Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Minoa Athens Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

12 Karolou St., Athens, 10437, Greece

#172 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2272 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, nice rooms, cean (evry day we received new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A litle bit noisy early in the mornig due to traffic. and the neighborhood makes you feel unsafe walking at night.

    Good hotel, nice rooms, cean (evry day we received new towels), good breakfast. In about 15-20 min walk you can get to every important place, the metro station is at 5min walk, also the turistic buses stop near the hotel. The staff was extremly nice and there to help you with everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    Best value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet on the floor were clean but not new. Plus the room lights were not very bright. It could be just because of my personal preferences, but the room (although comfy) wasn't at par with other 4 star properties. The breakfast had very limited options, especially for a vegetarian like me.

    The front office staff was extremely helpful. They had printed maps of Athens and were kind enough to let us exact walkway and the metro routes and even how much do we need to spend! Also, the lady at their restaurant was very friendly and even allowed us to warm up our packaged food using their Microwave. Loved the hospitality! The rooms were silent, spacious and cosy. All the things you need for a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    6.7
    staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    couldn't sit anywhere for breakfast in the morning too crowded

    staff were fantastic. Ordered us our taxi to airport and the cafe was nice. Good location to walk to acropolis

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.5
    Beyond expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is not great, but that is probably the reason prices are so reasonable

    Attended a conference at Megaron Moussikis, some 2-3 km away from Minoan Athens Hotel. Found a good deal on Booking.com. When approaching hotel, was worried about location and facilities. Anyway, once there, was impressed by friendliness of staff, cleanliness of room, and easy access to tube station. Located less than 5 minutes walk from metro station, you can reach social and tourists hotspots (Monastiraki, Sintagma, Acropolis) in 15-20 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    A pleasant stay in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was much better than expected in terms of location, cleanness and overall service. The staff were very kind and helpful. The metro station was near the accommodation, so it was really easy to visit all the central attractions. I would also like to add that the towels and linen were changed on a daily basis and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Totally recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is well located. 25 min walk to Acropolis. The included breakfast is pretty good (coffee, juice, cold meat, cheese,croissants,etc). The staff is really nice. They let us check in early and check out late. Really great place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs at the entrance and no ramp. Wall with damp and no fan in the bathroom, so there was smell in the room. Good breakfast, but the same every morning. In the evening, the area starts to look a little strange.

    Good location, close to the metro station. Big triple room. Free good Wi-fi. Friendly and helpfull personal. Good breakfast, with hot crispy bread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.6
    A memory etched in our minds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I couldn't stay longer in that room.....we were leaving.

    We got back after an overnight tour to a wonderful surprise. The room was bigger, the bathroom very spacious with a big shower. But the terrace with the view of the Acropolis took the cake. We were already happy with the hotel and had decided to return so were very very pleased with this little upgrade from our previous room. Thank you so much. We really also appreciated both the times the breakfast which was a lot and had sufficient variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a bit tight but manageable - the view was not much but the balcony was nice to sit with a drink.

    The people at the reception were extremely friendly and accomodative ready to please with whatever we needed whether it was directions or room service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    6.3
    Towels and toiletries replaced every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water temperature changing all the time when showering. The beds looked old, were creaky and had wheels so they weren't very steady.

    Towels and toiletries replaced every day. Very close to metro station Very Polite receptionists

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    6.3
    Clean bedsheet and toilet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean bedsheet and toilet. No view and is about 8 minutes walk to nearest station. Breakfast was included but limited choice. Friendly staff. Only given water for first day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.3
    Very good and pleasant stay especially after taxi driver warned us of area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Locals suggest the location can be dangerous at night but we saw no evidence. Only complain was the carpet and wallpaper in our room seemed old. But generally the hotel seems to have been modernised and was stylish

    Service and breakfast for the price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    Good location for the money and very convenient 3minute walk to Metro station and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gentleman at recpetion. Didn't ask for his name, but a really nice man! Good location, and we so appreciated the cold water given to us upon arrival. Very closee to the main square of Karaiskaki, and metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.3
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was really small. If you’re a big person don’t get this hotel unless you don’t mind the bathroom curtain touching your back and arms. I am 60” 100 lbs and it touched my back. One of the staff was really rude. I believe he was night shift. The bed was very uncomfortable.

    Location was great. Spacious room but the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    5.8
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a little run down and there were some repairs/updates that were obviously needed otherwise it was fine.

    The staff were very friendly. The neighbourhood was fine during the day, however; I would take care to follow the well lit main streets vs. your GPS walking around at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.3
    friendly staff and nice location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - it was a bit noisy during the nights

    - very kind and friendly staff - nicely located, 2-min walk to/from the metro station - close to lots of restaurants and cafes, you should try the bread factory nearby!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.9
    Easy access to the Metro and 'Hope on Hop off bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hand held shower. The bath was deep and narrow and was hard to get out of - perhaps a grip on the wall? Don't open the curtains as the neighbourhood has buildings in dire need of maintenance

    Easy access to the Metro and 'Hope on Hop off bus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    3.8
    Athens was a stop over before visiting islands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small and in need of decoration. The toilet didn’t flush properly but they did fix it. Lack of light bulb in over bed light which was fixed when asked. These things should have been checked. Worst thing was finding a cockroach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    Room size was excellent, really big and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure in the shower, not many restaurants near by

    Room size was excellent, really big and spacious. Wifi worked really well and location was next to the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    6.7
    Budget hotel, budget price. Perfectly adequate for a day or two.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I see that others have commented about the area - for me, I felt safe, but the whole centre of Athens is an area where you have to keep your wits about you ad be very careful with your bags etc.

    This is a no frills hotel, on the budget side. An effort has been made to refurbish the corridor and public areas, and my room and bathroom were adequate. I was only staying two nights, but lack of luxury may have been a problem if I'd stayed longer. Staff were excellent and friendly, and breakfast was fine, with lots to eat, albeit rather limited (you get what you pay for). Breakfast room staff were very attentive, always making sure the plates were replenished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.1
    Consider it only if you have limited budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture is old, very small toilet and shower area... towels are dirty and some of them were broken... some dust on the floor and smelly when we got into the room

    The location is convenient, 70 meters walk from the metro station. The hotel building also looks great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    5.0
    Won’t come back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is very poor, at the given money, is not even basic is less than that, room per total is awfull, small, old, smelly, bathroom is just functional and that’s it, everything was falling apart, carpet is old, they say 3 stars, i say that 1 star is fair enough.

    Staff, is awesome and helpfull at any given time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.9
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is very good, but the way from city centre to the hotel was full with refugees, so it is not so safe area, but if you take a taxi it is OK, close to city centre.

    Everythong was good, the personal nice and halpful. The room clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.4
    I wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very poorly maintained. Bare wires, plug points that were loose, wallpaper peeling off. Just not what the hotel was described as being. the breakfast room was not big enough for the number of people staying at the hotel, so made for a very rushed and unrelaxed breakfast.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions etc. The cafe that is part of the hotel was reasonably priced and the staff there were also friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.9
    Good location and budget friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing specific. It met all our expectation.

    Reception staff was very helpful. He arranged a taxi for us in the early morning around 3 AM to go to syntigma square to catch the airport bus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    I would be happy to stay here again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only dislike was the traffic noise, although that is more a location problem rather than a hotel problem, being in the heart of Athens.

    Valentina and Sotiris (alternating at the front desk) were excellent hosts, offering every assistance without hesitation. Genuinely nice people, as were the ladies in the cafe. The breakfast room staff were friendly, polite and efficient, and the rooms were spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    My dream hotel permanently to stay in Athens
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    I have no words to appreciate entire staff because they will take care always very politely. They are really very good and smart staff works very professionally. I will always prefer to stay at this location and also refers my all of friends who will come to Athens. Everything beyond my expectations. They will treat such a way so we feel we are not in hotel but feels like home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.3
    great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room faced the street - pretty noisy traffic (lots of motorcycles). I would ha e appreciated some bogger space for the shower

    good location - close to Metaxourgyou Metro station, Karaiskakis Square - very easy to get anywhere in Athens

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean spacious room, good variety self service for breakfast... reasonably located for central attractions and just on the Metro to get anywhere else, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    6.3
    It could be beter
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is located on a main street very noisy also in the night for the front rooms. The breaksfast is very poor not so many thinks to chose from.the cafe is filter no expresso and not so good.please thinq twice before book this hotel.it was also expensive one.

    The hotel is near the city center and the metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Please consider 3 stars hotel. For this amount/night you can't expect 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to metro and hop-on hop-off bus station (for such buses buy on-line tickets before. You will save at least 5 euro/day/ticket) . In metro station area you will find nice place with take away food. Nice lady at reception. Room clean daily. New towels daily. New sheets every 3rd day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.8
    Staff was very helpful,hotel is in bad shape and unsafe neighbourhood. Overpriced,outdated hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is all in all in bad shape. Surrounding neighbourhood you don't feel safe, very dirty streets and you don't feel safe. Reception staff was honest and said we should keep anything in car becauuse it's a bad neighbourhood! Breakfast was not good, no diversity and only bread,butter,jam and boiled eggs. It was not a good deal and I wouldn't go there twice!

    Reception was very helpful, changed our room after I had an allergic reaction to the bed in room. I don't if it was because it wasn't clean enough, old fashion style and dusty look.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Great value hotel with superb location and nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Basic hotel, with not a lot of facilities

    Amazing location close to Omonia, and right next to a main metro station.. Very spacious clean rooms, friendly staff, cheap good breakfast, overall great value! Highly recommended, especially for a short stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kettle in the room would have been very helpful. Too small shower compartment.

    Good location near metro station and in a walk distance to the old city. Very attentive and helpful staff, Valentina gave us a lot of advice. The garage near by is of great advantage for those who travel on their car. The buffet breakfast was quite decent. Good wi-fi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    8.8
    Good price, good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apparently, it's the red district. If you r not looking for anything, it's perfectly safe during the day, but if you are, well, enjoy your holiday :)

    I stashed my mom in this hotel because it's attached to the subway, 50 meters or actually less, you can see the hotel sign right out of the metro. The staff is amazing, Mr. Smile speaks perfect italian and Mrs. Frost melted with time, they both were very hospitable. I would strongly suggest a room not facing the main street. Balkan restaurant, 2 full meals, 9 euros. We kept the ticket in disbelief.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    7.9
    Very good value for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are not very comfortable. The hotel is on a main street that is safe, close to transport. But overall, the area is not safe at night for a woman alone. Couple of streets around the hotel that you should definitely avoid.

    Very good value. We were given a nice room on the top floor with a fantastic view on the Acropolis. Breakfast is ok and the parking next to the hotel is very convenient. Room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    We'll definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My girlfriend and I spent 6 nights at Minoa Hotel, Sotiris and the rest of the staff have been excellent. He explained us everything (metro, touristic points, what to see, where to eat etc.) and he also taught us some greek words and numbers (he speaks lots of languages). The hotel is located in a very good position (100 m from the metro station, 4 stops from Acropoli, 1 from the central train station) and the room was very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    5.0
    Stuff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration was ugly and the sofa seemed to be dirty..the room had a weird smell. Breakfast was very poor and not tasty at all. In this price you book in other countries better rooms. But for 2 days it was okay.

    Stuff were very friendly and helpful. The location was very near to the city centre and it was very important that wed did have a parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly, nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street was a little noisy, but there is always traffic in the streets of Athens.

    We had new towels and cleaned room every day. The breakfast was excellent and enough. I liked the elevator with the lovely music inside. The hotel had a free luggage room, which was really helpful for the last day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.1
    NO HOTEL PARKING BEWARE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the most comfortable bed. Would have been good to have a couple of english tv channels. Hotel description included parking. But this was 10€ as the hotel has no parking but is located next to private car park which cost me 10€. Feel a bit cheated about this as I would have booked elsewhere if I had known. Booking.com description incorrect!.

    Centre of Athens. Friendly staff. Clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    7.9
    Best place for your business or pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Athens center is infamous for it's criminality. Use metro!

    Best place for your business or pleasure. Use metro. Dont trust surrounding streets during night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    7.9
    this was a good choice for a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Area around the hotel - not nice part of Athens Not so good breakfast but also not horrible.

    Decent hotel for a good price. We haven't expected much as we were looking for something less expensive (we were outside the hotel whole day long anyway) The area around the hotel is not the nicest one but it is definitely good location for sightseeing in Athens. Just few meters to metro and we even took a walk back from Acropolis :) Great Staff (nice and helpful). We got exact;y what we wanted - medium quality for good price and with excellent starting point for sighseeing in Athens

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    5.4
    It could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am a regular client. I expect better attention to detail and assumptions not to be made on my status

    When my booking is for two people & the price accordingly , I expect two sets of towels, even if I turn up just by myself. This did not happen for 3 nights out of four. My request for an ealy morning call was not acted upon, which meant I had to keep the taxi waiting for taking me to the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    10
    will visit again and again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    excellent staff in all 3 shifts, everyone is very cooperative, very helpful, always smiling face, helps beyond our expectations and helps for our personal travel information too. all staff is welcoming mood always

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, was able to check in at 1 am
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Groups of mostly Italian people chatting/screaming/laughing in the halls at all hours of the night!!!! It woke me up many times over 5 nights and when I asked for them to be quiet, they resumed being loud a minute later. Very thin walls. The breakfast has no variety and only offers the absolute minimum.

    Excellent location, was able to check in at 1 am

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. The room was really big, and the climatisantion was working as it should. We had a great stay. Arround the corner great small restaurant BALKAN with great food (calamary was fresh and crispy and all the food was just GREAT).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    Great hotel for vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom is not so big but it's clean.

    I spent 7 days in Athens. Great location of the hotel, 5min from Omonia on foot. There is also metro station near the hotel. The receptionists are great and very kind. Rooms are clean and comfortable. For this price it is more then perfect. There is not so much noise from the street and the beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.9
    Metaxourgıo metro location 2 minutes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Metaxourgıo metro location 2 minutes. 10 minute walk from Monastiraki metro station Staff were friendly very helpful:) The rooms are clean. Breakfast standard.Wi-fi connection was also good. Efharisto poli:))

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is pretty central and as Athens is not a big city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The WiFi connection was very poor. Basically unusable. I had to use my phone as a mobile hot spot to get an internet connection for my tablet. Everything else was good

    The hotel is pretty central and as Athens is not a big city I was able to walk to all the things I wanted to see or use the Metro. Staff were lovely and really did their best. However this is a budget hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    8.8
    Very goodhearted reception, great location for travelers,...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sound insulation is nonexistent, you can hear other guests. Mini frige is very loud.

    Very goodhearted reception, great location for travelers, very clean. Best option for those with early busses from KTEL. Exceptional price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    7.1
    Staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was terrible. Bathroom is very old including the shower curtain . Thin walls, very noisy from the neighbours and outside. The room is pretty small and only one plug in working.

    Staff is very friendly. Close to metro but area is not very good even if it's considered central. Beds are comfortable. Cleaning was good. I thinks it's quite the standard of 3 stars in Greece.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very nice, always smiling and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi is not very stable.

    The staff was very nice, always smiling and helpful. The car parking is on the next building, and it costs 5€ a day. The room was big and onfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    10
    Cosy hotel close to metro Metaxourgio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine

    It was an excellent stay in Minoa Hotel. The receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. In general all the staff was very kind. The room 45 was very cosy and clean. The hotel is a couple of minutes to walk to the metro station Metaxourgio. The area is ok. We would come again to stay there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.1
    The hotel has a good location, close to metro, 3 metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To my taste, breakfast choice was way too limited, not many options to choose from.

    The hotel has a good location, close to metro, 3 metro stations and you get to the city center. The personnel was friendly and kind. The rooms were clean and tidy. In general, good place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    It was nice as always.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine! The room and the staff in reception very welcoming and helpful. This hotel is my favourite accommodation in Athens . So near to the metro and to the centre. I have also to reccomand you Geustiki Gonia (Tasty Corner) a simple tastful restaurant reccomanded to me by Mr. Sotiris the receptionist. It's really a pearl. Try it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.2
    A perfect place to stay for Athens, most of the key places are a short walk or few stops on Metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I hate to say it, but the shower was basic, but I did have a view of the Acropolis!

    If you are into croissants, this is not the place, but the bread is good and fresh, yoghurt delicious and plenty to eat. Good value, good location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    7.9
    The location was great and the staff very friendly.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was making too much noise and the sheets were destroyed. The breakfast was awful without variety and the vegetables no fresh at all.

    The location was great and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.5
    Overall.. It was Good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Woukd have been better with some hot food in the breakfast such as scrambled eggs or omelet instead of boiled eggs.

    Cleanliness, friendly staff, good breakfast, central location, good transport connections.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    8.8
    Will come back. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could easily hear any sound/noise outside the room.

    The friendly staff, great location. Clean room and toilet. Shops, restaurants and cafes are nearby. and Hop-on Hop-Off bus station is just across the street. With toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    9.2
    Аn excellent hotel for not very choosy lodgers.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Very uncomfortable shower section in bathroom - small curtained space, no bathtube, the shower should be kept in hand. Poor condition of water pipes or taps, which continually growl. Bad soundproofing. Also, when someone smokes in the next room, it feels like they are smoking in your room. And even the open balcony door does not help.

    I want to specially thank the staff of this hotel, including people at the reception and room service. Everyone was very friendly and did a good job. I booked a single room, but was placed in a double one on the top floor. There was a split system AC, fridge and TV with mostly greek channels. WiFi connection was also good. The room was cleaned, bed linen and towels changed daily. Cannot say anything about breakfasts, because didn't manage to try them despite the fact that they were included. The hotel itself has a good location. Metro station, small shops, bakeries, cafes are located in the immediate vicinity. Omonia square is in 5 minutes walk and Syntagma square is in 20 minutes walk. From Syntagma square it is possible to reach Monastiraki by walking down the famous Ermou street. Sure, those who don't like a lot of walking can take advantage of the metro to reach the most of tourist destinations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    7.1
    Overall it was a good stay and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The persistent smell of cigarette smoke that permeated the facility. Distance from the airport cost about 43 euro but was in an area that accessed the entire city by City sightseeing local bus.

    The smoking in and around the property was evident inside the property. It smelled as though it was a smoking hotel, which was the reason for my scoring. The day time woman desk clerk was very friendly and accommodating and kind. The breakfast was fine for continental and the cafe pastries were tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.9
    You can reach everyrhing in a couple of minutes *...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor breakfast- not as shown on hotel site - they even try to offer me room not as I requested - but upon insisting I got my room. You have to insist about what asked for including cleaning .

    You can reach everyrhing in a couple of minutes * restaurants - cafes - everything around .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sound isolation of the room is not perfect, and some rooms which have street side view are noisy during the day and night, but all together at the end was acceptable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    If you choose between Nafsika, Cosmos and Minoa hotel in...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you choose between Nafsika, Cosmos and Minoa hotel in this street, book Minoa (I tried them all). The staff is very friendly and room is OK. I'll book it again for sure, because I got a good value for a price I paid. The manager sang me "Happy birthday" song in Greek

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    8.8
    Value for Money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was way toooo slow, Breakfast is ok but needs a better variety. There is almost all the time traffic at the elevator. Once I had to wait for 4 minutes in order to arrive at 6th floor. TV is way tooo small

    Value for Money. Only 150m from metro station, City center, Very friendly stuff (second day and they already knew my coffee preferences). Room was cleaned and room was restocked with bathroom necessities every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.3
    Best Value for money, located in a congested area but close to metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular-the hotel is located in a congested area -but so I guess is entire Athens city- densely populated.

    Very helpful staff, close to metro

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    6.7
    Convenient short stay, accessible location. Nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioner hardly works. It was colder to keep the balcony open, in spite of the street noise. Ants on dressing table everyday in spite of daily cleaning. Safety box hard to use, not standard.

    Friendly staff, genuinely caring and helpful. Good location to metro/airport and main attractions. Good price. Comfortable bed (ie not too soft) with many pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    5.0
    Terrible Staff, didn't realise we had been overcharged until we left the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff that sit at reception are excruciatingly rude and don't speak great English which is bad since a lot of people who come and stay at these hotels speak english. Another bad thing is how unorganised the booking went. Upon checking out there was a huge mix up as apparently you pay for your stay upon checking out which doesn't make sense at all since upon booking you are tricked into believing you've booked already. Long story short we were running late to the airport as a result of such confusion and because we were so preoccupied with rushing to the airport we didn't realise until we were in Italy that we were overcharged for days already payed. Stay aware people!

    I liked the bed. That''s pretty much all the hotel has to offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed the Minoa Athens Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor was outdated.

    We mostly liked the staff and that it was clean. The room was spacious as well as the bathroom. The bathroom was also semi updated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    4.6
    Good side the Metro station is 2' away, free WiFi and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As been in the lodging sector for 8 years and as physical security officer, the hotel has serious ussies regarding security. The room doors will not lock from the inside and with a simple card you can pick the latch and have access to the room. Breakfast really poor, the facility is really old and you can see it. maintenance wise they have ussies as for example the A/C filters and overall unit is filthy. Not recommended for family's as locations is not good not safe, and not for long period of time, maybe just for a night.

    Good side the Metro station is 2' away, free WiFi and staff good and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    8.8
    A Grécia é linda!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast could be better and at least till eleven am.

    The staff is great! Very helpful nas welcoming. Near the metro station of Metaxougio. For the price is a really good place to stay and enjoyable also. You can leave tour lugage after you check out for as long as you need and you can eat nearby very good and cheap. I do recomend ir!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    7.1
    good budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the locks on doors need to be updated, plain key locki think the hotel is in the process of renovation so some rooms are better than others. ask for a newer room.

    v close to metro, easy to find, great wifi; we stayed just one night so didn't see much of it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything. Great price-quality relation.

    Great location. The room is big and everything is very clean and comfy. The breakfast is ok. For the price you're paying is really a great deal to stay at Minoa Hotel. I'll stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    3.8
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place run down,some concierge ok,1 guy a bit of a basil fawlty

    Breakfast second rate and little if no service ,better walking 2 minutes along the street far nicer and service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, some rooms were good some not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we stayed in had carpet and it looked old, used and needed ripping up. The bathroom looked like it had been redone but not well. We asked to change to a room without carpet and it wasnt a problem. The second room was great. The view was of the apartment building across the street but this wasnt an issue.

    The beds were great, the location was in walkable distance from the main attractions of Athens. Parking was next door. The breakfast was basic but ok, the cafe down stairs had great coffee. The staff were lovely & helpful. Make sure you ask for a room without carpet.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: