good and the serving staff were very friendly The spa was a welcome addition to the services provided and we would certainly recommend this to others staying in Chester

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    9.6
    A good base for visiting Chester - but check parking if coming by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was confusion over whether parking was free. The hotel's ad on TripAdvisor clearly stated free parking. On Booking.com neither the offer nor the link to the 'fine print' said anything different. Further down in the amenities section it did say parking was £7.50 a day but I only found this after booking (and after double-checking on TripAdvisor and the offer and fine print on Booking.com). The hotel originally insisted that we had to pay parking but did back down. The staff were polite and professional about it, but the hotel should honour it's advert without question.

    An all-round good hotel in a convenient location. Being winter, it was nice to come back as it got dark and use the pool and spa facilities which were good. It's a short and easy walk along the canal into central Chester which has many good eating places and lots to see.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    6.7
    lovely comfortable hotel but misinformative advertising!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had chosen this particular hotel based on the fact it had spa facilities and was advertising an offer for 20% off treatments monday to friday in January. my friend and myself booked 2 nights and i intended treating us to treatments as a birthday present for her. When we went down to the spa to book the treatments we were told it was closed that day and the following day. We were so disappointed as that was the sole purpose of staying there. We also went to the grill restaurant and ordered scone with jam and cream off the menu only to be told they no longer do them. However they do provide scones with an afternoon tea!

    warm room, comfy bed . Ordered a meal in the room and it was speedy and good value.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    7.1
    good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant pricing not clear, thought was a set menu, was expensive to dine

    restaurant pricing not clear, thought was a set menu, was expensive to dine

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    10
    Drinks bit expensive but you've to expect that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were friendly. Food was lovely and plenty of it. No need for anyone to go hungry. Rooms were very warm but rather that than cold we just opened windows a bit. Would definately go again in fact we hoping to book when weather's better. Might even go when races on.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    10
    Excellent location with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been more lamps/lights in the bedroom. It was a little dark over the desk/dressing table.

    Excellent location with excellent facilities

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    Brilliant hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I did not like about this hotel. It was fantastic.

    This is a consistently excellent hotel. The staff are a credit to the establishment and are very helpful, even helping me book an additional days stay and giving me a complimentary upgrade to the club suite! It is in a central location and, despite being situated near a main road, it is a quiet hotel. The spa is also to a very high standard.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    6.3
    Average hotel. Rooms need a deep clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the room was clean it needed a deep clean. Mould around the bathroom taps. Taps were dripping all night. Room felt a bit run down compared to the rest of the hotel.

    Breakfast was lovely. Restaurant and reception nice and modern. Only a 5min walk into Chester following the canal. Bed was quite comfortable. Pool was a good size with sauna and steam room and Jacuzzi.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    7.9
    Ok over priced for what it is tho
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is a little old and tired. Room was ok but dark and bathroom was small very random light set up with wall lights and lamps

    The gym was good location was very good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    all aspects of our stay was excellent,room comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not Much to complain about ,not enough coat hangers in room only 2 hangers for 2 people.And water pressure in shower very low even though we were on the 5th floor ,minor things which are easily sorted and did not spoil our stay

    all aspects of our stay was excellent,room comfortable, great location 5 mins from town centre on foot,excellent breakfast .Will be booking very shortly for a visit in the summer when there is street entertainment

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    A very relaxing weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We traveled to Chester by train and the hotel was just over 5 minutes walk from the station. The receptionist was very attentive and helpful and when she ascertained it was our first visit to the city she immediately gave us a map of the city. The walls and city centre were very close by as was the bus station where we were able to get to Cheshire Oaks shopping outlet very easily. The food in the hotel was of a very good quality and the fixed 2 course evening meal very good value. The swimming pool, jacuzzi, and sauna were a great extra experience. Check out was equally as good as the start of the stay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    Our bedroom was new so was very well decorated and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Side Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Rialto bar tables were not cleaned all evening and we had to sit with someone else’s dirty plates and glasses on the table for both nights.

    Our bedroom was new so was very well decorated and clean. The pool was very good and the towels provided were large and soft.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    9.2
    Comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking - On arrival, we were given pass code to main car park but it was full and had to go back to reception to be told to use the overflow one. Would have been nice if we'd been told before hand and given the location and pass code of both. Would have been very annoying if the weather was inclement.

    Close to city centre, clean comfortable room, smart, pleasant and polite staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    8.3
    Enjoyed a good 2 dat break in Chester in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Light didn't work properly in bathroom, not enough storage space for clothes, cannot control room temperature & was too hot.

    Central location, parked outside, good food in restaurant,

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Staff, room and restaurant offering good quality and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Canal Side Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some parts of the building looked like they needed maintenance, especially the health club that looked a bit of a mess.

    Staff, room and restaurant offering good quality and affordable meals

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    9.6
    If travelling to the area would use again. Would recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were for our liking a little too soft and even when the temp in the room was turned down it was still warm for our liking

    The room facilities were quite spacious. The hotel meal is exceptional value and well presented with good choices

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.2
    It was a really enjoyable stay and we would recommend it to dnybody looking for a hotel in Chester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like,

    The entire experience was brilliant. Food was excellent, the staff were excellent, the facilities were excellent, the room was excellent. Seriously we couldn’t fault it. We would definitely use The Mill Spa Hotel again!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    8.3
    Would stay again but would book direct with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact we didn’t know we had to pay for the car parking at the hotel because we booked with booking . Com if we had of booked directly with the hotel car parking would have been free. We had no knowledge of this charge before we arrived at the hotel.

    Located near city centre easy to walk to. Nice view of canal and boats from the room. Good to have a choice of 2 places to eat in the hotel and pool facilities.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    10
    Birthday celebration trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is not a 3 star IT'S A 4 STAR . Very comfortable great location , food and spa/pool. Had lunch cruise on their own boat - great !! WRONG BOX !!!!!

    Lunch cruise. Excellent food and service.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.5
    We both had an enjoyable stay and will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike. We were happy with everything.

    Everything was to our satisfaction, we stayed here a few years ago. The staff were friendly, food was good. We found our stay very relaxing and hopefully will be back in the near future.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    9.6
    Good value and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps at weekends breakfast could start and finish later say 7.30 until 10.30 . There were small queues for tables because the majority of guests were arriving for breakfast between 900 and 9.45, and although all the staff worked extremely hard and efficiently to avoid any delay for guests, perhaps a later finishing time would alleviate that small problem. Other than this our visit was perfect, and we shall be booking there again.

    The staff are very pleasant and helpful The room we were allocated was modern and well decorated. The food in the restaurant and bar is good. The health club is an added bonus

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    10
    Very pleasant and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car parking was a little hit and miss. Although there were 3 car parks of varying size, we found it difficult to find a space. If we had not found a space we would have had to park in a public car park, not sure where.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our stay was very nice, particularly as we had use of very good leisure facilities, including a pool. The hotel was within easy reach of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Great location for the sights of Chester, right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had room 210 which was a smallish twin overlooking the canal. Would of been nice to have had a bigger room, cosy though.

    Great location for the sights of Chester, right in the middle adjacent to the Shropshire canal.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    The best hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. The place is very nice and well looked after and clean. The food was gorgeous. I will definitely be going there again .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.2
    great location and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    probably the worst restaurant coffee in any hotel visited. We ordered cappuccino and received a very tasteless watery 'coffee'. We had previously asked the restaurant waitress could we order coffee in the bar and she said that she did not know. When we complained to the senior member of staff in the restaurant he said that he knew the coffee was of poor quality. The other downside was the smell of smoke on the corridor outside the bedroom from other guests.

    great location and room

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    7.1
    Convenient location, good hotel, good facilities and good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking through Booking.com was more expensive than booking directly with the hotel as they charge Booking.com customers £7.50 parking whereas it is free if you book with the hotel directly.

    Convenient location, good hotel, good facilities and good staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    9.6
    We loved the leisure facilities & on site restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The website said it would be £85.00 but we had to pay £92.00 not sure why but did not like to question it.

    We loved the leisure facilities & on site restaurant. Food was delicious and service was superb. Staff were really welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    5.8
    very cold room on arrival asked for extra heater,light above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very cold room on arrival asked for extra heater,light above bed too bright,only one light in bathroom working,toilet seat would not stay up,radiator wrong position in room

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    10
    Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Queue for breakfast

    Great location. 5 mins from station, further 5 mins stroll down the canal to Cathederal. Great pool n leisure facilities. Got free upgrade to huge canal side room with balcony with views to city centre. Really nice. Staff very friendly and heloful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    9.6
    Enjoyable full of fun and entertaining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was very little I did not like as they paid great attention to detail to ensure travelers comfort. If I had to be critical then the bathrooms although spacious and clean were a little dated. The room refreshments were a little sparse. 2 sachets of ordinary coffee they did give you more when you asked

    Welcoming,friendly staff who were very attentive from reception to kitchen and bar. Excellent location with easy access to all areas of the city. Good leisure and Spa facilities which reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    6.7
    NIce location, but room was a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting in room. As I wake early I like to read and my husband like to read the paper before we go for dinner, but there was no central lighting or bedside lighting in the room and the room only had a small window which looked out on to a blank wall. Very disappointing from a nice hotel.

    Located close to the city and bus and train facilities

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    5.0
    Very dissappointed with room, and facilities, instant coffee served as norm at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor lighting in room, IMPOSSIBLE to read. No central light and very dark wall paper. Only two table lamps with very low voltage bulbs. When spoken to managerial staff extra lamps were brought in Very bad lumpy pillows, but were changed when asked. No room in bathroom to place toilet bags, no shelf, only place was on the floor. Hand basin taps leaking and dripping. No ground coffee offered in dining room for breakfast, only instant coffee served! When asked for ground coffee it had to be ordered from the bar. On second morning we were brought a pot of pot of instant coffee, In place of ground coffee and had to ask again for ground coffee, but only one cup was served not a pot.

    Close to city centre Good breakfast We were upgraded to bigger room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    Great hotel with spa, fairly priced and good location for public transport and town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors could be cold as double doors were held open by door magnets.

    Great hotel that was close for the railway station, town centre and had suitable car park facilities. Spa facilities were noted as very good although I didn't use them. Hotel food very good and priced very fair.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    A little gem of a hotel nestled on the canal bank just a stones throw from historic Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike .

    The hotel is ideally suited for those wishing to explore Chester and the surrounding area. The staff are friendly yet totally professional and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    6.3
    Great spa area, hotel rooms need updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were small dark and dingy, the staff very kindly upgraded the room which was better but the bed was the hardest and most uncomfortable mattress I’ve slept on. The breakfast was nice however the coffee was instant but served in a silver pot as if it were freshly ground and I though this really spoilt the service offered as a hotel of that size should serve fresh coffee. I understand chairs get old and worn but the chairs in the breakfast room were covered in spilt food and drinks which really let the room down. If it weren’t for the clean and comfortable spa area, it would be one of the worst hotels I’ve stayed in, in that area.

    The location and spa were perfect for us. The reception area and bar were all lovely and looked as though they were newly refurbished.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.9
    Very enjoyable great staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast que was a bit of a pain if you didn't time it right, could of been organised differently for example. have 2 stations to resolve this .

    Location was lively on the canal, food excellent good service

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.2
    Our room was lovely very large and had a jacuzzi bath which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the ladies charging rooms for the pool were closed making getting changed not a particular enjoyable experience

    Our room was lovely very large and had a jacuzzi bath which was a very nice surprise

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Brilliant amd enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We asked for a bigger room and the management couldnt of been more polite and fantastic about it. They mpve us to the new rooms built on 6th floor and they were fantastic and very roomy. Could not of been more happy

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    5.4
    Room was next to lift an noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was next to lift an noisy. Shower impossible to regulate and sorry to saw room or bathroom not clean. More attention is needed by housekeeping.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    The room was lovely and so we're the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was a Christmas present for our son and girlfriend. They were woken up at 8.45 with the cleaner in their room and check out wasn't until 11. She had to be asked to leave. They went down for breakfast at 9.10 but couldn't get breakfast which was included in the price of the room, because it was absolutely heaving. They finish serving at 10 and there was no way they could have got a table in time, so ended going for breakfast in town. Not the service we would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

    The room was lovely and so we're the staff. The evening meal was good quality and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.5
    Pleasant stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor in the bedroom is a bit dated and the bathroom could do with a facelift.

    Refurbished reception and bar area is nice. Generally hotel was clean and reasonably maintained. Staff are all courteous and helpful, especially with children.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.5
    Good location, rooms could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in both the bedroom and bathroom was poor. It was very difficult to apply make-up as there was insufficient light to see properly. The bathroom was very cramped and the shower was extremely weak.

    The breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly. The location was ideal. The pool was a good size and the changing facilities were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.5
    We will hopefully be back to stay at a reasonable rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If we could have stayed at the car park for free.

    The breakfast was well worth getting up in the morning for. Plenty of choice. The staff were always on hand. Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay with friends. This, I am sure is about the sixth time we have stayed at the Mill.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.5
    Quite enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't like how they are starting to charge for parking £7 50 a day they have cut the hours you can get hot food in the bar at weekend. We normally eat in bar and have a few drinks but we went out so they lost some trade.

    Nice room bed comfortable breakfast good.

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: