Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bavaria This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Borgo degli Albizi 26, Uffizi, 50122 Florence, Italy

#223 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1373 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.2
    The location is very good and I really like the building, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restroom is shared, so if someone is taking a shower you have to wait

    The location is very good and I really like the building, it is a old building, typical as the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Bavaria recommended for 2 to 3 days maximum stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of stairs and a little hard to find

    Dead in the center of Florence, breakfast was good and building beautiful, price wasn't that high for Florence

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Location was amazing and the breakfast was really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only a fan as aircon. Room got extremely hot at night.

    Location was amazing and the breakfast was really nice! Plus really clean room and bathroom!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.5
    Absolutely great building with a manual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because it’s so old: No airco. No bathroom, but you have a private shower No private toilet. No elevator. No parking, yes 5 blocks away. € 26,00 a night.

    Location is great. The hotel is in a 500 year old building. Belonged to one of the family Du Medici!! The richest family in Europe in these years. Inventor of our Banking system!! Whatever that meant for the world...absolutely Awesome building. Stunnjng rooms. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, Historical building in the heart of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no Air condidioner. I knew it before booking, but still it was really hot without it, even with the fan which was provided.

    Its a historical building. Very quiet & clean inside. Shared bathroom, but not that busy. Best price. Location is amazing. Also, "Carrefour express" is in 20 meters.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    The property itself is an old house in the city centre -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property itself is an old house in the city centre - hence excellent location and authentic feels but no lifts. Shared toilets were not always the cleanest, but the room was clean and spacious, with an amazing view from the window. The breakfast was pretty average. Overall, would stay again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing and way too far from any tourist spots
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Included breakfast was a joke! Only cornflakes, driend , packaged toast, crackers, 'croissants', Brioche. Long life milk and reconstituted juice, ordinary tea and coffee. No dishwasher, and not enough plates, cups, dining chairs, etc The noise was terrible until late, and then again from 4:30 am onwards in the morning No nearby water taxis No reception or staff (we called 4 times, and had to wait in an alley for nearly an hour before we were let in

    The cleanliness and size of the rooms and bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    Great central location, very friendly staff, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a family room, the shower facilities were in the room with only a portable screen. Access was via lots of stairs.

    Great central location, very friendly staff, nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    We had a room with a brand new bathroom, which was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a little underwhelming and 5 flights of steps to the room every time really made us overuse the phrase "feel the burn"

    We had a room with a brand new bathroom, which was fantastic. The rooms are huge with amazing ceilings. The location is right in the middle of everything - with nothing more than a 20 min walk. Really enjoyed our time here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.6
    Central Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to walk the 4 flights of stairs to the second level where the hotel is carrying your luggage. There are no lifts for either people or baggage. Shower was too small.

    The balcony in our room was a fantastic surprise. We sat out there every day. Catering at the breakfasts for Gluten Free was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    Great no frills place with an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although it is an old building this was used as an excuse for things. There was a kettle provided but plugging it in was a pain, using an extension lead or moving furniture could have dealt with that. Poor lighting in the evening when entering the property was a little off putting.

    Breakfast was decent quality and good offerings. Not all rooms are on suite but don't let this put you off, bathroom was clean and tidy. Location was fantastic, 2 minutes and you're in the middle of it all!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    But to find the hotel at first is problematic. You wont find the usual name board, it's like a floor in a 3 storey building. The building has a huge gate and the name of the hotel is mentioned on the wall along with other names. Suggestion would be find it out by the house number or near by shops as shown in the google map.

    You have variants in breakfast apart from croissants. We missed as we had an early train to Venice .The location is too good , you can reach major attractions by walk. Beds are comfortable and the accommodation is neat and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    Florence has far too much to offer for one wanting to stay in a hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cons: 3 flights of stairs and no lift, so really awkward to take luggage up and down. Not suitable for older people. The decor is dated but clean and the bathrooms would need a little tlc. However you are not paying 5* prices. However most of the centrally located places in Florence are like that.

    Pros: Lovely staff, excellent location and amazing value for money. We enjoyed it as for us it was just a place to leave the bags and sleep. Florence has far too much to offer for one wanting to stay in a hotel room. Over all we would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    6.7
    It's clean and fancy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room next to the street is super noisy till 4am. I can't have a good rest at the fist night. The next the staff shift a room on the other side for me. The room on the other side is good!

    It's clean and fancy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great price & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Alex gave us a map on arrival & circled all the places i had on my list to visit. He also recommended a great restaurant. Sharing 2 bathrooms between 9 rooms was easy. Love the sink & mirror in the bedroom. Love the painting of cupids above our bed. He said that they are a 1 star hotel, it felt like a 3 star to me. 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.3
    Very convneinet and please
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really a complaint but the hotel is quite difficult to find the first time even when you are on the street on which it is located. Breakfast area is small and we had to wait to be seated a few of the mornings though no more than a few minutes. WiFi did not seem to be available in the rooms.

    Very large room almost in the city centre of Florence but still a quiet and peaceful place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.3
    Great location if you don't mind sharing a toilet!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared toilet (while booking, "Private bathroom" made me think we have bathroom with the toilet within the room ... well, no, toilet was shared) - but clean! Breakfast - no ham? no Prosciutto?

    Fantastic location - in the middle of the Florence. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    8.3
    Great value for a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower right in the room with a screen in front of it was a little odd but okay.

    Excellent location, right in the heart of Florence. Up a long flight of stairs in an old villa. Our room was huge with murals on two walls and a window into the courtyard. Very easy place to stay. Don't miss the outside of the building with it's old stucco painting--you have to go down the side street and stand back to get the full effect. Shared bathroom down the hall was kept very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    An amazing start to our honeymoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 flights of stairs up, but that can't really be helped too much. The noise from the street was quite loud but I think there was only 3 rooms facing the street so most would not be affected. Didn't bother us too much but the bars could be loud.

    Great Location right in the centre of The old city. Easy walking distance for everything. The Rooms were comfy and huge! The history of the building was fascinating. Breakfast was good, slightly limited but what they did have was good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.3
    A great experience :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator is not available therefore heavy luggages are troublesome. With the price paid, the breakfast is expected to be of higher quality.

    The property was extremely clean. Staff was supportive. A good view from the window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    9.6
    Not too far from Firenze SMN station, so it is easy to get a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi connection was not always very good. Sound travels, and so at times it can be noisy. Fortunately, I am a deep sleeper and spent most of the day out.

    Not too far from Firenze SMN station, so it is easy to get a train or bus to from Pisa airport. The hotel is within an easy walking distance to a lot of the sights, galleries and museums - it is right around the corner from the duomo. Friendly staff. Nice room. The shared toilet and shower were kept well and not a problem to use. The stairs up to the hotel are not really a problem, unless you choose (like me) to climb to the top of the duomo and bell tower on the same day - it's good exercise. However if you smoke, you must go outside the hotel and out the courtyard, which means a lot of stairs will be climbed. Lastly, the breakfast is a nice bit of food to get you started for the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.8
    The location is great , also the architecture is magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to carry your luggage and suitcases by yourself for about 50 stairs ,no elevator or help. That was uncomfortable.

    The location is great , also the architecture is magnificent. It was quiet and I had a nice stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.8
    It was so close to everywhere we wanted to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The communal bathrooms were interesting and I wish there was an elevator for heavy luggage!

    It was so close to everywhere we wanted to go. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was a great perk!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, very interesting decoration in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom is outside the room.

    Excellent location, very interesting decoration in rooms. Great breakfast! Clean and large room, very nice lounge. Definitely I'd like to stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    International breakfast with no eggs. Its okay if you enjoy croissants and white bread. I took my stuff with me (organic coffee, brown german bread and non gluten oatmeal and they were quite ok with it (didn't make any comment).

    Personal was really nice. It was freezing outside (snowing!!!) and the hotel was quite warm. Very clean, even the shared bathroom. Would stay there again!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one (small) bathroom for the whole hotel, room walls so thin we could hear our neighbour making his phone calls until 2AM, two single beds put together, so not great for couples.

    Great location, close to everything. Very kind staff !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    9.6
    At that price it was well worth the stay and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One shower was a bit tight. Kept knocking the watertap. Toilet a bit akward in that bathroom too. other bathroom was good though, so I used that. Rooms were very warm on arrival, but needs differ of course. Other than that, its quite a long way up after a full day walking in the town. Again, other people might have less full days planned.

    Croissants didn't seem fresh, but as I don't eat them, that was ok. Bread rolls were fresh and plenty other breakfast was provided. Only issue for me was using coffee machine to make tea, it leaves a coffee taste in tea, but boiler in bedroom so thats grand.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful high ceilings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's not fun having to share a bathroom, but I didn't find it too inconvenient

    Beautiful high ceilings. The staff were all very nice, and I found breakfast to be satisfactory.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    7.1
    It was fine, the location of the hotel made up for the below expectation accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi was slow and it was unclear that there was no shower or toilet in the room. The walls were thin so we could hear all of our neighbours

    Location was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast should be more diverse, internet is not very fast.

    Excellent location, really close to the Dome, very nice old building, seems like an old palazzo. Quiet rooms, in spite of being right in the city centre. It’s within walking distance from all major attractions. The interiors are very nice, rooms are spacious. There is a very nice living room area. We missed our flight and returned to the hotel for another night. We got a new room at the same price. Very nice staff, appreciate the hospitality. Very good price - quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did enjoy the stay at hotel Bavaria. The price was very fair to the location of the hotel, right in the centre. The breakfast was excellent as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    7.9
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Guests should know that they will have to climb four flights of stairs to get to the hotel. I'm 71 and it was an effort, esp. After walking to the hotel. My room was next to the front door and it was noisy.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    10
    It is not a trivial hotel, but a true experience of historical Florence. Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the shower is a bit slow to drain, leaving a puddle. Which is understandable in such an old, indeed historical building.

    Huge room with full of character - it IS a real palazzo. Loved it! Three flights of palatial stairs. (No TV, which is aesthetically right - although the children moaned a bit). Excellent location - short walk to all main attractions. Very friendly helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Amazing value for money, we hope to stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing charming room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower could have been closed in better to keep bathroom a little dryer, not a big issue. Other than that no complaints whatsoever.

    Amazing atmosphere to be staying in a room dated back to 1558 adds to the charm of Florence. We feel privileged to have been able to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel in the very center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    located on the 2nd floor, which means some stairs, of a really charming and historical building, the lobby/common area is definitely a wow. Only 2 min walk from Santa Maria Basilica, near to everywhere. The ceiling is high and the room is spacy. the shared toilet is always clean. Also the hotel recommended some restaurants, really worth of trying.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    7.9
    Nice place, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are lucky to find the place easily as we saw some people coming out and guessed that this is the place. There is a massive door by the main street and the hotel occupies the second floor of the building- hotel name should be more clearly labelled at the main entrance. Our room was a bit noisy (next to the entrance) but we stayed only 1 night so i absolutely understand the landlords for this choice.

    The place is an interesting historic building located in very central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.1
    Very enjoyable apart from have to take heavy suitcases up so many stairs and having to share toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a shared toilet, the room only had a shower which was average in quality. There were also a lot of stairs to carry heavy suitcases up.

    The room was good and the bed very comfortable. The location was excellent, very handy to restaurants etc and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.8
    Except for the 80 steps, pretty much ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    80 steps to get to our room (we are over 60), no lift, 2 big pieces of lugagge because we went to a couple of cruises afterwards. And no help to carry the bags.

    Nice included breakfast. Big room, nice bed, quiet, central position to tourist attractions, walked everywhere, lots of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    7.1
    convenient for local area attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    had a kettle and cups but no ingredients to make coffee / tea etc in room. A little noisy first thing in the morning !

    convenient for local area attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    6.7
    Basic hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was dark and basic. Bed was uncomfortable. Noise could be heard from the courtyard and street. No air conditioning, although a fan was provided. Pretty average breakfast.

    Excellent location (5 minutes from Duomo). Hotel is in a nice historic building, and we had a room overlooking the coutyard. Very spacious room. Buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    4.6
    a very bad experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    we like only the location,in the rest everthing is a big mistake if you will book this hotel because is not a hotel,they don't have even a reception

    The hotel is at the2nd floor,no elevator,comun toilet for 7 rooms,generally the presentation on booking is out of reality,only the location is ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    10
    The hotel provided all that was needed for our 4 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A quiet and comfortable hotel with friendly and exceptionally helpful staff. The continental breakfast was very good, and the central location provided easy walking distance to many places of interest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.2
    Comfy, real good abundant breakfast & best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The problem was the room view (no view of attractions) and the shared bathroom for too many guests (we had to stay in line in the morning). If the property fixes the bathroom issue I would give 10+ points

    The breakfast was abundant and exquisite. The bed was comfortable and the room was cleaned everyday. The location is perfect in the center of historical area and very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    8.3
    Great location, with a few downsides.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is not air conditioned and is located three floors up, which makes it a pretty long haul with heavy bags-- but there was a fan in the room, which helped. Also, I did not find a whole lot of electrical outlets, so i had to turn the fan off in order to charge our phones and dry my hair.

    The Staff was wonderful. Breakfast was very nice. We had a large room with a shower, but shared the bathrooms. The shared bathrooms were clean and we never had a problem with availability. The property was very centrally located and only a few blocks from the Duomo and excellent gelato. I definitely would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    9.2
    The location was extremely central right next to main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was extremely central right next to main cathedral. It was only a short 15 minute walk from the main station. The owner was very helpful and friendly and made you feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    8.3
    Roomy rooms. An elevator and air conditioning would have made it perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's NO AIR CONDITIONING! At night, we had to have the window open and the fan running full blast and we were still sweaty. Unfortunately, the place is so close to the center of things that we were kept up at night by LOUD party goers outside on the streets. They were drunken and loud. ALSO, there's NO ELEVATOR so you have to walk up 4-5 flights of stairs to get to your room(s).

    The rooms were huge. So nice compared to other European tiny spaces.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    5.8
    Worst place we stayed at in Italy, and we are easily pleased women. NO AIRCON. SHARED BATHROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property was close to a lot of things...Bit of a hike from the train station (lugging your suitcases across cobblestones in the heat for about 20 mins) but you can see a lot of Florence and you walk through the Duomo Square. The room we were staying in only offered a fan and i think we were in a room that was facing the sun for the entire day and thus heated up! My friend and I had to sleep on the tiles for a night because of the heat. Probably one of the most uncomfortable night sleeps I've had. Waking up drenched in sweat, sleeping on the tiles with a little standing desk fan to cool down two adults. A tile also fell off of the bottom of the door frame. SHARED BATHROOM! meaning that everyone in the building shares 2 bathrooms...we didn't read that in the fine print (our mistake). Breakfast was good. Tea and coffee were good. The two gentlemen at the desk were nice but one of the cleaning ladies and the lady helping at breakfast always seemed like she hated life and was really grouchy. No elevator. And is up about 4 flights of stairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful big room in middle of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room With Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC, which is not nice when it is 38 degrees Celsius. But I think the temperature was extreme, even for Italy.

    The room in this hotel was so beautiful and big. We had to leave early, so we can not rate their breakfast, but it was included. In terms of location, this is smack in the middle of Florence 2 minutes walk from Duomo the big church. You have to walk up 2 flight of stairs to get to the hotel and there is no elevator, so not good for people that cannot get up stairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    8.8
    Great room and fantastic location, just needs air con!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con so room was very hot when trying to sleep, there was a fan provided but just blew hot air around so did little to cool the room down - only downside

    Rooms were very big and the shower was good and hand that it was in the room. Breakfast had a variety of things to set you up for the day. Location was fantastic, 5 minutes tops to the Cathedral and for places to eat or drink

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    4.6
    The hotel is located in the very center of the town and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was small, the bed was short, the window facing a bathroom window, furniture was old and shabby and walls of the room - stained. The hotel has no elevator and is located on the second floor of an old building. Brioches for breakfast do not tastfreshly baked. A small lizard lives in one of the shared bathrooms. Cleaning of the room was rather symbolic.

    The hotel is located in the very center of the town and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.5
    1. There was not air-conditioner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. There was not air-conditioner. The hot in Florence is a big problem. 2. The connection in Internet during the 2 days stay was a big problem. I managed to enter at 6 oclock in the morning. After 7.30 it was impossible. The hotel must have more lines. 3. The decoration in the room and in the bathroom is so simple.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    8.8
    The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should replace the defective and old ventilators. One was not spinning. They replaced, and we found that the replacement was not great either. The internet signal is poor.

    The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast was great. The location of this Hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Location, amazing design !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shared toilet aspect of it.

    The hotel was in an excellent location , right in the heart of Florence and all the shops , restaurants and cafes .10/10 for location ! The hotel has an amazing renaissance design/theme to it , as it was built in 1500s if i remember correctly. The owner is super nice and friendly. The rooms are huge and a nice breakfast is included !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is perfect, easy access to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is perfect, easy access to the main attractions, the building itself is old and interesting with nice court in the middle. Though the room we booked seemed better in photos. The ceiling is low and room is quite dark due to the small window. Breakfast was ok. No Wi-Fi!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    8.3
    Close to city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No AC, and It does get quite hot in the summer, but they did provide a fan. Shared bathroom :/ - was maintained clean though!

    Great location! Close to Piazza del Duomo. A lot of restaurants and shops on the street. Great breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.2
    Location amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room With Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location amazing. If You want to see Firenze - its for You. Excellent bar and market in 60 meters. Parking (costs in addition) in 100 meters. Historical building (painted by Vasari); highly recommended if You want hotel in comfortable location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator in the building so we had to carry our 20kg bags up 4 flights of stairs. Had to share a bathroom with other guests, which wasn't ideal.

    Very nice hotel! Very spacious and in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    8.8
    A great basic penzione!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bedroom had a door (locked, of course) with another bedroom. The people on the other bedroom kept talking at normal viice volume until around midnight. We were tired and had hoped to go to sleep earlier than that.

    Great location, very nice staff and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    8.3
    Exploring Florence ideal base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bath only a shower that was fixed so you couldn't move the head about

    Huge huge room Breakfast very good If you require a base for exploring Florence and will be out of the accommodation all day then this is for you it's bed and breakfast no frills

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    7.9
    Nice for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 80 stone steps from street level to our room which are a bit of an effort to navigate as the property does not have a lift. I had to make three trips up and down with large cases/bags before we had even checked in which may be an issue for some people? The room is very large with a very high ceiling and therefor at night, other guests can be heard attempting to get into their rooms as everything tends to echo in the building and room. We then had the local pigeons, that lived just outside our window, decide to have a 'punch up' at around 05:00am! But, for a short stay, the location and cost outway the small negatives.

    The location is perfect, the building is full of character, the staff (owner) are extremely helpful and the breakfast is fine. We had a party of 4 with age ranges from 15 to 84 so, the large family room was a good choice and very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    4.0
    There was no AC.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no AC. When you open the window, mosquito won't allow to sleep. Hot summer is not for this hotel. If you have heavy bags, have to carry till 2nd fl. but this as not a big deal. Booking.com is the best. Never use their personal site. Very bad experience I had.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    9.2
    Weekend in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surprised was la Petite déjeuner

    Service of the hotel if I can colored like that. Location of the hotel it took something like 3 minutes from the Duomo.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, not so clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only one shared bathroom and toilet (together) for the whole floor which are not cleaned so often. Rooms also could be cleaner.

    Great location. Located at the hearth of the city. Free Wi-Fi is perfect. Really fast and stable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.2
    Great location to see the sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of keys and stairs. If you come in late, you need a key to unlock the gates, then a key to get into the main area, and a third key to unlock your door, and no one is there to assist you. We were expecting the stairs from other reviews, but had hiked Cinque Terre the day before and so were pretty worn out (not their fault, of course)! It feels as if it could use some sprucing up, such as some new paint.

    The property is close to all of the places you want to go to in Florence. They serve a great breakfast, including yogurt (it's hard to find protein for breakfast in Italy!). We had a room on the top floor, with an incredible view of the Duomo (see photo). Our room was HUGE, with a double and two twin beds. The bathroom was a nice size compared to others we stayed at in Italy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great.

    Staff was extremely helpful and nice very lovely place to stay. Staff made us feel very welcome.would definitely recommend and we would love to return

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.2
    Super central, clean and cool place
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived late, because it was really really hard to find as they don't have any big sign outside the place. The welcome was everything, but not warm. It seemed that the guy was annoyed that we were arriving that late. But expect from that there was really NOTHING to complain.

    Very central, around 2 minutes to the Cathedral, walking. Really nice and cool accomodation with everything we needed. Although we had a quite negative start, I would highly recommend this place!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    5.4
    Location near touristic attractions, clean cotton towels,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one bathroom and a toilet for many rooms , coffe during breakfast was provided only by coffee machine which was difficult to operate, floor in the room is covered with old ingraved dust - floor obviously might benefit from renovation.

    Location near touristic attractions, clean cotton towels, comfortable pillows, available hairdryer, kettle. Nice yogurt for breakfast . Design of the hall and the room for the rest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    10
    Top hotel to stay in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room With Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sharing bathroom is not so convenient.

    We stayed in a 3-person bedroom with balcony. The view is amazing. This might be the only room with balcony in this hotel!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, basic room with shared bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels are really thin. We don't recommend booking a shared bathroom because the room is small and basic.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.8
    It was simple but lovely atmosphere and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower wasn't the best - kept going hot and cold. Separate bathroom wasn't ideal but it wasn't a problem to us. Always available when we needed it.

    It was simple but lovely atmosphere and quiet. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    9.6
    Great gentleman at the reception, excellent locatin near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room mentioned in the description was bigger than the actual room we got, but the room was very nice and still big. The only drawback was the slight sigarets smell,felt by sensitive girl's nose :) - somebody before us must have been smoking there regardless the restrictons.

    Great gentleman at the reception, excellent locatin near the cathedral, cool place itself - the old palace with lots of space and common areas, high ceilings and huge windows. Good breakfast, nice spacious common rooms/corridors.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    7.9
    THE LOCATION WAS GREAT, MINUTES' WALK FROM THE DUOMO-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    IT'S A MODEST HOTEL, WE TOOK IT SINCE IT WAS IN THE OLD CENTER AND AFFORDABLE FROM THE FINANCIAL POINT OF VIEW.

    THE LOCATION WAS GREAT, MINUTES' WALK FROM THE DUOMO- THE CATHEDRAL.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly lovely. Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    82 magnificent stone steps to our room and no lift. Plumbing antiquated but not quite sixteenth century.

    What a joy to stay in a sixteenth century palace in beautiful Florence. Room was large bed was comfortable and we slept well. A bit "shabby chic" but we absolutely loved it. Great location. Great breakfast. Spotlessly clean. Polite and efficient staff. .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    9.6
    The room was huge and there was a common room that was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not book a room with a bathroom ensuite and there was only one bathroom on the whole floor to share with other rooms...had to wait often to use the toilet/shower, but at least we had a sink in our room.

    The room was huge and there was a common room that was enormous. Staff was friendly, breakfast was typical but nice. Comfortable and clean place - location convenient to walk to most anywhere in the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only bad thing is that you have one bathroom for the whole floor so sometimes you have to wait in a que just to pee in the morning.

    The host was amazing, very friendly, gave all the suggestions that we asked for, where to go, what to eat. The place itself very beautiful, old house and amazing feeling there. Free breakfast, bery delicious. And the hotel is located in a city center so everything you need is in a walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: